2019, Sat, Nov 30

Education Shock

Learning, Politics and Architecture in the Global 1960s and 70s

Published in Architectural Forum, December 1971 | Photo: Leon Kunstenaar

Published in Architectural Forum, December 1971 | Photo: Leon Kunstenaar

In the 1960s and 1970s, the educational sector expanded on a global scale. Demographics played just as important a role in this process as the transition from industrial to post-industrial society and the education arms race during the Cold War. Extensive reform programs engendered new architectures and learning environments around the world. However, these often progressively conceived of spatialities were also increasingly called into question – as were the cultures and institutions of education, architecture and science as such.
The conference will discuss the spatial and educational policies of an era that also harbors a wealth of resources to inform the necessary renewal of today’s schools and universities.

Day 1 | Day 2

10am
Introduction

10:45am–1pm
Childhood and Education, Experimentalized
Schools and education have always been testing grounds, with students and teachers the subjects. In the effort to develop new instructional models and spatial concepts that met the needs of societies undergoing transformation, educational planning in the 1960s and ’70s was open to spelling out the principle of the “experiment” both technologically and pedagogically. When the temporality of learning and the conditions of labor changed, this led to all-day schools, to the establishment of “laboratory schools,” such as those in Bielefeld, and to playgrounds that in many places became the key areas of experimentation.

Mark Terkessidis: Rooms-to-Play. Examples of Spatial Production of Space for and with Children around 1970
Gregor Harbusch: Ludwig Leo’s designs for the Laboratory School in Bielefeld and the Französisches Gymnasium in Berlin
Monika Mattes: "Leistungsschule," "learning factory," or "cuddle corner"? West German comprehensive schools as places of educational knowledge production in the 1960/70s

2.30-3pm
Presentation of the Architectural Exhibition Concept
Kooperative für Darstellungspolitik (Exhibition Architects), Tom Holert

3–4.50pm
School-Building: Between Decolonization and Development Policy
During and after the anti-colonial wars and independence movements of the 1950s and ’60s in the Global South, the setting up and design of educational systems in the decolonized societies was a pressing task. Times of war and upheaval required methods and concepts different to those used in the era following liberation. Thus, the improvised schools by the guerilla were replaced by new educational facilities and the establishment of universities. But who should take charge to design and direct this transition, and be responsible for the new spatial programs? And to what extent did the ongoing presence of professionals (educators, architects, planners) from the former colonial powers pose a problem when faced with the challenge of envisaging what can be called genuinely postcolonial educational architectures?

Ola Uduku: Postcolonial School Building in West Africa, 1960s
Sónia Vaz Borges & Filipa César: Militant Education. “Pilot Schools” and “Jungle Schools” in Guinea and Guinea-Bissau around 1970

Sa, 30. November 2019

Bildungsschock

Lernen, Politik und Architektur in den globalen 1960er und 1970er Jahren

Erschienen in Architectural Forum, Dezember 1971 | Foto: Leon Kunstenaar

Erschienen in Architectural Forum, Dezember 1971 | Foto: Leon Kunstenaar

In den 1960er und 1970er Jahren expandierte der Raum der Bildung im globalen Maßstab. Demografische Entwicklungen spielten dabei ebenso eine Rolle wie der Übergang von der industriellen zur postindustriellen Gesellschaft und die Systemkonkurrenz des Kalten Krieges. Umfassende Reformprogramme ließen weltweit neue Architekturen und Umgebungen des Lernens entstehen. Diese häufig fortschrittlich gedachten Räume wurden aber auch in Frage gestellt – und mit ihnen die Kulturen und Institutionen von Erziehung, Architektur und Wissenschaft selbst.
Die Konferenz diskutiert die Raum- und Bildungspolitiken einer Epoche, die reiche Ressourcen für die notwendige soziale und räumliche Erneuerung gegenwärtiger Schulen und Hochschulen birgt.

Tag 1 | Tag 2

10h
Einführung

10.45–13h
Zur Experimentalisierung von Kindheit und Schule
Schule und Bildung sind immer auch Versuchsfelder, Schüler*innen wie Lehrer*innen die Proband*innen. Im Bemühen, neue Unterrichtsmodelle und Raumkonzepte zu entwickeln, die in Transformation begriffenen Gesellschaften gerecht werden, war die Bildungsplanung der 1960er und 1970er Jahre in vielen Bereichen offen dafür, das Prinzip „Experiment“ sowohl technologisch wie auch pädagogisch auszubuchstabieren. Die Zeitlichkeit des Lernens und die Bedingungen der Arbeitswelt veränderten sich, was zur Ganztagsschule führte, zur Einrichtung von „Laborschulen“ wie in Bielefeld und zu Spielplätzen, die vielerorts zur experimentellen Arena schlechthin wurden.

Mark Terkessidis: Spielräume. Beispiele der Raumproduktion für und mit Kindern um 1970
Gregor Harbusch: Ludwig Leos Entwürfe für die Laborschule in Bielefeld und das Französische Gymnasium in Berlin
Monika Mattes: „Leistungsschule“, „Lernfabrik“ oder „Kuschelecke“? Westdeutsche Gesamtschulen als Orte pädagogischer Wissensproduktion in den 1960/70er Jahren

14.30-15 Uhr
Präsentation des architektonischen Ausstellungskonzepts
Kooperative für Darstellungspolitik (Ausstellungsarchitekt*innen), Tom Holert

15–16.50h
Schulbau zwischen Dekolonisierung und Entwicklungspolitik
Während und nach den antikolonialen Kriegen und Unabhängigkeitsbewegungen im Globalen Süden der 1950er und 1960er Jahre stellte sich allenthalben die Frage, wie das Bildungswesen in den dekolonisierten Gesellschaften angelegt und gestaltet werden sollte. In Phasen von Krieg und Umbruch waren andere Methoden und Konzepte erforderlich als in der Zeit nach der Befreiung von der Kolonialherrschaft. Die improvisierten Schulen der Guerilla wurden abgelöst durch neue Schulgebäude und Universitätsgründungen. Aber wer sollte diese Übergänge gestalten, umsetzen und für die neuen Raumprogramme verantwortlich sein? Und in welchem Maße erwies sich die anhaltende Präsenz von Fachleuten (Lehrpersonal, Architekt*innen, Planer*innen) aus den Gebieten der ehemaligen Kolonialmächte als ein Problem für die Herausbildung einer Vision dessen, was als eine wirkliche postkoloniale Bildungsarchitektur bezeichnet werden kann?

Ola Uduku: Postkolonialer Schulbau in Westafrika, 1960er Jahre
Sónia Vaz Borges & Filipa César: Militante Bildung. „Pilotschulen” und „Dschungelschulen” in Guinea und Guinea-Bissau um 1970