2019, Sun, Jan 13

(Un-)Learning Place — Public Program

knowbotiq | manYdancing the molecular ornaments | © knowbotiq

knowbotiq | manYdancing the molecular ornaments | © knowbotiq

During the Opening Days of HKW’s new long-term project The New Alphabet in January 2019, HKW sets up a space for gathering, discussion, and workshops from January 9 to 13, 2019—a unique (Un-)Learning Place.

Departing from the assumption that the present is characterized by a crisis of the established epistemic-political order, the (Un-)Learning Place seeks out strategies to navigate through the inherent classification and ordering systems of archives, libraries, museums, institutional architectures, and digital networks and offers approaches to situating, negotiating, or “(un-)learning” research in artistic, site-specific, poetic, or bodily practices. Together with eight independent curatorial, activist, or artistic collectives, the (Un-)Learning Place offers its 80 international participants the opportunity to investigate new strategies for interdisciplinary research and potential crossdisciplinary collaborations in five tracks: The Untranslatability of Translation; (Un-)Archiving; Against the Digital; Molecular Bodies; Spaces of Theory. On Sunday the campus ends with a public open plenum and a performance by knowbotiq.

With ASSET Production Studio, diffrakt – centre for theoretical periphery, Each One Teach One (EOTO) e.V., knowbotiq, Raumlabor Berlin, Tactical Technology Collective, Telekommunisten, Gigi Argyropoulou (researcher and curator), Gilly Karjevsky (curator), Nicoline van Harskamp (artist), participants of the (Un-)Learning Place and many guests

(Un-)Learning Place curated by Boris Buden and Olga von Schubert

Scenography: Raumlabor Berlin

Program

1.30 pm–3 pm
Public Open Plenum (Un-)Learning Place
Discussion

On Sunday, participants of the five day curriculum open up their plenum to the public to provide insights and further discuss the questions they pursued during the week: What should be unlearned and what could institutions of un-learning look like? Specifically, what should The New Alphabet School (2019–2021) at HKW look like in order to facilitate the activist, artistic and research practices of its participants? What should be the relation between active contributors and the general public? The plenum will be chaired by the participants of the (Un-)Learning Place.

3 pm–4 pm
manYdancing the molecular ornaments
knowbotiq (artists’ collective), Claudia de Serpa Soares (dancer), Nicolas Buzzi (musician, composer), Lamin Fofana (artist and DJ)
Collective, participative dance performance

In a present in which algorithmic control mechanisms and biotechnologies fragment and molecularize the body, this performance invites audience members to temporarily link up with “undisciplined” collective bodies and corporeal landscapes by means of portable body prostheses and rhythmic sound patterns.

Szenography

Raumlabor Berlin
Installation by Markus Bader and Alexa Szekeres, 2019

In a scenography developed by Raumlabor Berlin in consultation with eight Berlin collectives, an (Un-)Learning Place is being staged from January 9 to 13 to mark the launch of The New Alphabet School. Inspired by the language of form in the work of Italian designer Ettore Sottsass, the sculptural works of Isamu Noguchi, and Aldo van Eyck’s educationally progressive playground architectures of the post-war period, Raumlabor Berlin creates situations in which collective approaches to learning and un-learning can be tested. Workshops by ASSET Production Studio, diffrakt – Zentrum für theoretische Peripherie, Each One Teach One (EOTO) e. V., Fehras Publishing Practices, knowbotiq, Raumlabor Berlin, Tactical Technology Collective and Telekommunisten propose different approaches and strategies with diverse linguistic classification systems: For example, a lexicographic laboratory examines the language of the art world; a small library reclassifies its collection of black authors – in an attempt to overturn existing categorizations; and a survey of global, natural history collections proposes a new perspective on museum taxonomies that takes account of the extinction of species. As part of the event series The New Alphabet School, this architecture will be on view in ever-new guises over the next three years at the HKW.

Installations

knowbotiq
Amazonian Flesh – How to Hang in Trees During Strike
Fabulations on Cocoons of Idleness, Installation, 2018

Shortly after seizing power, the Chinese Communist Party resolved to rapidly expand the labor force. They called upon the masses to move into the cities to seek work in the newly erected factories. However, the new arrivals – alarmed by the noise of the machines and the agitation of the workforce – made a completely disoriented impression. Consequently, it was decided that for a certain period of time these people should be assigned no other task than that of simply moving freely through the workplace environment in order to acclimatize their bodies to the new conditions. What would happen, if the new arrivals in today’s global corporations chose not to take up their almost fully automated work – which applies metadata, profiles, and bots to continually control and organize all movements and desires – and to fully abandon themselves to idleness? Could they thus begin to renounce their faith in the religion of wage labor? Would the bots and the Artificial Intelligence within their logistic working environment pledge solidarity with them?

Amazonian Flesh is a project by knowbotiq commissioned by Interkultur Ruhr and the research project Reconfiguring Anonymity, supported by the Office of the Federal Chancellor, Austria / Art and Culture and Kulturbüro Dortmund.

Each One Teach One (EOTO) e.V.
A Library of Authors from the African Continent and African Diaspora
Parts of the library, 2019

From the 1970s onwards, the Afro-German activist Vera Heyer (1949–1995) began amassing a collection of books by black authors. Since March 2014, EOTO, a community-based education and empowerment project in Berlin-Wedding, has been working to fulfill her wish of making her legacy accessible to the public in the form of a library after her death: This reference library contains works by authors of the African continent and the diaspora, and documents black history up to the present day – both within Germany and abroad. The library now holds some seven thousand books, comprising mainly African and African diaspora literature, and includes German, English, and French fiction and non-fiction, in addition to pamphlets and newspapers. Alongside the standard categories, the library boasts sections such as African Literature, American Literature (including North, Central and South America), together with categories such as Award Winning African Literature, Colonialism and Resistance, Gender Studies, Black People in Communism and Labor Movements, Afrofuturism, Black Panther Party, Contemporary Art, and Literature and History of Black People in Germany.

ASSET Production Studio
Prototype for a Museum of Man
Interactive collage, 2019

How is the cultural program of human exceptionalism (i.e. “anthropo-supremacy”) instantiated in museological scenography, narrative, and display? How do museums of natural history, ethnography, and science and technology reinforce ideas of human exceptionalism? What scenes, sleights, and normalizing gestures subtend this pervasive cultural agenda? And, how is this globalized disposition also “localized” to support various nationalist chauvinisms and forms of white supremacy and hetero-patriarchy? The material collected here is an early and experimental prototype for a Museum of Man yet to come, which aims to produce a counter-taxonomy of the technologies of human exceptionalism in museological cultures past and present. The work is a first step toward a more comprehensive and collaborative inquiry into the invention of “Man” and the consequences of his imagined dominion over nature.

So, 13. Januar 2019

(Un-)Learning Place – Öffentliches Programm

knowbotiq | manYdancing the molecular ornaments | © knowbotiq

knowbotiq | manYdancing the molecular ornaments | © knowbotiq

Während der Opening Days zu seinem neuen Langzeitprojekt Das Neue Alphabet bietet das HKW vom 9. bis zum 13. Januar 2019 Raum für Versammlungen, Diskussionen und Workshops – in einem einzigartigen (Un-)Learning Place.

Ausgehend von der Annahme, dass die Gegenwart von einer Krise der etablierten epistemisch-politischen Ordnung geprägt ist, sucht der (Un-)Learning Place nach Strategien zur Orientierung in den inhärenten Klassifizierungs- und Ordnungssystemen von Archiven, Bibliotheken, Museen, institutionellen Architekturen und Netzwerken und liefert Ansätze, Forschung in künstlerischen, ortsspezifischen, poetischen oder körperlichen Praktiken zu situieren, zu verhandeln oder zu (ver-)lernen. In Zusammenarbeit mit acht unabhängigen Kurator*innen-, Aktivist*innen- und Künstler*innenkollektiven bietet der (Un-)Learning Place seinen 80 internationalen Teilnehmer*innen die Möglichkeit, neue Strategien der interdisziplinären Forschung sowie potenzielle, fächerübergreifende Kollaborationen in fünf Bereichen zu erproben: The Untranslatability of Translation, (Un-)Archiving, Against the Digital?, Molecular Bodies, Spaces of Theory. Am Sonntag endet dieser Campus mit einer öffentlichen Abschlussdiskussion und einer Performance von knowbotiq.

Mit ASSET Production Studio, diffrakt – centre for theoretical periphery, Each One Teach One (EOTO) e.V., knowbotiq, Raumlabor Berlin, Tactical Technology Collective, Telekommunisten, Gigi Argyropoulou (Wissenschaftler und Kurator), Gilly Karjevsky (Kurator), Nicoline van Harskamp (Künstlerin), den Teilnehmenden des (Un-)Learning Place und vielen Gästen.

(Un-)Learning Place kuratiert von Boris Buden und Olga von Schubert

Programm

13.30–15h
Öffentliches Plenum (Un-)Learning Place
Diskussion

Am Sonntag öffnen die Teilnehmer*innen des fünftägigen (Un-)Learning Place ihr Plenum für die Öffentlichkeit, um Einblicke in ihre Workshops zu geben und die in der Woche verfolgten Fragestellungen weiter zu diskutieren: Was sollte ver-lernt werden und wie sind Institutionen des Ver-Lernens zu denken? Wie sollte die New Alphabet School (2019-2021) am HKW aussehen, um aktivistische, künstlerische und wissenschaftliche Praxen ihrer Teilnehmer*innen zu ermöglichen und zu erweitern? Welches Verhältnis zwischen aktiven Beitragenden und der Öffentlichkeit soll sich in der School artikulieren? Das Plenum wird von den Teilnehmer*innen des (Un-)Learning Place geleitet und moderiert.

15–16h
manYdancing the molecular ornaments
knowbotiq (Künstler*innenkollektiv), Claudia de Serpa Soares (Tänzerin), Nicolas Buzzi (Musiker, Komponist), Lamin Fofana (Künstlerin und DJ)
Kollektive, partizipative Tanzperformance

In einer Gegenwart, in der algorithmische Kontrollmechanismen und Biotechnologien Körper fragmentieren und molekularisieren, lädt die Performance dazu ein, sich mittels tragbarer Körperprothesen und rhythmischer Klangmuster temporär zu „undisziplinierten“ Kollektivkörpern und Körperlandschaften zu verbinden.

manYdancing the molecular ornaments ist eine Produktion von production e. V.,. and gefördert von Hauptstadtkulturfonds, mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Pro Helvetia, Schweizer Kulturstiftung

Szenografie

Raumlabor Berlin
Installation von Markus Bader und Alexa Szekeres, 2019

In einer von Raumlabor Berlin im Gespräch mit acht Berliner Kollektiven entwickelten Szenografie findet vom 9. bis 13. Januar ein (Un-)Learning Place statt, der den Beginn der New Alphabet School markiert. Inspiriert von der Formensprache des italienischen Designers Ettore Sottsass, den bildhauerischen Arbeiten von Isamu Noguchi und von Aldo van Eycks reformpädagogischen Spielplatzarchitekturen der Nachkriegszeit schaffen Raumlabor Berlin Situationen, in denen kollektive Ansätze des Lernens und Verlernens erprobt werden können. Workshops von ASSET Production Studio, diffrakt – Zentrum für theoretische Peripherie, Each One Teach One (EOTO) e. V., Fehras Publishing Practices, knowbotiq, Raumlabor Berlin, Tactical Technology Collective und Telekommunisten schlagen Lesarten und Umgangsweisen mit unterschiedlichen sprachlichen, institutionalisierten, opaken oder verkörperten Ordnungssystemen vor: Ein lexigrafisches Labor untersucht beispielsweise die Sprache des Kunstbetriebs, eine Bücherstation sortiert eine Bibliothek Schwarzer Autor*innen neu – im Versuch, bestehende Kategorisierungen zu durchbrechen –, und eine Zusammenschau globaler naturkundlicher Sammlungen schlägt eine Neuperspektivierung musealer Taxonomien vor, die dem Aussterben der Arten Rechnung trägt. Im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe The New Alphabet School wird diese Architektur in den nächsten drei Jahren am HKW immer wieder neu zu sehen sein.

Installationen

knowbotiq
Amazonian Flesh – How to Hang in Trees During Strike
Fabulationen zu Kokons des Müßiggangs, Installation 2018

Kurz nach ihrer Machtübernahme beschlossen die chinesischen Kommunist*innen, den Umfang der Arbeiterschaft rapide zu vergrößern. Sie forderten viele Menschen auf, in die Städte zu ziehen, um sich Arbeit in den neuen Fabriken zu suchen. Die Neuankömmlinge aber machten einen völlig desorientierten Eindruck, verstört vom Lärm der Maschinen und den agitierenden Arbeiter*innen. Man beschloss, dass diese Menschen für eine bestimmte Zeit keine andere Aufgaben haben sollten, als sich frei durch die Arbeitsumgebungen zu bewegen, um sich physisch wie psychisch an die neuen Bedingungen zu gewöhnen. Was wäre, wenn die Neuankömmlinge in heutigen globalen Unternehmen beschließen würden, die fast vollständig automatisierte Arbeit, die mit Metadaten, Profilen und Bots alle Bewegungen und Wünsche kontinuierlich steuert und organisiert, überhaupt nicht mehr anzugehen und sich völlig dem Müßiggang hinzugeben? Könnten sie so beginnen, den Glauben an Lohnarbeit als Religion zu brechen? Würden sich auch die Bots und die künstlichen Intelligenzen der logistischen Arbeitsumgebungen mit ihnen solidarisieren?

Amazonian Flesh ist ein Projekt von knowbotiq im Auftrag von Interkultur Ruhr und dem Forschungsprojekt „Reconfiguring Anonymity“, unterstützt vom Bundeskanzleramt, Österreich / Kunst, Kultur und Medien und dem Kulturbüro Dortmund.

Each One Teach One (EOTO) e.V.
Eine Bibliothek von Autor*innen des afrikanischen Kontinents und der Diapsora
Teile der Bibliothek EOTOs, 2019

Die afrodeutsche Aktivistin Vera Heyer (1949–1995) sammelte seit den 1970er Jahren in ihrer Freizeit Bücher von Schwarzen Autor*innen. Ihr Wunsch, ihr Erbe nach ihrem Tod in Form einer Bücherei öffentlich zugänglich zu machen, wird seit März 2014 von dem Verein Each One Teach One (EOTO) e. V. – einem Community-basierten Bildungs- und Empowerment-Projekt in Berlin-Wedding – umgesetzt: Die Präsenzbücherei umfasst Werke von Autor*innen des afrikanischen Kontinents und der Diaspora und dokumentiert Schwarze Geschichte und Gegenwart inner- und außerhalb Deutschlands. Mittlerweile besteht die Bibliothek aus ca. 7.000 Büchern überwiegend afrikanischer und afrikanisch-diasporischer Literatur und umfasst deutsch-, englisch-, und französischsprachige Belletristik und Sachbücher, aber auch Pamphlete und Zeitschriften. Im Inventar der Bibliothek befinden sich neben den Standardkategorien „Afrikanische Literatur“ und „Amerikanische Literatur“ (inklusive Nord-, Mittel- und Südamerika) auch Kategorien wie „Award Winning African Literature“, „Kolonialismus und Widerstand“, „Gender Studies“, „Schwarze Menschen im Kommunismus und Arbeiterbewegungen“, „Afrofuturismus“, „Black Panther Party“, „Zeitgenössische Kunst“ und „Literatur und Geschichte Schwarzer Menschen in Deutschland“.

ASSET Production Studio
Prototyp für ein Museum der Menschheit
Interaktive Collage, 2019

Wie wird das kulturelle Programm des menschlichen Exzeptionalismus (das heißt, des „Anthropo-Suprematismus“) in museologischen Szenografien, Erzählungen und Ausstellungen zu einer eigenständigen Instanz? Wie verstärken naturhistorische, ethnografische, wissenschaftliche und technische Museen Vorstellungen vom menschlichen Exzeptionalismus? Welche Szenen, Tricks und normalisierenden Gesten sind charakteristisch für diese allgegenwärtige kulturelle Agenda? Und wie wird diese globalisierte Tendenz darüber hinaus zur Stärkung verschiedener nationalistischer Chauvinismen und Formen des weißen Suprematismus und des Heteropatriarchats „lokalisiert“? Das hier zusammengetragene Material ist der frühe, experimentelle Prototyp eines zukünftigen „Museums der Menschheit“. Es verfolgt das Ziel, eine Gegen-Taxonomie zu den Technologien des menschlichen Exzeptionalismus in vergangenen und gegenwärtigen museologischen Kulturen zu erschaffen. Das Werk ist ein erster Schritt hin zu einer umfassenderen und kollaborativen Auseinandersetzung mit der Erfindung des „Menschen“ und den Folgen seiner imaginierten Herrschaft über die Natur.