2019, Tue, Jun 18

#1 Translating: Workshops

View of the Exhibition 'Disappearances Appearances Publishing' at Kampnagel Hamburg, 2017 | © Fehras Publishing Practices

View of the Exhibition 'Disappearances Appearances Publishing' at Kampnagel Hamburg, 2017 | © Fehras Publishing Practices

The New Alphabet School is a school for artistic, curatorial, poetic and activist research practices. Inaugurated with an (Un-)Learning Place in January 2019 with 80 international participants, it continues as a series of events for self-organized learning, collaboration and discussion. For the edition #1 on Translating, participants of the New Alphabet School convene workshops and invite new members to register and join the school.

Day 1 | Day 2

10 am–12.30 pm, Lecture Hall
Cultural Translation / Translation and Technology
With Lydia H. Liu (literary scholar), moderated by Sima Reinisch and Tomás Cohen

The workshop will be based on chapter five The Freudian Robot in Lydia H. Liu’s book The Freudian Robot – Digital Media and the Future of the Unconscious (2010). After a short presentation by Lydia H. Liu, the group will engage in a discussion on the difference between alphabetical writing and Chinese letters, on AI development, automation and language and on the question of translation between humans and technology in an entangled techno-linguistic alphanumerical sphere.

10 am–12.30 pm, Conference Room 2
An Architectural reading of Glissant’s Poetics of Relations
With Nelly Y. Pinkrah (media theorist), moderated by Ahmad Borham and Mathias Zausinger

The workshop will attempt to read Édouard Glissant’s Poetics of Relations architecturally. Does architecture need to be transparent and universal in order to be global? Or are their local, specific or even opaque global architectures? In the chapter For Opacity in his book The Poetics of Relation, Glissant argues that opacities can co-exist and converge, weaving fabrics. In order to understand these fabrics, one must focus on the texture rather than the nature of its components, suggesting that opacities are a collective construct. How can we view the spontaneous settlements around the world in this view? Can the right to opacity in architecture mean to be locally or even culturally specific? And can the approaches, elements, paths and repetitions in Glissant’s writings be read as architectural elements? In this workshop, we will attempt to map the relations of contemporary architecture as a shifting between transparency and opacity.

10 am–12.30 pm, Conference Room 3
Socio-political Representation and Ethics of Translation
With Nadiye Ünsal (sociologist), moderated by Nahed Mansour and Julia Ayerbe

The workshop will engage participants in a critical reading of translations on a bodily and linguistic level in contexts of migration, diaspora and other experiences/possibilities of mobility. Reading and visual material will be provided upfront to enhance the discussion about administrative terminologies that have highly political and often discriminatory implications. The personal experience of the organizers and participants as well as the artistic and theoretical input by the invited guests will be the starting point. Together, the group will try to create new multilingual lexicons (visual, written and bodily), and reflect critically on the (im-)possibilities of translation.

2 pm–4.30 pm, Conference Room 2
Translating appropriation, assimilation, anthropophagy
With Mahmoud El Shaer (editor of 28 Magazine, Gaza Strip, Palestine) and his translator, Ibrahim Hannoon, moderated by Marianna Liosi and Walter Solon

Is there an omnipresent Empire (as French collective Tiqqun suggest in This is Not a Program) always oppressing the same victims, with the same forms? Strategies of anticolonial struggle might parallel, echo and reinvent those of colonial domination. Words like “occupation” and “settlements”, usually associated with colonial practices, resurface in the context of Brazil's anticolonial Landless Workers Movement, who “occupy” and build “settlements” on large farming properties. In the internet, contemporary artists and activists are trying to create spaces of resistence using the very tools and aesthetics provided by the corporations forming the digital Empire. This workshop considers the work of translating languages, strategies, and aesthetics of resistance across different cultural and political contexts and discusses possible translational approaches in the realms of art, anthropology and activisms.

2 pm–4.30 pm, Conference Room 3
Staying with the “translation trouble" of Sex and Gender
Moderated by Kamran Behrouz

“Sex” and “gender” are key terms in trans-Atlantic feminist theory and untranslatability studies. When Judith Butler’s Gender Trouble (1990) was translated into other languages, many different translations and neologisms appeared. In Farsi for instance there are insufficient words to address sex, gender, sexuality as well as transgender people. Transsexuality in Iran has not been shaped by similar conceptual distinctions among gender, sex, and sexuality as within the Anglo-American context. As Brad Epps has noted, "Gender trouble, in a global frame, needs to be at once supplemented (in the deconstructive sense) and recast as ‘translation trouble’ or, better yet, ‘language trouble."
Drawing on these arguments, the workshop will deal not only with the untranslatability of the words sex and gender but also reflect on the historical dimension of this “language trouble”. The attempt is to challenge existing methodologies, to re-translate terms or even come up with new terminologies as a solution to avoid ‘cultural discombobulation’.

5 pm–6.30 pm, Rooftop (or Lecture Hall in case of rain)
Roundup Discussion with all participants

Di, 18. Juni 2019

#1 Translating: Workshops

Ansicht der Ausstellung

Ansicht der Ausstellung "Disappearances Appearances Publishing" im Kampnagel Hamburg, 2017 | © Fehras Publishing Practices

Die New Alphabet School ist eine Schule für künstlerische, kuratorische, poetische und aktivistische Forschungs- und Recherchepraktiken. Im Januar 2019 eröffnete sie mit einem (Un-)Learning Place mit 80 internationalen Teilnehmer*innen; nun setzt sie ihr Programm mit einer Veranstaltungsreihe für selbstorganisiertes Lernen, gemeinsames Arbeiten und Gespräche fort. Für die Ausgabe #1 zum Thema Übersetzen organisieren Teilnehmer*innen der New Alphabet School Workshops. Neue Mitwirkende sind eingeladen, sich anzumelden und Teil der Schule zu werden!

Tag 1 | Tag 2

10–12.30h, Vortragssaal
Cultural Translation / Translation and Technology
Mit Lydia H. Liu (Literaturwissenschatflerin), moderiert von Sima Reinisch und Tomás Cohen

Der Workshop setzt die Lektüre des fünften Kapitels The Freudian Robot von Lydia H. Lius Buch The Freudian Robot – Digital Media and the Future of the Unconscious (2010) voraus. Nach einer kurzen Einführung durch Lydia H. Liu diskutiert die Gruppe die Unterschiede zwischen Alphabetschriften und chinesischen Schriftzeichen, das Verhältnis der Entwicklung von KI, Automatisierung und Sprache sowie die Frage der Übersetzung zwischen Menschen und Technologien in einer komplex verwobenen techno-linguistischen alphanumerischen Sphäre. Ist künstliche Intelligenz menschlich? Oder ist nicht vielmehr – nach Freud – der Mensch die eigentlichen Maschine geworden?

10–12.30h, Konferenzraum 2
An Architectural reading of Glissant’s Poetics of Relations
Mit Nelly Y. Pinkrah (Medienwissenschatflerin), moderiert von Ahmad Borham und Mathias Zausinger

Der Workshop unternimmt den Versuch, Édouard Glissants Poetics of Relation architektonisch zu lesen. Muss Architektur transparent und universell sein, um global zu sein? Oder gibt es lokale, spezifische oder gar opake globale Architekturen? In dem Kapitel For Opacity in seinem Buch The Poetics of Relation argumentiert Glissant, dass Opazitäten koexistieren, sich einander annähern können und sich auf diese Weise zu Geweben verflechten. Um diese Gewebe zu verstehen, muss man sich mehr auf die Textur als auf das Wesen ihrer einzelnen Bestandteile konzentrieren, was darauf hindeutet, dass diese Gewebe ein kollektives Konstrukt sind. Wie können wir aus dieser Perspektive spontan entstandene Siedlungen auf der ganzen Welt betrachten? Kann das Recht auf Opazität in der Architektur bedeuten, dass man lokal oder gar kulturell spezifisch ist? Und können die Zugänge, Elemente, Pfade und Wiederholungen in Glissants Schriften als architektonische Elemente gelesen werden? Der Workshop untersucht zeitgenössische Architektur in der Wechselbewegung zwischen Transparenz und Opazität.

10–12.30h, Konferenzraum 3
Socio-political Representation and Ethics of Translation
Mit Nadiye Ünsal (Soziologin), moderiert von Nahed Mansour und Julia Ayerbe

Der Workshop lädt die Teilnehmer*innen zu einer kritischen Lektüre von Übersetzungen ein: auf körperlicher und linguistischer Ebene, im Kontext von Migration, Diaspora und anderen Erfahrungen/Möglichkeiten von Mobilität. Entsprechendes Text- und Bildmaterial wird im Vorhinein zur Verfügung gestellt. Das Ziel ist eine vertiefte Diskussion über administrative Terminologien mit ihren hoch politischen und oftmals diskriminierenden Konsequenzen. Ausgangspunkt sind neben den persönlichen Erfahrungen der Organisator*innen und der Teilnehmer*innen die künstlerischen und theoretischen Impulse der eingeladenen Gäste. Gemeinsam erarbeitet die Gruppeneue mehrsprachige (visuelle, schriftliche und körperliche) Lexika und reflektiert die (Un-)Möglichkeiten der Übersetzung kritisch.

14–16.30h, Konferenzraum 2
Translating appropriation, assimilation, anthropophagy
Mit Mahmoud El Shaer (Redakteur von 28 Magazine, Gaza) und seinem Übersetzer Ibrahim Hannoon, moderiert von Marianna Liosi und Walter Solon

Gibt es ein allgegenwärtiges Imperium (wie es das französische Kollektiv Tiqqun in seiner Schrift Ceci n’est pas un programme behauptet), das immer die gleichen Opfer auf immer gleiche Weise unterdrückt? Strategien des antikolonialen Kampfes können möglicherweise Strategien der kolonialen Herrschaft ähneln, sie widerspiegeln und umdeuten. Wörter wie „Besatzung“ und „Siedlung“, die gewöhnlich mit kolonialen Praktiken verbunden werden, tauchen im Kontext des antikolonialen Kampfes der Bewegung der Landlosen in Brasilien erneut auf, wenn diese Land von Großgrundbesitzern „besetzen“ und dort „Siedlungen“ errichten. Auf ähnliche Weise versuchen zeitgenössische Künstler*innen und Aktivist*innen im Internet Räume des Widerstands zu organisieren, greifen dazu aber auf genau jene Werkzeuge und Ästhetiken zurück, die von den Konzernen des digitalen Imperiums für die Nutzer*innen entwickelt worden sind. Dieser Workshop thematisiert die Arbeit des Übersetzens von Sprachen, Strategien und Ästhetiken des Widerstands in unterschiedliche kulturelle und politische Kontexte und stellt mögliche übersetzerische Zugänge in Kunst, Anthropologie und Aktivismus zur Diskussion.

14–16.30h, Konferenzraum 3
Staying with the “translation trouble" of Sex and Gender
Moderiert von Kamran Behrouz

„Sex“ und „Gender“ sind Schlüsselbegriffe der transatlantischen feministischen Theorie und der Studien zur Unübersetzbarkeit. Als Judith Butlers 1990 erschienenes Buch Gender Trouble in andere Sprachen übersetzt wurde, tauchten viele unterschiedliche Übersetzungen und Neologismen auf. In Farsi gibt es beispielsweise keine oder nur unzureichende Wörter, um Sex, Gender, Sexualität oder auch transgeschlechtliche Personen zu thematisieren. Transsexualität im Iran ist nicht von den gleichen begrifflichen Unterscheidungen zwischen Gender, Sex und Sexualität geprägt worden wie im anglo-amerikanischen Kontext. Wie Brad Epps es formuliert hat: „Das Unbehagen der Geschlechter [gender trouble] muss in globale Perspektive zugleich als ‚Unbehagen der Übersetzung’ [‚translation trouble‘], oder besser noch als ‚Unbehagen der Sprache’ [‚language trouble‘] supplementiert (im dekonstruktiven Sinne des Wortes) und neugefasst werden.“ Mit Bezug auf diese Argumente beschäftigt sich der Workshop nicht nur mit der Unübersetzbarkeit der Worte Sex und Gender, sondern reflektiert auch die historische Dimension dieses „Unbehagens der Sprache“. Das Ziel ist, bestehende Methodologien infrage zu stellen, Begriffe neu zu übersetzen und vielleicht sogar neue

17–18.30h, Auf der Dachterrasse (bei Regen im Vortragssaal)
Abschlussdiskussion mit allen Teilnehmer*innen