2019, Sun, Dec 01

Education Shock

Learning, Politics and Architecture in the Global 1960s and 70s

Published in Architectural Forum, December 1971 | Photo: Leon Kunstenaar

Published in Architectural Forum, December 1971 | Photo: Leon Kunstenaar

In the 1960s and 1970s, the educational sector expanded on a global scale. Demographics played just as important a role in this process as the transition from industrial to post-industrial society and the education arms race during the Cold War. Extensive reform programs engendered new architectures and learning environments around the world. However, these often progressively conceived of spatialities were also increasingly called into question – as were the cultures and institutions of education, architecture and science as such.
The conference will discuss the spatial and educational policies of an era that also harbors a wealth of resources to inform the necessary renewal of today’s schools and universities.

Day 1 | Day 2

10.30am–12:45pm
Cybernetics and Type Building. Socialist Educational Architectures and Their Export
The architectural and technological ambitions of the Soviet Union and other socialist systems of government aimed to reshape both the inside and outside of education. The export of Soviet educational and research architectures to regions beyond the Warsaw Pact belonged within a set of measures put in place to spread socialist ideas about education and knowledge production, such as the focus on cybernetic models of teaching and communication, and the development of flexible, economically efficient, and standardized building systems. But to what extent did the educational architectures and technologies in countries like the German Democratic Republic and the Soviet Union actually differ from their Western counterparts?

Oliver Sukrow: Black Box Education? Cybernetics, Architecture, and Learning in the 1960s GDR
Dina Dorothea Falbe: Local Specifics. Variations of the GDR Type School Building
Elke Beyer: Soviet Campus Exports

2.00–3.45pm
Campus Utopianism and Its Discontents
In the 1960s and ’70s, the university as an institution was the target of fierce criticism of its elitist structures. According to the radical ideas of a new generation who began to shape the discourse, architecture, cities and universities should be rendered fully permeable in an intense process of urbanization aimed at recomposing the class structure. The ubiquity of its spatial progressivism met with architectural historian Joseph Rykwert’s claim, made in 1968, that the universities had become the “institutional archetypes of our age.” But what has been left of these spaces’ ambitious pedagogical programming? Has the Modernist interpretation of the foremost realm of education and knowledge production ever met with the progressivist spirit of a kind of learning conceived as radically different and from below?

Sabine Bitter & Helmut Weber: Educational Modernism: Performing Archives of Learning
Francesco Zuddas: Against Campus. Or the life and passion of Università-Territorio

4.15–6.10pm
Anarchy and Control
Anarchist theory and practice experienced an unexpected renaissance in the anti-authoritarian era around 1968. Anarchism identified children and adolescents as subjects of the reconquest of lost public space. In their demands for autonomy, freedom and participation, anarchist pedagogy and geography were considerable voices in the renegotiation of the community, of struggles around housing and concepts of learning. Complementary to such reevaluation of neglected socio-spatial potential, governmental policies declared schools and universities “defensible spaces.” Partly as a result of the 1960s student protests and campus riots, “security” became the problematic axiom of educational planning –which it still is today.

Evan Calder Williams: Flexible Cages: Securitization and Revolt Within and Beyond Educational Architectures
Catherine Burke: Colin Ward and anarchist educational concepts of the 1960s and 1970s. ‘We make the road by walking’.

So, 01. Dezember 2019

Bildungsschock

Lernen, Politik und Architektur in den globalen 1960er und 1970er Jahren

Erschienen in Architectural Forum, Dezember 1971 | Foto: Leon Kunstenaar

Erschienen in Architectural Forum, Dezember 1971 | Foto: Leon Kunstenaar

In den 1960er und 1970er Jahren expandierte der Raum der Bildung im globalen Maßstab. Demografische Entwicklungen spielten dabei ebenso eine Rolle wie der Übergang von der industriellen zur postindustriellen Gesellschaft und die Systemkonkurrenz des Kalten Krieges. Umfassende Reformprogramme ließen weltweit neue Architekturen und Umgebungen des Lernens entstehen. Diese häufig fortschrittlich gedachten Räume wurden aber auch in Frage gestellt – und mit ihnen die Kulturen und Institutionen von Erziehung, Architektur und Wissenschaft selbst.
Die Konferenz diskutiert die Raum- und Bildungspolitiken einer Epoche, die reiche Ressourcen für die notwendige soziale und räumliche Erneuerung gegenwärtiger Schulen und Hochschulen birgt.

Tag 1 | Tag 2

10.30–12.45h
Kybernetik und Typenbau. Sozialistische Bildungsbauten und ihr Export
Die architektonischen und technologischen Ambitionen der Sowjetunion und anderer sozialistischer Gesellschaftssysteme waren sowohl nach innen wie nach außen gerichtet. Der Export sowjetischer Bildungs- und Forschungsarchitekturen in Regionen außerhalb der Warschauer-Pakt-Staaten gehörte ebenso zu den Maßnahmen, bestimmte Vorstellungen von Bildung und Wissensproduktion zu verbreiten, wie der Fokus auf kybernetische Unterrichts- und Kommunikationsmodelle oder die Entwicklung flexibler, ökonomisch effizienter und modernistischer Typenbau-Systeme. Aber wie sehr unterschieden sich die edukativen Architekturen und Technologien in Ländern wie der DDR oder der Sowjetunion tatsächlich von ihren westlichen Pendants?

Oliver Sukrow: Black Box Education? Kybernetik, Architektur und Lernen in den 1960er Jahren in der DDR
Dina Dorothea Falbe: Lokale Spezifik. Varianten des DDR-Typenschulbaus
Elke Beyer: Sowjetische Campus-Exporte

14–15.45h
Der Campus: Utopie und Unbehagen
In den 1960er und 1970er Jahren geriet die Institution der Universität aufgrund ihrer elitären Strukturen in heftige Kritik. Gemäß den radikalen Planungen einer neuen Generation, die den Diskurs zunehmend bestimmte, sollten sich Stadt und Universität in einem tief reichenden Prozess der Urbanisierung völlig durchdringen, um so Klassenstrukturen neu zu gestalten. Die Allgegenwart progressiv gestalteter Hochschulräume schien der Beobachtung des Architekturhistorikers Joseph Rykwert Recht zu geben, der 1968 behauptete, Universitäten seien die „institutionellen Archetypen der Gegenwart“. Aber was ist von den ehrgeizigen pädagogischen Programmen dieser Räume geblieben? Hat die modernistische Interpretation von universitärer Bildung und Wissensproduktion jemals dem progressiven Geist eines radikal anderen und von unten konzipierten Lernens entsprochen?

Sabine Bitter & Helmut Weber: Bildungsmoderne: Lernarchive Performen
Francesco Zuddas: Gegen den Campus, oder Leben und Leidenschaft der Università Territorio

16.15– 18.10h
Anarchie und Kontrolle
Anarchistische Theorie und Praxis erlebten in den antiautoritären Zeiten um 1968 eine unerwartete Renaissance. Sie entdeckten besonders Kinder und Jugendliche als Subjekte einer Wiedereroberung verlorener öffentlicher Räume. In ihren Forderungen nach Autonomie, Freiheit und Teilhabe waren anarchistische Pädagogik und Geografie starke Kräfte in der institutionskritischen Neuaushandlung des Gemeinwesens, der Wohnungsfrage und des Lernens. Geradezu komplementär zu dieser Erschließung vernachlässigter sozialräumlicher Potenziale kann eine Entwicklung gesehen werden, die Schulen und Universitäten zu Räumen des Risikos und der Gefährdung erklärte. Nicht zuletzt infolge der studentischen Proteste und Campus-Unruhen in den 1960er Jahren wurde „Sicherheit“ zu einer problematischen bildungsplanerischen Maxime – die bis heute Bestand hat.

Evan Calder Williams: Flexible Käfige: Sicherheit und Revolte innerhalb und außerhalb von Bildungsarchitekturen
Catherine Burke : Colin Ward und die Konzepte anarchistischer Erziehung in den 1960er und 1970er Jahren: “We make the road by walking.”