2021, Fri, Sep 03

#Transmitting: Workshops

https://giphy.com/gifs/vhs-glitchart-feedback-3o6vXSCHXrkT97HR1S | Via @ jamopi

https://giphy.com/gifs/vhs-glitchart-feedback-3o6vXSCHXrkT97HR1S | Via @ jamopi

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4

Friday, Sep 3

12 noon–3 pm CEST (Berlin) / 1–4 pm EEST (Rafah)
Workshop at HKW and online, with registration
Transmitting Worlds in Words: Poetry as a Topos of Transfer, Transformation and Disruption
With Louis M. Berger, Tomás Cohen and Jacob Veidt
Guest: Ghayath Almadhoun

Pre-Online-Workshops:
Friday, Aug 20 12 noon–3 pm CEST (Berlin) / 1–4 pm EEST (Rafah)
Friday, Aug 27 12 noon–3 pm CEST (Berlin) / 1–4 pm EEST (Rafah)

Transmission, both technical as well as cultural and interpersonal, can be understood to describe a mode of continuous transfer, translation and interaction which enables individuals in different places and from different backgrounds to interact with each other. These interactions however have limits. Understanding each other is an error-stricken process and while it has technically never been easier to communicate halfway across the globe, the numerous realities of life differ and are not necessarily translatable. Yet, somehow we seem to continually transcend these impossibilities by attempting to understand each other through modes of friendship, intellectual discourse, art, empathy or solidarity. Through three online sessions, this workshop will seek to discuss different modes of transmission stemming both from personal experience as well as academic and artistic practice. Guided by the technical metaphor of transmission itself as well as significant works of interdisciplinary scholarship, the participants will spend two online sessions discussing the impossibilities (online workshop 1) and the possibilities (online workshop 2) of transmission, informed by theoretical readings with a progressive focus on poetry, drawing from both contemporary as well as historical examples. The concluding session (online workshop 3) will feature a live reading by the poet Ghayath Almadhoun, followed by an open discussion about his work.

4–8 pm CEST (Berlin) / 5–9 pm EEST (Rafah)
Workshop at HKW, with registration
Sounding Testimony
With Carolina Mendonça und Esther Poppe

The voice – the original medium of transmission – holds an interesting instability between inside and outside, material and immaterial, body and non-body. This workshop puts the voice at its center and proposes to share practices that address the voice as a political instrument.
Participants will follow scores of the sonic meditations by Pauline Oliveros, experience the materiality of sound as vibration and tune in with each other’s voice. In using voice(s), the concept of transmitting moves away from the idea of successful communication towards a more vulnerable and fragile understanding of transmission of meaning and message: an embodied communication of tone, energy, density, heat, excitation. This workshop aims at opening up to the opportunity to rethink corporality, shifting away from certainties and making other narratives appear.
Participants will collectively create a compendium of collaged bits and pieces of fragments and texts by Brandon LaBelle, Georges Perec, Noor Abuarafeh, Bhanu Kapil, Moyra Davey and many more in order to create an intertextuality between reading, sounding and space.

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4

Fr., 03. September 2021

#Transmitting: Workshops

https://giphy.com/gifs/vhs-glitchart-feedback-3o6vXSCHXrkT97HR1S | Via @ jamopi

https://giphy.com/gifs/vhs-glitchart-feedback-3o6vXSCHXrkT97HR1S | Via @ jamopi

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3 | Tag 4

Freitag, 03.09.

12–15h MESZ (Berlin) / 13–16h OESZ (Rafah)
Workshop im HKW und online, mit Anmeldung
Welten mit Worten transportieren: Lyrik als Topos von Transfer, Transformation und Trennung
Mit Louis M. Berger, Tomás Cohen und Jacob Veidt
Gast: Ghayath Almadhoun

Vorab-Online-Workshops:
Freitag, 20.08. 12–15h MESZ (Berlin) / 13–16h OESZ (Rafah)
Freitag, 27.08. 12–15h MESZ (Berlin) / 13–16h OESZ (Rafah)

Der Begriff der Übermittlung („transmission“) meint sowohl im technischen als auch im kulturellen und zwischenmenschlichen Sinn verschiedene Übertragungsweisen, Übersetzungen und Interaktionen, die den Austausch zwischen Individuen mit unterschiedlichen Hintergründen und Aufenthaltsorten möglich machen. Dieser Austausch hat jedoch immer auch Grenzen. Das Sich-Verstehen ist ein von Missverständnissen geprägter Prozess. Während die Kommunikation quer über den Globus technisch gesehen noch nie so einfach wie heute ist, sind die Differenzen zwischen den Lebensrealitäten nur bedingt zu vermitteln. Trotzdem überwiegt der Wunsch, sich verstehen zu können und Unmöglichkeiten zu überwinden, sei es durch Freundschaft, intellektuellen Austausch, Kunst, Empathie oder Solidarität. In drei Online-Sitzungen diskutiert der Workshop Transfers und ihre Formen – sowohl in persönlichen Erfahrungen als auch in akademischen und künstlerischen Praxen. Neben bedeutenden Werken interdisziplinärer Forschung wird die Übertragung, als Metapher und technischer Begriff, Ausgangspunkt der zwei Online-Sitzungen sein. Online-Workshop 1 wird sich mit den Unmöglichkeiten und Online-Workshop 2 mit den Möglichkeiten von Übertragungen befassen. Quellen werden theoretische, vor allem aber zeitgenössische und historische lyrische Texte sein. Im Rahmen der letzten Sitzung (Online-Workshop 3) findet eine Lesung des Dichters Ghayath Almadhoun statt, gefolgt von einem gemeinsamen Gespräch über seine Arbeit.

16–20h MESZ (Berlin) / 17–21h OESZ (Rafah)
Workshop im HKW, mit Anmeldung
Klang und Zeugenschaft
Mit Carolina Mendonça und Esther Poppe

Die Stimme – das ursprüngliche Übertragungsmedium – steht für eine faszinierende Instabilität zwischen Innen und Außen, Materialität und Immaterialität, Körper und Körperlosigkeit. Die Stimme und ihr Potenzial als politisches Instrument stehen im Zentrum des Workshops. Es geht um eine Erkundung und Erprobung der Scores der Klangmeditationen Pauline Oliveros', des Klanges als Vibration, und um die Frage, wie man sich auf die Stimme der anderen einlässt. Mit dem Einsatz der Stimme(n) wird die Bedeutung von Übertragung als erfolgreiche Kommunikation einer Bedeutung oder Mitteilung durch eine brüchigere und fragilere Auffassung von Übertragung ersetzt: die Verkörperung von Tönen, von Energie, Dichte, Temperatur und Reiz. Der Workshop verfolgt eine Neubewertung des Körperlichen, um auf Gewissheiten zu verzichten und alternative Narrativen hörbar zu machen.
Aus verschiedenen Elementen, Fragmenten und Texten (unter anderem von Brandon LaBelle, Georges Perec, Noor Abuarafeh, Bhanu Kapil, Moyra Davey) entwickeln die Teilnehmenden gemeinsam intertextuelle Kompendien und Collagen über das Lesen, den Klang und den Raum.

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3 | Tag 4