Education Shock

Learning, Politics and Architecture in the 1960s and 70s
2021, Jan 29, Fri — 2021, May 02, Sun

Published in Architectural Forum, December 1971 | Photo: Leon Kunstenaar

Published in Architectural Forum, December 1971 | Photo: Leon Kunstenaar

In 1957, the Soviet Union launched a satellite into orbit, thus taking the lead in the “space race.” In response to the “Sputnik crisis,” the West set in motion an unprecedented educational offensive that soon came to feature prominently in the public realm.

Education Shock revisits the decades following the “shock” of the “Sputnik crisis” when the sphere of education expanded on a global scale. As the exhibition and its accompanying publication demonstrate, the rethinking and replanning of learning environments – due to demographics, technology, the Cold War and the social movements culminating in 1968 – permanently changed the educational sphere. In collaboration with artists, academics and architects, curator Tom Holert examines an era of experimentation that is about to be rediscovered as an archive and a resource, which may inform current debates.

Complementing the exhibition, the Education in Concrete project reaches out to eight Berlin schools. As they team up with artists, students will engage with their school buildings of the 1960s and ’70s and speculate about the learning environments of the future.

Exhibition with contributions from Michael Annoff, BARarchitekten (Antje Buchholz, Jürgen Patzak-Poor), Elke Beyer, Sabine Bitter, Antje Buchholz, Arne Bunk, Evan Calder Williams, Fraser McCallum, Filipa César, Inga Danysz, Nuray Demir, Christopher Falbe, Dina Dorothea Falbe, Gregor Harbusch, Marshall Henrichs, Claudia Hummel, Ana Hušman, Jakob Jakobsen, Ana Paula Koury, Monika Mattes, Larry Miller, Maria Helena Paiva da Costa, Silke Schatz, Dubravka Sekulić, Lisa Schmidt-Colinet, Alexander Schmoeger, STREET COLLEGE in cooperation with Käthe Wenzel, Maurice Stein, Alexander Stumm, Oliver Sukrow, Ola Uduku, Clemens von Wedemeyer, Sónia Vaz Borges, Helmut Weber, Florian Zeyfang, Francesco Zuddas

Curated by Tom Holert

Part of The New Alphabet

Exhibition, school project, publication

Opening Thu, Jan 28, 2021

Jan 29–May 2, 2021

Stay up-to-date on the HKW program with our weekly newsletter.
Register here

Bildungsschock

Lernen, Politik und Architektur in den 1960er und 1970er Jahren
Fr, 29. Januar 2021 — So, 02. Mai 2021

Erschienen in Architectural Forum, Dezember 1971 | Foto: Leon Kunstenaar

Erschienen in Architectural Forum, Dezember 1971 | Foto: Leon Kunstenaar

1957 brachte die Sowjetunion einen Satelliten in die Erdumlaufbahn und gewann so die erste Etappe im „Wettlauf ins All“. Der Westen reagierte auf den „Sputnik-Schock“ mit einer nie dagewesenen Bildungsoffensive, die bald die gesellschaftliche Debatte beherrschte.

Bildungsschock blickt auf die Jahrzehnte nach dem Sputnik-Schock, in denen Bildung im globalen Maßstab expandierte. Ausstellung und Publikation zeigen, wie die Räume des Lernens unter dem Druck demografischer und technologischer Entwicklungen, des Kalten Krieges und der 1968er-Bewegungen permanent neu gedacht und geplant wurde. In Zusammenarbeit mit Künstler*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Architekt*innen untersucht Kurator Tom Holert eine Epoche der Experimente und schlägt vor, sie als Archiv und Ressource aktueller Debatten zu entdecken.

Begleitend zur Ausstellung geht das Projekt Bildung in Beton an acht Berliner Schulen. Schüler*innen setzen sich hier gemeinsam mit Künstler*innen mit ihren Schulgebäuden aus den 1960er und 1970er Jahren auseinander und spekulieren über die Lernumgebungen der Zukunft.

Ausstellung mit Beiträgen von Michael Annoff, BARarchitekten (Antje Buchholz, Jürgen Patzak-Poor), Elke Beyer, Sabine Bitter, Antje Buchholz, Arne Bunk, Evan Calder Williams, Fraser McCallum, Filipa César, Inga Danysz, Nuray Demir, Christopher Falbe, Dina Dorothea Falbe, Gregor Harbusch, Marshall Henrichs, Claudia Hummel, Ana Hušman, Jakob Jakobsen, Ana Paula Koury, Monika Mattes, Larry Miller, Maria Helena Paiva da Costa, Silke Schatz, Dubravka Sekulić, Lisa Schmidt-Colinet, Alexander Schmoeger, STREET COLLEGE in Kooperation mit Käthe Wenzel, Maurice Stein, Alexander Stumm, Oliver Sukrow, Ola Uduku, Clemens von Wedemeyer, Sónia Vaz Borges, Helmut Weber, Florian Zeyfang, Francesco Zuddas

Kuratiert von Tom Holert

Im Rahmen von Das Neue Alphabet

Ausstellung, Schulprojekt, Publikation

Eröffnung Do 28.01.2021

29.01.–02.05.2021

Nichts mehr verpassen! Mit dem wöchentlichen HKW-Newsletter sind Sie immer auf dem Laufenden.
Zur Anmeldung