2021, Thu, Feb 04

#Healing (Faju)

Tabita Rezaire | Dilo, 2017 | Courtesy of the artist und Goodman Gallery, South Africa

Tabita Rezaire | Dilo, 2017 | Courtesy of the artist und Goodman Gallery, South Africa

Gaps, holes, erasures are spectral wounds in the flesh of history. In the context of the Black Atlantic and African history, how can repair – beyond material reparation – acknowledge that former and future memories, relations and possibilities can never be fully restituted? Is it possible to heal the colonial wound and what haunts the present time, in the social body and collective consciousness, retrieving missing voices, unveiled stories and reclaiming other ways of knowing, being and relating?

This edition of the New Alphabet School will focus on afro-diasporic or folk healing practices, therapeutic or shamanistic modes of cure and restoration and Indigenous, decolonial and feminist practices that hold a transformative power. What is their role in the maintenance of personal and social well-being? The lens will be on sacredness, spirituality, connection with the land and the ancestors, with the human and more-than-human elements, through dance, sound, orality and ritual ceremonies. “Healing” and the Wolof term “Faju” here are understood as a process of repairing traumatic relationships through non-Western epistemologies and cosmovisions. It is about unlearning hegemonic and Western-centric patterns, including extractivist forms of knowledge appropriation. Thus the #Healing edition is an offering to investigate the potential for “healing” society from systemic forms of oppression like colonialism, capitalism, patriarchy and modernity.

#Healing (Faju) will bring together healers, artists, practitioners and scholars to share healing traditions and technologies grounded in Indigenous and ancestral knowledge systems. Workshops und divinatory sessions will be convened online by participants of the New Alphabet School.

Convened by Alessandra Pomarico, Esther Poppe, Yayra Sumah and Maya V. El Zanaty

In cooperation with RAW Material Company, École de Sables, Bibliothèque Terme Sud and Goethe-Institut Senegal

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3

Thursday, Feb 04

5.30pm
Our Songs, Our Medicines
Curatorial introduction by Alessandra Pomarico, Esther Poppe, Yayra Sumah and Maya V. El Zanaty

What does it mean to be healed? The spirit of colonial, capitalist and patriarchal exploitation continues to haunt contemporary societies. It is a poison and a parasite feeding on the pain, trauma, anxiety and depression it causes in people's minds and bodies. This introduction is a gateway for the participants’ minds and spirits to connect with this program’s collective journey: It is an invocation and an invitation to tune into the frequencies of the ancestors and spirit guides through ritual practices in order to gravitate towards a vibration of healing.

6pm
We Are Waves
Lecture by Lionel Manga

The end of the transatlantic slave trade was followed by the era of traumatization in African countries. In his lecture, the author and cultural critic Lionel Manga looks at the trauma passed down from generation to generation; from the apportionment of the African continent among the colonial powers following the Berlin Conference in 1884/85 to the monotheization of large sections of the population and associated suppression of spiritual worlds to disrupted decolonization processes. Manga traces this negative force field, which slows down all vibrant dynamics and impedes political emancipation. Based on a Bantu maxim, he pursues the idea that the world is like a chimpanzee that falls down, shakes itself off and carries on its way. He encourages the audience to see themselves as waves and not to lose their faith that healing is possible.

6.30pm
Mamelles Ancestrales
Video screening
D: Tabita Rezaire, Senegal 2019, 62 min, in French with English Subtitles

In Mamelles Ancestrales Tabita Rezaire investigates the quest of our ancestors and the methods they used to understand and connect to the celestial realms in the face of a contemporary drive for spatial conquest. Drawing inspiration from the megalithic landscapes of Senegal and The Gambia, space debris, archaeology, astronomy, numerology, theology and African understandings of the cosmos, Mamelles Ancestrales strives to establish pathways between heaven and earth, between the living and the dead, in a world where celestial bodies, mineral life and spirits sing together.
The video is the result of the artist’s research and expeditions to the stone circles of Sine Ngayene and Wanar in Senegal and Wassu and Kerbatch in The Gambia. Gathering stories from the guardians of the sites, local populations and other understandings from astronomers, archeologists and theologians to unfold the mysteries of the thousands of stones circles scattered across Senegambia, Mamelles Ancestrales goes in pursuit of an ancient African Megalithic civilization so as to better understand our own. From petrified brides to burial sites, ancient observatories, ceremonial ground, haunted places, or energy device, for Rezaire the stone circles become the center of a scientific, mystic and cosmologic research.

7.30–10.30pm
Transatlantic Sounds: “What would you say if I told you that Black history has been denied?”
Sound marathon by Tomás Espinosa, Jorge Gómez, Carina Madsius and Linda-Philomène Tsoungui with Laeïla Adjovi, Margarita Ariza, Corinna Fiora, Mario Henao, Christian Howard Hooker, Ibaaku, Muhammed Lamin Jadama, LoMaasBello, Macú, Daba Makourejah, Daniela Maldonado (Red Comunitaria Trans), Plu con Pla, Johan Mijail, Yos Piña Narvaez, Ariel Palacios, Fundación Cultural Pilón, Abdulah Sow

The African diaspora carries pain but also embraces transformation. Against the backdrop of trauma and violence, diasporic movements turned the Atlantic into a tunnel of cultural exchanges, where different Africas met the Caribbean, the Atlantic and the Pacific coast of Abya Yala as Indigenous people call the pre-colonized territory of what today is referred to as the American continent. They have been laying the foundations of a mestizaje that is reflected in dance, ritual practices, popular religiosity, musical instruments, drums, percussion. These manifestations have been undervalued, diluted and racialized by colonial structures of power, generating disconnections between afro-diasporic communities and a part of history – the history of the Black Atlantic.

In a digital marathon, an archive of sounds, voices and experiences will be created while the participants exchange ideas, generate discussions and listen to each other. The marathon will bring together musicians, artists and other guests from Senegal, the Caribbean, Colombia and the Senegalese diaspora in Berlin. Through poems, interventions and other means, they will share their experience as members of the diaspora with the participants. This marathon lays the ground for the online transmission on February 6th.

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3

Do, 04. Februar 2021

#Healing (Faju)

Tabita Rezaire | Dilo, 2017 | Courtesy of the artist und Goodman Gallery, Südafrika

Tabita Rezaire | Dilo, 2017 | Courtesy of the artist und Goodman Gallery, Südafrika

Lücken, Löcher und Löschungen in der Geschichtsschreibung hinterlassen gespenstische, kollektive Wunden. Wie kann eine Entschädigung – jenseits eines materiellen Ausgleichs – im Kontext des Black Atlantic und der Geschichte Afrikas aussehen, die gleichsam anerkennt, dass sich vergangene und zukünftige Erinnerungen, Beziehungen und Möglichkeiten nie mehr vollständig restituieren lassen? Lassen sich koloniale Wunden heilen? Lassen sich die Leerstellen dessen, was die Gesellschaft und das kollektive Bewusstsein heute umtreibt, adressieren, indem fehlende Stimmen und verborgene Geschichten ans Licht geholt und andere Formen des Wissens, Seins und der Beziehung zurückgewonnen werden?

Diese Ausgabe der New Alphabet School widmet sich afrodiasporischen und folkloristischen Praktiken des Heilens, therapeutischen und schamanistischen Methoden der Gesundung und indigenen, dekolonialen und feministischen Techniken mit transformativem Potenzial. Welche Rolle können sie bei der Bewahrung des persönlichen und gesellschaftlichen Wohls innehaben? Vermittelt über Klang, Oralität und rituelle Zeremonien richtet sich der Blick auf das Heilige, Spiritualität, Verbundenheit mit dem Land der Vorfahren, mit der Menschheit und mit nicht-menschlichen Elementen. „Healing“ und „Faju“ (Englisch und Wolof für „Heilen“) meinen einen Prozess der Reparatur traumatischer Beziehungen mithilfe nicht-westlicher Epistemologien und Weltbilder. Es geht darum, hegemoniale und westlich zentrierte Muster zu verlernen. Dazu gehören auch ausbeuterische Formen von Wissensaneignung. Diese Ausgabe lädt dazu ein zu erkunden, ob ein Potenzial zur Überwindung systemischer Unterdrückung besteht und die Gesellschaft von Kolonialismus, Kapitalismus, Patriarchat geheilt werden kann.

#Healing (Faju) bringt Heilende, Künstler*innen, Praktizierende und Forschende zusammen, um sich über Heilungstraditionen und -techniken auszutauschen, die in indigenen und überlieferten Wissenssystemen gründen. Online finden Workshops und divinatorische Sitzungen mit Teilnehmer*innen der New Alphabet School statt.
Konzipiert von Alessandra Pomarico, Esther Poppe, Yayra Sumah und Maya V. El Zanaty

In Zusammenarbeit mit RAW Material Company, École de Sables, Bibliothèque Terme Sud und Goethe-Institut Senegal

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3

Donnerstag 04.02.

17.30h
Our Songs, Our Medicines
Kuratorische Einführung mit Alessandra Pomarico, Esther Poppe, Yayra Sumah, Maya V. El Zanaty

Was bedeutet es, geheilt zu werden? In den heutigen Gesellschaften geht nach wie vor der Geist kolonialer, kapitalistischer und patriarchaler Ausbeutung um. Wie ein Gift zehrt er als Parasit von dem Leid, den Traumata, Ängsten und Depressionen, die er in die menschlichen Köpfe und Körper pflanzt. Die kuratorische Einführung ist eine Passage, durch die sich Verstand und Geist der Teilnehmenden mit der gemeinsamen Reise des Programmes verbinden können: Es ist ein Aufruf und eine Einladung, sich mittels ritueller Praxen auf die Frequenzen der Ahnen und spirituellen Mentor*innen einzustimmen und sich somit auf einen Weg der Heilung zu begeben.

18h
We Are Waves
Performative Lecture von Lionel Manga

Auf den transatlantischen Menschenhandel folgte in afrikanischen Ländern die Ära der Traumatisierung. In seiner performativen Lecture nimmt der Autor und Kulturkritiker Lionel Manga die von Generation zu Generation weitergegebenen Traumata in den Blick: von der Aufteilung des afrikanischen Kontinents unter den Kolonialmächten im Anschluss an die Berliner Konferenz 1884/85 über die Monotheisierung weiter Teile der Bevölkerung und die damit verbundene Verdrängung spiritueller Welten bis hin zu unterbrochenen Dekolonisierungsprozessen. Manga geht diesem negativen Kraftfeld nach, das jede lebendige Dynamik ausbremst und politische Emanzipation erschwert. Ausgehend von einer Maxime der Bantu folgt er der Idee, dass die Welt dem Schimpansen vergleichbar ist, der stürzt, sich kurz schüttelt und weitermacht. Er ermuntert die Zuhörenden, sich als Wellen zu verstehen und den Glauben nicht zu verlieren, dass Heilung möglich ist.

18.30h
Mamelles Ancestrales
Video-Screening
D: Tabita Rezaire, Senegal 2019, 62 Min, auf Französisch mit engl. UT

In Mamelles Ancestrales beschäftigt sich Tabita Rezaire angesichts aktueller Weltraumbesiedelungspläne mit Forschungen der Vorfahren, mit ihren Anschauungen und Anrufungen an die Weiten des Himmels. Mamelles Ancestrales ist inspiriert von den megalithischen Landschaften des Senegals und Gambias, von Weltraummüll, Archäologie, Astronomie, Numerologie, Theologie sowie von afrikanischen kosmologischen Konzepten. Es ist eine Suche nach Verbindungen zwischen Himmel und Erde und zwischen Lebenden und Toten in einer Welt, in der die Himmelskörper, die mineralischen Lebensformen und die Geister gemeinsam erklingen. Die Künstlerin entwickelte das Video im Zuge ihrer Forschungen und Reisen zu den Steinkreisen in Sine Ngayène und Wanar im Senegal und in Wassu und Kerbatch in Gambia. Um auf die Rätsel der tausenden Steinkreise in Senegambia einzugehen, bringt Mamelles Ancestrales die Geschichten der Wächter*innen der Stätten und der lokalen Bevölkerung mit Erkenntnissen von Astronom*innen, Archäolog*innen und Theolog*innen zusammen. Mamelles Ancestrales folgt einer alten afrikanischen megalithischen Zivilisation, um ein besseres Verständnis für die gegenwärtige zu bekommen. Von versteinerten Bräuten bis zu Grabesstätten, von historischen Observatorien zu zeremoniellen Plätzen oder Spuk- und Kraftorten, die Steinkreise sind für Rezaire Zentrum einer wissenschaftlichen, mystischen und kosmologischen Forschung.

19.30–23h
Transatlantic Sounds: “What would you say if I told you that our Black history has been denied?”
Soundmarathon von Tomás Espinosa, Jorge Gómez, Carina Madsius und Linda-Philomène Tsoungui mit Laeïla Adjovi, Margarita Ariza, Corinna Fiora, Mario Henao, Christian Howard Hooker, Ibaaku, Muhammed Lamin Jadama, LoMaasBello, Macú, Daba Makourejah, Daniela Maldonado (Red Comunitaria Trans), Plu con Pla, Johan Mijail, Yos Piña Narvaez, Ariel Palacios, Fundación Cultural Pilón, Abdulah Sow
z.T. auf Spanisch mit Übersetzung ins Englische

In der afrikanischen Diaspora liegt Leid, aber auch das Potenzial für Transformation. Mit den diasporischen Bewegungen wurde der Atlantik vor dem Hintergrund von Trauma und Gewalt zu einer Verbindungsroute für kulturellen Austausch. Verschiedene Afrikas trafen auf die karibische, atlantische und pazifische Küste von Abya Yala – der indigene Name für das prä-kolonisierte Gebiet des heutigen amerikanischen Kontinents. Die Mestizaje – die kulturellen Vermischungen –, die sich auf dieser Grundlage entwickelten, fanden Ausdruck in Tänzen, rituellen Praxen, Religiosität, Musikinstrumenten, Trommeln und Perkussion. Im kolonialen Machtgefüge kam es zu einer Abwertung, Verzerrung und Rassifizierung dieser Ausdrucksformen und zur Trennung der afrodiasporischen Gemeinschaften von einem Teil der Geschichte – der Geschichte des Black Atlantic.

Der digitale Marathon versammelt Klangarchive, Stimmen und Erfahrungen, die Teilnehmenden tauschen Ideen aus, diskutieren und hören einander zu. Für den Marathon kommen Musiker*innen und Künstler*innen, Gäste aus dem Senegal, der Karibik, aus Kolumbien und der senegalesischen Diaspora in Berlin zusammen. Als Mitglieder der Diaspora teilen sie ihre Erfahrungen in Form von Gedichten und Interventionen mit den Teilnehmer*innen. Der Marathon ist die Grundlage des digitalen Audio-Streams am 6. Februar.

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3