Dictionary of Now


2015–2018

Nikolaus Gansterer, Theory Casing IV (of the Middle of the Moment), 2013 | wooden sticks, sticking tape, polystyrene balls, ca. 130 x 80 x 80 cm | Courtesy the Artist

Nikolaus Gansterer, Theory Casing IV (of the Middle of the Moment), 2013 | wooden sticks, sticking tape, polystyrene balls, ca. 130 x 80 x 80 cm | Courtesy the Artist

Animal – BodyFearForum – Image – Justice – LanguageMarketThingTimeTruthViolence

The changes and disruptions of the past hundred years have shaped our conception of reality, our thought, and our language. The Dictionary of Now series reflects on the capacity of language to both depict and create reality. Since the modern age this has gone hand in hand with the search for universal truths and codified usages. The Dictionary of Now confronts this assertion of linguistic universalism with specific contemporary positions.

Over the course of 2018, the last three issues of the series will be devoted to the shifts and spectrums of meanings, possible interpretations and subtexts of the terms Image, Justice and Animal. How does cultural knowledge reproduce itself in images and what and how do these processes change in virtual spheres? What are the limits of justice, where do they lie and how are they negotiated today? What significance does the animal hold for humankind’s understanding of itself? These and other questions will be dealt with by W. J. T. Mitchell, John Tresch, Hito Steyerl, Nikita Dhawan, Christoph Möllers, Anne Peters, Philippe Descola and others.

Since 2015, renowned representatives from academia, politics and the arts have been questioning and updating the established meanings of selected words: Jonas Mekas devised a perspective of Time; Dipesh Chakrabarty and Eyal Weizman debated the meaning of the political along the term Forum; Wole Soyinka and Manthia Diawara examined concepts of Truth; Sharon Macdonald, Tony Bennett and Arjun Appadurai scrutinized the Thing in the museum, Kader Attia and Françoise Vergès developed a filmic and theoretical narrative on the Body; Taiye Selasi, David Goldberg and Achille Mbembe studied the normalization of racist Violence; Joseph Vogel, Allen Feldman and Sinaan Antoon discussed the interconnections of Fear, terror and trauma; Herta Müller and Marcel Beyer explored the facets of Language; Karin Knorr-Cetina, Philip Mirowski and Nick Srnicek on the topic Market in December 2017.

A publication to be released in 2019 will bring together the key words and participants from the individual editions, establishing connections and allowing new, dynamic constellations of knowledge production to emerge.

Dictionary of Now takes place as part of 100 Years of Now.

Series of events and publication

Do 14.06. – Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

Wörterbuch der Gegenwart


2015–2018

Nikolaus Gansterer, Theoriegehäuse IV (in Mitten des Moments), 2013 | Wooden sticks, sticking tape, polystyrene balls, ca. 130 x 80 x 80 cm | Courtesy the Artist

Nikolaus Gansterer, Theoriegehäuse IV (in Mitten des Moments), 2013 | Wooden sticks, sticking tape, polystyrene balls, ca. 130 x 80 x 80 cm | Courtesy the Artist

AngstBildDingForumGerechtigkeitGewaltKörperMarktSpracheTierWahrheitZeit

Die Veränderungen und Brüche der letzten hundert Jahre prägen heutige Vorstellungen von Wirklichkeit, das Denken und die Sprache. Die Reihe Wörterbuch der Gegenwart reflektiert die Eigenschaft der Wörter, die Welt nicht nur abzubilden, sondern sie zu formen. Seit der Moderne geht das einher mit der Suche nach universellen Wahrheiten und sprachlichen Festschreibungen. Das Wörterbuch der Gegenwart setzt diesem sprachlichen Universalismus-Anspruch spezifische Positionen der Gegenwart entgegen.

Im Laufe des Jahres 2018 widmen sich die drei letzten Ausgaben der Reihe den Bedeutungsverschiebungen und –spektren, möglichen Lesarten und Subtexten der Begriffe Bild, Gerechtigkeit und Tier. Wie reproduziert sich kulturelles Wissen in Bildern und wodurch wird es geprägt? Was sind die Grenzen von Gerechtigkeit, wo verlaufen sie und wie werden sie heute verhandelt? Welche Bedeutung hat das Tier für das Selbstverständnis des Menschen? Mit diesen und anderen Fragen beschäftigen sich W. J. T. Mitchell, John Tresch, Hito Steyerl, Nikita Dhawan, Christoph Möllers, Anne Peters, Philippe Descola u. a.

Seit 2015 hinterfragen namhafte Vertreter*innen aus den Wissenschaften, der Politik und den Künsten etablierte Bedeutungen ausgewählter Begriffe und nehmen Aktualisierungen derselben vor: Jonas Mekas entwarf eine Perspektive auf das Thema Zeit; Dipesh Chakrabarty und Eyal Weizman erörterten die Bedeutung des Politischen anhand des Begriffs Forum; Wole Soyinka und Manthia Diawara widmeten sich Konzepten von Wahrheit; Sharon Macdonald, Tony Bennett und Arjun Appadurai nahmen das museale Ding in den Blick; Kader Attia und Françoise Vergès entwickelten eine filmisch und theoretische Erzählung zum Begriff Körper; Taiye Selasi, David Goldberg und Achille Mbembe untersuchten die Normalisierung rassistischer Gewalt; Joseph Vogel, Allen Feldman und Sinaan Antoon diskutierten über die Verflechtungen von Angst, Terror und Trauma; Herta Müller und Marcel Beyer erläuterten die Facetten der Sprache; Karin Knorr-Cetina, Philip Mirowski und Nick Srnicek zum Thema Markt im Dezember 2017.

Eine 2019 erscheinende Publikation führt die Stichworte und Personen der einzelnen Ausgaben zusammen, stellt Verknüpfungen her und lässt neue, dynamische Konstellationen der Wissensproduktion entstehen.

Wörterbuch der Gegenwart findet im Rahmen von 100 Jahre Gegenwart statt.

Veranstaltungsreihe und Publikation