Conversations, installations, screenings, listening sessions

#Healing (Faju)

Wed, Feb 9–Wed, Feb 16, 2022
Wed, Feb 9, 2022
Dakar
Free admission

Dakar

In English and French

Free admission

Tabita Rezaire, Dilo, 2017, Courtesy of the artist and Goodman Gallery, South Africa

How can resonance pass through the body, the voice, the ancestral soil, the water and create relations? The second part of #Healing (Faju) in Dakar focuses on communal healing gestures of remediation and regeneration.

A mutating, porous and fugitive space for collaborative reflection and sense-making: #Healing (Faju) is continuing in the form of a Living Library. While the first part of #Healing (Faju) took place mainly online in February 2021, the second part is rooted in Dakar, situating the research in the contemporary Senegalese context and its multiple cultures. Artists, scholars, educators and practitioners will hold a creative space around the reactivation of ancestral, spiritual and therapeutic knowledges. Encompassing a series of initiatives including an exhibition, installations, performances, workshops, screenings, conversations and visits to local institutions, the Living Library activates possibilities of “oralitures”, a term coined by the philosopher Mamoussé Diagne. His Critique de la Raison Orale invites to pay attention to the specific ways and devices through which knowledge is transmitted beyond writing, and its use in the West. As vernacular tools, these “oralitures” call for opacity, a reverberation, a resonance – a realm not always intelligible across different knowledge systems.

The first part of the program, Mouvement 1 takes place at Bibliothèque Terme Sud with a conversation with Abdourahman Seck about the reversion of colonial bounds, a sound performance by Ibaaku, a conversation with Laeila Adjovi about the Black Atlantic and cultural resistance, and more. For Mouvement 2, there will be events such as a screening of We are Waves from Lionel Manga, in presence of the filmmaker, as well as the opening of the exhibition with performances and installations. From February 14 to 16 (Mouvement 3 and 4), a selected research group will go on field trips, celebrate and perform rituals together in Unjering (Marlodj Island) and other nearby places.

With contributions by Laeïla Adjovi, Cheikha, Mour Fall, Corinna Fiora, Ibaaku, Karim Yassin Goessinger, Lionel Manga, Cléophée Moser, Tabita Rezaire, Alioune Samb, Abdourahman Seck, Nathalie Vairac, Wangui Wa Kamonji and others

Curated by Maya V. El Zanaty, Alessandra Pomarico, Esther Poppe and Abdourahmane Seck

Hosted by Bibliothèque Terme Sud, in collaboration with GAEC (Groupe d'Action et d'Étude Critique), Goethe Institute, Espace Medina, and Ecoversities Alliance

Program

Wed, Feb 9–Sun, Feb 13
Mouvement 1
Bibliothèque Therme Sud, Dakar
Conversations, installations, screenings, listening sessions

Fri, Feb 11&Sat, Feb 12
Mouvement 2
Espace Medina, Dakar
Installations, performances

Mon, Feb 14
Mouvement 3
Surroundings of Dakar
Field trips and visits

Tue, Feb 15&Wed, Feb 16
Mouvement 4
Unjering, Marlodj Island
Rituals, celebrations

Gespräche, Installationen, Screenings, Hörsessions

#Healing (Faju)

Mi 9.2.–Mi 16.2.2022
Mi 9.2.2022
Dakar
Eintritt frei

Dakar

Auf Englisch und Französisch

Eintritt frei

Tabita Rezaire, Dilo, 2017, Courtesy die Künstlerin und Goodman Gallery, Südafrika

Wie setzen sich Resonanzen durch Körper, Stimmen, Gewässer oder die Böden der Vorfahren hindurch fort? Welche Verbindungen entstehen dabei? Der zweite Teil von #Healing (Faju) in Dakar befasst sich mit den Gesten von Heilung, Wiedergutmachung und Erneuerung.

Ein dynamischer, vielseitiger und ephemerer Raum: Das Programm von #Healing (Faju) geht weiter und schafft mit der Living Library einen Ort gemeinsamer Reflexion und Sinnfindung. Während im Februar 2021 der erste Teil von #Healing (Faju) vorwiegend online stattfand, verortet der zweite Teil seine Forschungen in Dakar, im zeitgenössischen senegalesischen Kontext und seinen vielfältigen Kulturen. Künstler*innen, Akademiker*innen, Erzieher*innen und Praktizierende entwickeln einen kreativen Raum zur Neuanrufung von anzestralem, spirituellen und therapeutischem Wissen. Die Living Library umfasst eine Ausstellung, Installationen, Performances, Workshops, Screenings und Gespräche sowie Besuche bei lokalen Institutionen. Thema sind dabei auch die Möglichkeiten von „oralitures”, ein vom Philosophen Mamoussé Diagne geprägter Begriff, dessen Critique de la Raison Orale einlädt, über Wissensvermittlung jenseits der Schriftform und deren Gebrauch im Westen zu reflektieren. Als vernakuläre Praktiken propagieren die “oralitures” etwa Opazität, Nachhall und Resonanzen – ein Feld, das sich in den unterschiedlichen Wissenssystemen nicht immer von selbst versteht.

Mouvement 1, der erste Teil des Programmes, findet in der Bibliothèque Terme Sud statt. Abdourahman Seck spricht dort über die Umkehrung kolonialer Grenzen, außerdem findet eine Soundperformance von Ibaaku sowie ein Gespräch mit Laeila Adjovi über Black Atlantic und kulturellen Widerstand statt. Zu den Veranstaltungen von Mouvement 2 gehören ein Screening von We are Waves von Lionel Manga in Anwesenheit des Filmemachers und die Eröffnung der Ausstellung mit Performances und Installationen. Von 14. bis 16. Februar (Mouvement 3 und 4) wird eine ausgewählte Forschungsgruppe in Unjering (Mar Lodj Insel) und den umliegenden Orten unterwegs sein, um Rituale und Feierlichkeiten abzuhalten.

Mit Beiträgen von Laeïla Adjovi, Cheikha, Mour Fall, Corinna Fiora, Ibaaku, Karim Yassin Goessinger, Lionel Manga, Cléophée Moser, Tabita Rezaire, Alioune Samb, Abdourahman Seck, Nathalie Vairac, Wangui Wa Kamonji und anderen

Kuratiert von Maya V. El Zanaty, Alessandra Pomarico, Esther Poppe und Abdourahmane Seck

Veranstaltet von Bibliothèque Terme Sud in Zusammenarbeit mit GAEC (Groupe d'Action et d'Étude Critique), Goethe Institute, Espace Medina und Ecoversities Alliance

Programm

Mittwoch, 9. Februar – Sonntag, 13. Februar
Mouvement 1
Bibliothèque Therme Sud, Dakar
Gespräche, Installationen, Screenings, Hörsessions

Freitag, 11. Februar & Samstag, 12. Februar
Mouvement 2
Espace Medina, Dakar
Installationen, Performances

Montag, 14. Februar
Mouvement 3
Umgebung von Dakar
Exkursionen und Besuche

Dienstag, 15. Februar & Mittwoch, 16. Februar
Mouvement 4
Unjering, Mar Lodj Insel
Rituale, Feste