New Alphabet School


2019–2022

Photo: Juan Pablo Estrada, 2013

Photo: Juan Pablo Estrada, 2013

The New Alphabet School is a collaborative self-organized school for practice-based research. Over the course of three-and-a half years, it will function as a colloquium for practice-based, situated approaches in cultural studies, art and activism. Assuming that knowledge is not universal, but always located, or bound to a specific context, one's own position or place, the school aims to explore critical and affirmative forms of knowledge production in order to create solidarity between different approaches in theory and practice.

HKW offers a space for research approaches outside of academic, disciplinary or genre boundaries, seeking different methods of learning and unlearning in order to rethink the idea of criticism as a practice of shared responsibility and care.

The New Alphabet School will combine a HKW-based colloquium and site-specific events with partner institutions worldwide. In these cooperations, the school will analyze local infrastructures and institutional frameworks in order to study the conditions and logics of current forms of knowledge production.

Each edition of the school is dedicated to a knowledge practice. Departing from these activities, is it possible to imagine an overabundance of multifarious fields of ways of speaking, knowledge production and learning practices beyond one universal matrix? Can common reference points and collective action be enabled without a potentially hegemonic center? How can knowledge be both locally situated and at the same time produce a new kind of universality?

The New Alphabet School is part of The New Alphabet. It was inaugurated with an (Un-)Learning Place in January 2019 and will continue with ten events worldwide until 2022.

Curated in collaboration with the community of the New Alphabet School. Members of the curatorial board are Gigi Argyropoulou, Mahmoud Al-Shaer and Rahul Gudipudi.

2019–22

#newalphabetschool

Stay up-to-date on the HKW program with our weekly newsletter.
Register here

From the Media Library



Transatlantic Sounds | #Healing

Sound marathon with Tomás Espinosa, Jorge Gómez, Carina Madsius a. o.
More about the video
More New Alphabet School videos in HKW's Media Library



Translation, Anamnesia, Resistance | #Translating

Lecture by Ranjit Hoskoté
More about the video
More New Alphabet School videos in HKW's Media Library

Ab 2.11. läuft das HKW Programm digital weiter. Das Haus bleibt geschlossen. Mehr…

New Alphabet School


2019–2022

Tabita Rezaire | Dilo, 2017 | Courtesy of the artist und Goodman Gallery, Südafrika

Tabita Rezaire | Dilo, 2017 | Courtesy of the artist und Goodman Gallery, Südafrika

Die New Alphabet School ist eine kollaborative, selbstorganisierte Schule für praxisbasierte Forschung. Über den Zeitraum von dreieinhalb Jahren dient sie als Colloquium für handlungsorientierte Ansätze in den Kulturwissenschaften, den Künsten und dem Aktivismus. Ausgehend davon, dass Wissen nicht universell, sondern immer situiert, also an einen spezifischen Kontext, die eigene Positioniertheit oder Örtlichkeit gebunden ist, setzt sich die School zum Ziel, sowohl kritische als auch affirmative Formen der Wissensproduktion zu erproben, um Solidarität zwischen unterschiedlichen Ansätzen in Theorie und Praxis zu ermöglichen.

Das HKW schafft damit einen Ort für Forschungsansätze jenseits akademischer, disziplinärer oder genrespezifischer Grenzen. Durch alternative Methoden des Lernens und Verlernens soll die Aufgabe von Kritik neu gedacht werden – als eine Praxis gemeinschaftlicher Verantwortung und Fürsorge.

Die New Alphabet School verbindet ein am HKW angesiedeltes Gesprächs- und Arbeitsforum mit ortsspezifischen Veranstaltungen in Zusammenarbeit mit Partnerinstitutionen weltweit. Im Rahmen dieser Kooperationen analysiert die Schule lokale Infrastrukturen und institutionelle Gefüge, um die Bedingungen und Logiken gegenwärtiger Wissensproduktion zu studieren und von- und miteinander zu lernen.

Jede Ausgabe der School ist einer Wissenspraxis gewidmet. Ist es mit diesem Fokus auf das Handeln möglich, Wissen als eine Fülle von Sprechweisen, Produktionszusammenhängen und Lernpraktiken zu organisieren, ohne alles auf einen Nenner zu bringen? Wie sind gemeinsame Orientierung und kollektives Handeln ohne ein potenziell hegemoniales Zentrum möglich? Wie kann Wissen sowohl räumlich situiert sein als auch eine neue Form von Universalität produzieren?

Die New Alphabet School ist Teil von Das Neue Alphabet. Sie wurde im Januar 2019 mit einem (Un-)Learning Place am HKW in Berlin eröffnet und wird bis 2022 mit zehn weiteren Veranstaltungen weltweit fortgesetzt.

Kuratiert in Zusammenarbeit mit der Community der New Alphabet School. Mitglieder des kuratorischen Beirats sind Gigi Argyropoulou, Mahmoud Al-Shaer, Rahul Gudipudi und Ibrahim Hannoon

2019–22

#newalphabetschool

Nichts mehr verpassen! Mit dem wöchentlichen HKW-Newsletter sind Sie immer auf dem Laufenden.
Zur Anmeldung