Sat, Oct 20: Traffic obstructions around HKW. More…

2018, Thu, Apr 19

Nikita Dhawan, Christoph Möllers & Sarah Sharma – JUSTICE

Revital Cohen & Tuur van Balen, 75 Watt, 2013, C-type print, 100 x 66 cm

Revital Cohen & Tuur van Balen, 75 Watt, 2013, C-type print, 100 x 66 cm

The concept of justice appears to have forfeited its position as a normative guiding principle in political discourse. At the same time, hardly any new concepts have taken its place. What are the limits and boundaries of justice, where are they located, and how are they negotiated today? How is the concept of justice changing in times of growing global inequalities? And how universal must concepts of justice be conceived?

Nikita Dhawan, Christoph Möllers, and Sarah Sharma discuss the history of the Enlightenment’s ideals of justice and law against the background of today’s increasing societal asymmetries and ask for concepts of justice within contemporary capitalist technoculture.

The political scientist Nikita Dhawan raises questions concerning a global civil society and a transnational concept of justice. In her lecture she illuminates the history of the Enlightenment with respect to its social necessity today. The legal scholar Christoph Möllers reflects justice as a normative concept. He questions how the feeling of injustice is echoed in contemporary law. The media theorist Sarah Sharma examines the social and technological parameters of contemporary injustice. In her lecture, she considers how the social experience of injustice is deeply intertwined with the technological, thus making it difficult to entertain the ideals of western liberal democracy.

Do, 19. April 2018

Nikita Dhawan, Christoph Möllers & Sarah Sharma – GERECHTIGKEIT

Revital Cohen & Tuur van Balen, 75 Watt, 2013, C-type print, 100 x 66 cm

Revital Cohen & Tuur van Balen, 75 Watt, 2013, C-type print, 100 x 66 cm

Der Gerechtigkeitsbegriff scheint seine Stellung als normativer Leitgedanke im politischen Diskurs eingebüßt zu haben. Gleichzeitig sind kaum neue Konzepte an seine Stelle getreten. Was sind die Grenzen von Gerechtigkeit, wo verlaufen sie und wie werden sie heute verhandelt? Wie verändert sich der Gerechtigkeitsbegriff in Zeiten wachsender globaler Ungleichheiten? Und wie universell müssen Gerechtigkeitskonzepte gedacht werden?

Nikita Dhawan, Christoph Möllers und Sarah Sharma diskutieren die Geschichte der aufklärerischen Ideale von Gerechtigkeit und Recht vor dem Hintergrund zunehmender gesellschaftlicher Asymmetrien der Gegenwart und stellen die Frage nach Gerechtigkeitskonzepten in kapitalistischen Technokulturen.

Die Politikwissenschaftlerin Nikita Dhawan wirft Fragen nach einer globalen Zivilgesellschaft und nach einem transnationalen Gerechtigkeitsbegriff auf. In ihrem Vortrag beleuchtet sie die Geschichte der Aufklärung im Hinblick auf ihre gesellschaftliche Notwendigkeit heute. Der Rechtswissenschaftler Christoph Möllers betrachtet Gerechtigkeit als ein normatives Konzept. Er hinterfragt, wie sich das Gefühl von Unrecht im gegenwärtigen Recht widerspiegelt. Die Medientheoretikerin Sarah Sharma untersucht die sozialen und technologischen Parameter heutiger Ungerechtigkeit. In ihrem Vortrag hebt sie hervor, dass soziale Erfahrung von Ungerechtigkeit zeitlich bedingt und angesichts liberaler politischer Vorgaben oft verschleiert ist.