2021, Thu, Sep 02

#Transmitting: Workshops

https://giphy.com/gifs/vhs-glitchart-feedback-3o6vXSCHXrkT97HR1S | Via @ jamopi

https://giphy.com/gifs/vhs-glitchart-feedback-3o6vXSCHXrkT97HR1S | Via @ jamopi

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4

Thursday, September 2

1-4pm EEST (Rafah)
28 magazine gallery, Rafah
Workshop, with registration
Open Language
With Mohammed Alzaqzouq and Raed Eshneoura

Does the open world lead to an open language? What is the extent of the linguistic response to the surrounding environment? Which aspects are responsible for the formation of the individual’s relationship with language? This workshop discusses poetic models that emerged from the experiences of isolation of young writers in Gaza. Unlike previous generations of writers who aimed to express the collective Palestinian concern, rather than an individual one, young writers today write without relying on these literary traditions. When they started writing, they had to choose between either starting a new area, a new language that could stem from their own experiences or to become echoes of the previous language. In an attempt to explore the question of this new possible language, participants will examine the link between linguistic traditions and the context of language use, literary genres that might transcend a given form to liberate the meaning as well as the idea of an open language. How is it possible to find a new language that resonates with your own experiences?

4–6.30pm CEST (Berlin) / 5–7.30pm EEST (Rafah)
Workshop at HKW, with registration
Trans-Missing: A Trip to Jerusalem
With Nahed Mansour and Maiada Aboud

Millions of Arabic speaking people yearn for visiting Jerusalem, in particular young people of Gaza. It is a paradoxical idea given how near they are to the city but they still can't reach it. This workshop provides a virtual platform in order to imagine possibilities to cross over political and geographical barriers by actively exchanging visions, destroying walls and reflecting on personal and collective memories. Participants are invited to share a text, clip, video recording, photos or a poem reflecting on either personal stories or fictional ways to cross over to Jerusalem. A fictional map will be created from gathered material guiding the participants through the individual pathways of the citizens of Gaza. Could virtual reality and fiction be used as alternative means in order to help enhancing the act of transmission between and beyond the Palestinian territories and therefore be a tool of resistance-persistence against the present political barriers?
In order to further discuss different modes of transmitting longing and possibilities, performance artist and researcher Maiada Aboud will introduce the participants to Palestinian feminist artists like Rana Bishara, Larissa Sansour, Raeda Saadeh and others who use their work to reflect on imaginary spaces referring to political identity and belonging.

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4

Do., 02. September 2021

#Transmitting: Workshops

https://giphy.com/gifs/vhs-glitchart-feedback-3o6vXSCHXrkT97HR1S | Via @ jamopi

https://giphy.com/gifs/vhs-glitchart-feedback-3o6vXSCHXrkT97HR1S | Via @ jamopi

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3 | Tag 4

Donnerstag, 02.09.

13–16h OESZ (Rafah)
28 magazine gallery, Rafah
Workshop, mit Anmeldung
Offene Sprache
Mit Mohammed Alzaqzouq und Raed Eshneoura

Führt eine offene Welt zu einer offenen Sprache? In welchem Ausmaß reagiert sie auf ihr Umfeld? Wie formt sich das Verhältnis zwischen Individuum und Sprache? Der Workshop untersucht poetische Modelle, die aus der Isolationserfahrung junger Autor*innen in Gaza entstanden sind. Im Unterschied zu früheren Generationen, die eher eine kollektive als eine individuelle palästinensische Erfahrung zum Ausdruck bringen wollten, beziehen sich junge Autor*innen heute kaum noch auf diese literarische Tradition. Als sie zu schreiben begannen mussten sie sich entscheiden – zwischen einem Neuanfang mit einer Sprache, die ihre eigenen Erfahrungen widerspiegelt oder der Wiedergabe einer Sprache aus der Zeit vor ihnen. Der Workshop geht einer neuen Sprache als Möglichkeit nach und untersucht gemeinsam mit den Teilnehmenden die Schnittstelle zwischen linguistischer Tradition und sprachlicher Realität sowie literarische Genres, die über gegebene Formen hinwegfinden müssen, um sowohl die Bedeutung als auch die Vorstellung einer offenen Sprache zu erneuern. Welche neue Sprache kann die eigenen Erfahrungen wiedergeben und wo lässt sie sich aufspüren?

16.00–18.30h MESZ (Berlin) / 17.00–19.30h OESZ (Rafah)
Workshop im HKW, mit Anmeldung
Ver–Missung: Wege nach Jerusalem
Mit Nahed Mansour und Maiada Aboud

Millionen arabischsprachiger Menschen, vor allem junge Menschen in Gaza, sehnen sich nach Jerusalem. Eine paradoxe Situation; die Stadt ist so nah und für sie trotzdem unerreichbar. Der Workshop entwirft eine virtuelle Plattform möglicher Visionen zur Überwindung von politischen und geografischen Grenzen – durch geteilte Vorstellungen, zerstörte Mauern und private oder kollektive Erinnerungen. Die Teilnehmenden bringen einen Text, einen Clip, eine Videoaufnahme oder ein Gedicht mit, um von ihren tatsächlichen oder fiktiven Wegen nach Jerusalem zu erzählen. Das gesammelte Material macht eine fiktive Landkarte der persönlichen Wege der Bürger*innen Gazas sichtbar. Inwiefern können virtuelle Realitäten und Fiktion dabei helfen, Interaktion zwischen den palästinensischen Gebieten und darüber hinaus zu verbessern? Können sie im Angesicht der gegenwärtigen politischen Barrieren ein Instrument für einen beharrlichen Widerstand sein?
Zur Diskussion steht die Frage, wie Sehnsüchte und Erreichbarkeit vermittelt werden können. Die Performancekünstlerin Maiada Aboud stellt palästinensische feministische Künstler*innen wie Rana Bishara, Larissa Sansour und Raeda Saadeh vor, die in ihren Arbeiten die Verbindung von imaginären Räumen, politischer Identität und Zugehörigkeit erforschen.

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3 | Tag 4