(Un-)Learning Place


2019, Jan 09, Wed — 2019, Jan 13, Sun

knowbotiq, b(l)ack dada nonperformance | © knowbotiq

knowbotiq, b(l)ack dada nonperformance | © knowbotiq

The present is characterized by a crisis of the established epistemic-political order. Outdated categories and terms no longer function. Representational logics fail to grasp the complexity of contemporary phenomena and increasingly global societies, whose change is accelerated by digital infrastructures. In this situation, it is necessary to unlearn established modes of referring to the world and to rethink methods of constructing, situating and criticizing reality.

During the Opening Days of HKW’s new long-term project The New Alphabet , HKW will set up a unique space for gathering, discussion and workshops—a unique (Un-)Learning Place curated by Boris Buden and Olga von Schubert. In the five-day curriculum international participants are invited to take part in (Un-)Learning Tracks to work with curatorial, artistic, or activist strategies in close collaboration with self-organized research collectives and independent artists, researchers and curators.

How do the cultural techniques of archiving, integrating, and classifying transform archived knowledge from within? Can the necro-aesthetics—the presentation of dead beings—in Natural History Museums be reframed by changing museum taxonomies? How do body molecules tell stories of their century-old political suppression and how can they be reread? What are modes of resistance in digital network cultures and how is it possible to navigate through increasingly opaque streams of data and information? What would spaces of learning and unlearning look like in a world permeated by institutional infrastructures of dominance and cultural supremacy? How can a library of African diasporic writing be cataloged without reproducing oppressive categories? And what role does our understanding of the workings and logics of theory and its institutional practice play within?

In five (Un-)Learning Tracks the (Un-)Learning Place seeks out strategies to navigate through the inherent classification and ordering systems of archives, libraries, museums, institutional architectures, and digital networks and offers approaches to situating, negotiating and ‘(un-)learning’ research in artistic, site-specific, poetic, and bodily practices. Together with eight independent curatorial, activist or artistic collectives, and invited guests, the (Un-)Learning Place offers its 80 international participants the opportunity to investigate new strategies for interdisciplinary research and potential crossdisciplinary collaborations in the fields of Translation, Digitality, Archiving, Embodied Infrastructures as well as the Politics of Space and Theory, in order to challenge established perspectives and collectively develop ways of restructuring the order of things.

Jan 9–13, 2019

In English

Participants for (Un-)Learning Place could apply until September 15, 2018.
To the open call (PDF)

Jan 13, 2019

(Un-)Learning Place — Public Program

At the (Un-)Learning Place, together with 80 international participants, eight Berlin collectives will spend five days developing transdisciplinary, decolonial and anti-hegemonic strategies in relation to data-based knowledge systems, translation, archives, institutions, and bodyformations. The campus will end on Sunday with a public final discussion and a performance by knowbotiq.

(Un-)Learning Place


Mi, 09. Januar 2019 — So, 13. Januar 2019

knowbotiq, b(l)ack dada nonperformance | © knowbotiq

knowbotiq, b(l)ack dada nonperformance | © knowbotiq

Die Gegenwart ist durch eine Krise der etablierten epistemisch-politischen Ordnung gekennzeichnet. Veraltete Kategorien und Begriffe haben ihre Funktion und Beschreibungskraft eingebüßt. Die Logik der Repräsentation ist nicht geeignet, um die Komplexität gegenwärtiger Phänomene und zunehmend globaler Gesellschaften zu begreifen, deren Wandel durch die digitalen Infrastrukturen beschleunigt wird. In dieser Situation ist es dringend nötig, gängige Formen der Weltbeschreibung zu verlernen und Methoden des Konstruierens, Verortens und Kritisierens der Wirklichkeit neu zu denken.

Während der Opening Days des neuen HKW-Langzeitprojekts Das Neue Alphabet öffnet mit dem (Un-)Learning Place ein einzigartiger Raum für Zusammenkünfte, Diskussionen und Workshops, kuratiert von Boris Buden und Olga von Schubert. Sein fünftägiges Curriculum lädt die internationalen Teilnehmer*innen dazu ein, in einer Reihe unterschiedlicher (Un-)Learning Tracks an kuratorischen, künstlerischen oder aktivistischen Strategien zu arbeiten – im engen Austausch mit selbstorganisierten Forschungskollektiven sowie unabhängigen Künstler*innen, Kurator*innen und Forscher*innen..

Wie transformieren die Kulturtechniken des Archivierens, Einordnens und Klassifizierens das archivierte Wissen von innen heraus? Kann die Nekro-Ästhetik – die Präsentation toter Lebewesen – Naturhistorischer Museen durch eine Veränderung museologischer Taxonomien neu ausgerichtet werden? Welche Geschichten jahrhundertelanger politischer Unterdrückung erzählen die Moleküle von Körpern und wie lassen sich diese Geschichten neu lesen? Welche Widerstandsformen finden sich in den digitalen Netzwerkkulturen und wie navigiert man durch zunehmend undurchsichtige Daten- und Informationsströme? Wie können alternative Räume des Lernens und des Verlernens beschaffen sein in einer Welt, die von institutionellen Infrastrukturen der Herrschaft und der kulturellen Vormacht geprägt sind? Wie lässt sich eine Bibliothek von Schriften der afrikanischen Diaspora katalogisieren, ohne Kategorien der Unterdrückung zu reproduzieren? Und welche Rolle spielen die Funktionsweisen und Logiken von Theorie und ihrer institutionellen Praxis innerhalb dieses Gefüges?

In fünf (Un-)Learning Tracks erproben die 80 internationalen Teilnehmer*innen des (Un-)Learning Place Strategien, mit denen sich die Klassifikationsschemata und Ordnungssysteme von Archiven, Bibliotheken, Museen, institutionellen Architekturen und digitalen Netzwerken erschließen lassen. Außerdem entwickeln sie Methoden, mit denen sich Forschung in künstlerischen, ortsspezifischen, poetischen und körperlichen Praktiken situieren und verhandeln lässt. Gemeinsam mit acht unabhängigen kuratorischen, aktivistischen und künstlerischen Kollektiven und weiteren Gästen bietet der (Un-)Learning Place seinen Teilnehmer*innen die Gelegenheit zur Erkundung und Erprobung neuer Strategien der interdisziplinären Forschung und potenzieller disziplinübergreifender Kollaborationen. Die Tracks widmen sich den Themengebieten Übersetzung, Digitalität, Archivieren, Verkörperte Infrastrukturen sowie den Politiken von Raum und Theorie. Das Ziel ist, überkommene Denkmuster zu hinterfragen und in kollektiver Arbeit Möglichkeiten einer Neustrukturierung der Ordnung der Dinge zu entwickeln.

Jan 9–13, 2019

Auf Englisch