2017, Mon, Jun 12

Joseph Vogl, Allen Feldman and Sinan Antoon – FEAR

Gerhard Richter, Beerdigung, 1988, 200 cm × 320 cm, Oil on canvas, Catalog of works: 673, © Gerhard Richter 2017 (0085)

Gerhard Richter, Beerdigung, 1988, 200 cm × 320 cm, Oil on canvas, Catalog of works: 673, © Gerhard Richter 2017 (0085)

Fears are indicators of how one relates to the world. In contemporary societies these fears are often exploited consciously as part of political strategies to justify a state of emergency. Which cognitive patterns do politics of fear use to manipulate discourses, images, and concepts? Joseph Vogl, Allen Feldman, and Sinan Antoon discuss the global interconnections of fear, terror, and trauma.

Fears of losing control, of the incomprehensible and the irrational, are emerging parallel to the development of the modern individual. How do subjective and collective fears shift the relationship between threat, security, and freedom?

The literary and cultural scholar Joseph Vogl undertakes an analysis of the origins of modern economies of fear from the perspective of a history of ideas, examining how the formation of the modern subject is related to contemporary practices of governance. The anthropologist Allen Feldman has developed a visual ethnography of violence which shows how controlling people’s seeing can become a weapon and how the (de)visualization of violence and terror can generate a constant and latent state of fear. The author, poet, and scholar Sinan Antoon describes how Arabic language, and by extension, a monolithic culture, are demarcated as zones and sources of danger and markers of violence in the post 9/11 world.

Mo, 12. Juni 2017

Joseph Vogl, Allen Feldman und Sinan Antoon – ANGST

Gerhard Richter, Beerdigung, 1988, 200 cm × 320 cm, Öl auf Leinwand, Werkverzeichnis: 673, © Gerhard Richter 2017 (0085)

Gerhard Richter, Beerdigung, 1988, 200 cm × 320 cm, Öl auf Leinwand, Werkverzeichnis: 673, © Gerhard Richter 2017 (0085)

Ängste sind Indikatoren für bestimmte Verhältnisse zur Welt. In gegenwärtigen Gesellschaften dient Angstproduktion oft als politische Strategie, um Ausnahmezustände zu normalisieren. Welche kognitiven Schemata nutzt eine Angstpolitik zur Manipulation von Diskursen, Bildern und Begriffen? Joseph Vogl, Allen Feldman und Sinan Antoon sprechen über die globalen Verflechtungen von Angst, Terror und Trauma.

Ängste vor Kontrollverlust, vor dem Unbegreiflichen und dem Irrationalen entwickelten sich parallel zu der Herausbildung des modernen Individuums. Wie verschieben solche subjektiven und kollektiven Ängste das Verhältnis von Bedrohung, Sicherheit und Freiheit?

Der Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaftler Joseph Vogl unternimmt eine ideengeschichtliche Analyse der Ursprünge moderner Angstökonomien. Dabei untersucht er, wie die Bedingungen moderner Subjektkonstitution mit heutigen Herrschaftspraktiken zusammenhängen. Der Anthropologe Allen Feldman entwickelt eine visuelle Ethnografie der Gewalt. Er zeigt, wie die Kontrolle des Sehens zu einer Waffe werden kann und wie die (Un-)Sichtbarmachung von Gewalt- und Terror einen konstanten wie latenten Angstzustand hervorruft. Der Autor, der Dichter und Theoretiker Sinan Antoon beschreibt, wie die arabische Sprache und darüber hinaus eine ganze Kultur seit den Anschlägen von 9/11 als Quelle von Gefahr und Zeichen für Gewalt definiert werden.