2021, Wed, Jun 16

Mistaking Glass for Skin

­ Magazine Issue Launch

© Katharina Nejdl

© Katharina Nejdl

Is there such a thing as tactile reading in digital space? How can literature touch or be touched digitally? Starting from the assumption that the contact with digital surfaces produces new modes of touching and being touched, Mistaking Glass for Skin explores the tactilities of reading online. Touching a digital text and being touched by it makes the materiality of reading tangible and shows how, in embodied interaction with digital media, the boundaries between touching subject and touched surface, between skin and glass, blur.

The event will be inaugurated by the desktop performance Repertoire by the dancer, choreographer and writer Bryana Fritz. Afterwards, the audience will move on to the website of digital literature magazine ­ for the online release of the new issue. The issue brings together five texts that explore the ways in which digital literature touches and can be touched. Within some of the texts, there will be the possibility to get in contact with the authors and meet them digitally.

­ is a digital magazine for contemporary literature. Each text is designed interactively – with care and in close collaboration with the authors. ­ explores new ways of digital writing, reading and publishing, reflects on the relationship to the screen and brings together texts by writers of the digital present.

With Bryana Fritz, Maru Mushtrieva, Hannah Schraven and Ralph Tharayil

Fr 24.–So 26.09.: Sperrungen und Verkehrseinschränkungen rund ums HKW. Mehr...

Mi, 16. Juni 2021

Mistaking Glass for Skin

­ Magazine Issue Launch

Gibt es ein taktiles Lesen im digitalen Raum? Wie können Texte digital berühren oder berührt werden? Mistaking Glass for Skin erkundet ausgehend von der Annahme, dass sich im Kontakt mit digitalen Oberflächen Formen des Berührens, Berührtseins und Berührtwerdens konstituieren, die Möglichkeiten eines taktilen Lesens. Einen Text online zu berühren und von ihm berührt zu werden, macht die Materialität des Lesens erfahrbar und zeigt, wie in der verkörperten Interaktion mit digitalen Medien die Grenzen zwischen berührendem Subjekt und berührter Oberfläche, zwischen Haut und Glas, verschwimmen.

Der Abend wird mit der Desktop-Performance Repertoire der Tänzerin, Choreografin und Schriftstellerin Bryana Fritz eröffnet. Im Anschluss zieht das Publikum weiter zum Online-Release der neuen Ausgabe auf die Website des digitalen Literaturmagazins ­: Veröffentlicht werden fünf Texte, die auf unterschiedliche Weisen digital berühren und digital berührt werden können. Innerhalb einiger Texte gibt es die Möglichkeit, Kontakt zu den Autor*innen aufzunehmen und ihnen digital zu begegnen.

­ ist ein digitales Magazin für junge Gegenwartsliteratur. Jeder Text wird interaktiv gestaltet – sorgsam und in Zusammenarbeit mit den Autor*innen. ­ erkundet neue Wege des digitalen Erzählens und Publizierens, reflektiert die Beziehung zum Bildschirm und versammelt Texte von Autor*innen der digitalen Gegenwart.

Mit Bryana Fritz, Maru Mushtrieva, Hannah Schraven und Ralph Tharayil