2020, Thu, Mar 19

Postponed: Carrier Bag Fiction

With Sophia Al-Maria, Dorothee Elmiger, Victoria Sin, Hito Steyerl and others

Sophia Al-Maria | Beast Type Song, 2019 (video still)

Sophia Al-Maria | Beast Type Song, 2019 (video still)

The event is postponed. The decision is based on the public administration’s current guidelines and recommendations on how to deal with the Coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2). More...

Stories of hunting and killing suggest that only heroic acts by individuals can form the framework for great stories. In her 1986 essay The Carrier Bag Theory of Fiction, the visionary author Ursula K. Le Guin presents a feminist story of technology that centres the collective sustenance of life and takes narrative as a tool for world-making.

According to this alternative theory of human evolution, the primary inventions of humankind were not phallic weapons of domination and hunting, but “carrier bags”, humble containers: a basket of wild oats, a medicine bundle, a net woven from one’s own hair. The bag of stars. In her essay, Le Guin proposes a departure from linear, conflict-centered heroic stories and outlines a gatherer's narrative practice of receiving and holding different worlds of imagination, in which dualisms such as light and dark, female and male, good and bad dissolve. For in the words of Donna Haraway, who introduces Ignota's new volume, ‘It matters what worlds world worlds’.

The Carrier Bag Theory of Fiction has now been published with an introductory essay by Donna Haraway and illustrations by Lee Bul by Ignota Books as the inaugural edition of the new series Terra Ignota. The editors Sarah Shin and Ben Vickers invite artists, writers and thinkers to gather around Le Guin's "carrier bag" and explore the subversive ideas of this essay in readings, performances and conversations. Other artists and writers contribute rituals, micro-stories, recordings through the ether to be embodied and channeled by those present.

With Sophia Al-Maria, Jesse Darling, Dorothee Elmiger, Victoria Sin, Hito Steyerl and further contributions by Season Butler, Laurel Halo, Taylor Le Melle, Nisha Ramayya and Himali Singh Soin, curated by Sarah Shin and Ben Vickers

In cooperation with Ignota Books

Do, 19. März 2020

Verschoben: Carrier Bag Fiction

Mit Sophia Al-Maria, Dorothee Elmiger, Victoria Sin, Hito Steyerl u. a.

Sophia Al-Maria | Beast Type Song, 2019 (Videostill)

Sophia Al-Maria | Beast Type Song, 2019 (Videostill)

Die Veranstaltung ist verschoben. Die Entscheidung beruht auf den aktuellen Vorgaben und Empfehlungen der öffentlichen Verwaltungen zum Umgang mit dem Coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2). Mehr...

Geschichten vom Jagen und Erlegen haben seit jeher vermittelt, dass nur heroische Taten Einzelner den Rahmen großer Erzählungen bilden können. In ihrem 1986 erschienenen Essay The Carrier Bag Theory of Fiction entwirft die visionäre Sci-Fi-Autorin Ursula K. Le Guin eine feministische Technologiegeschichte, die den kollektiven Lebensunterhalt in den Mittelpunkt stellt und das Erzählen als Werkzeug für die Weltgestaltung nutzt.

Nach dieser alternativen Theorie menschlicher Evolution waren die primären Erfindungen der Menschheit eben nicht phallische Jagd- und Kampfwaffen, sondern „Carrier Bags“, einfache Behälter, mit denen sich Gesammeltes nach Hause tragen ließ: der Korb mit wildem Hafer, das Medizinbündel, das Netz aus eigenem Haar. In ihrem Essay schlägt Le Guin eine Abkehr von linearen, konfliktzentrierten Heldengeschichten vor und skizziert die Erzählhaltung einer Sammlerin. Denn Sammler*innen können in gänzlich andere Vorstellungswelten vordringen – solche, in der sich Dualismen wie hell und dunkel, weiblich und männlich, gut und böse auflösen. Oder in den Worten von Donna Haraway: „Es ist von Gewicht, welche Geschichten Welten machen und welche Welten Geschichten machen.“

Mit einem einleitenden Essay von Donna Haraway und Illustrationen von Lee Bul wurde The Carrier Bag Theory of Fiction nun als Einzelpublikation veröffentlicht. Die Herausgeber*innen Sarah Shin und Ben Vickers laden Künstler*innen und Schriftsteller*innen ein, sich um Le Guins „Carrier Bag“ zu versammeln und den subversiven Ideen dieses Essays in Lesungen, Performances und Gesprächen nachzugehen. Weitere Künstler*innen steuern Rituale, Mikrogeschichten und Aufnahmen aus der Ferne bei, die von den Anwesenden präsentiert oder interpretiert werden.

Mit Sophia Al-Maria, Jesse Darling, Dorothee Elmiger, Victoria Sin und Hito Steyerl sowie Beiträgen von Season Butler, Laurel Halo, Taylor Le Melle, Nisha Ramayya und Himali Singh Soin, kuratiert von Sarah Shin und Ben Vickers

In Kooperation mit Ignota Books