2016, Mon, Apr 11

Dipesh Chakrabarty & Eyal Weizman – FORUM

Dipesh Chakrabarty | Photo: Joachim Loch

Dipesh Chakrabarty | Photo: Joachim Loch

Within what forums can the political evolve today? In the face of post-democratic mechanisms of globalization, the crisis of the national state and increasing restrictions on human rights and civil liberties, there have been shifts in the places and practices of social negotiation.

There is an ever-growing distance between the spaces of global politics and the networks of local political initiatives. Departing from the idea of the Greek polis and Hannah Arendt's concept of political acting as free, public negotiation, the historian Dipesh Chakrabarty and the architect Eyal Weizman explore the term forum.

Eyal Weizman, 2015 | Photo: Michael Leckie

Eyal Weizman, 2015 | Photo: Michael Leckie

Eyal Weizman is an architect, Professor of Visual Cultures and director of the Centre for Research Architecture at Goldsmiths, University of London. Since 2011 he also directs the research agency Forensic Architecture. Since 2007 he is a founding member of the architectural collective DAAR (Decolonizing Architecture Art Residency) in Beit Sahour/Palestine. He has worked with a variety of NGOs worldwide and was on the board of directors of the Israeli human rights organization B’Tselem. Currently he is on the boards of the Institute of Contemporary Arts (ICA), and the Centre for Investigative Journalism in London amongst others.

Mo, 11. April 2016

Dipesh Chakrabarty & Eyal Weizman – FORUM

Dipesh Chakrabarty | Foto: Joachim Loch

Dipesh Chakrabarty | Foto: Joachim Loch

Welches sind die Foren, in denen sich das Politische heute entfalten kann? Angesichts postdemokratischer Globalisierungsmechanismen, der Krise des Nationalstaates und einer zunehmenden Einschränkung von Menschen- und Bürgerrechten haben sich die Orte und Praktiken gesellschaftlicher Aushandlung verlagert.

Die Distanz zwischen den Räumen globaler Politiken und den Netzwerken lokaler politischer Initiativen wächst stetig. Ausgehend vom Konzept der griechischen Polis und Hannah Arendts Gedanken über das Politische als ein freies Handeln in der Öffentlichkeit nähern sich der Historiker Dipesh Chakrabarty und der Architekt Eyal Weizman dem Begriff des Forums.

Eyal Weizman, 2015 | Foto: Michael Leckie

Eyal Weizman, 2015 | Foto: Michael Leckie

Eyal Weizman ist Architekt, Professor of Visual Cultures und Direktor des Centre for Research Architecture am Goldsmiths, University of London. Seit 2011 leitet er außerdem das Projekt Forensic Architecture zur Funktion und Bedeutung der Architektur für das humanitäre Völkerrecht. Seit 2007 ist er Gründungsmitglied des Architekturkollektivs DAAR (Decolonizing Architecture Art Residency) in Bait Sahur, Palästina. Er arbeitet mit unterschiedlichen NGOs in aller Welt zusammen und gehörte dem Vorstand der israelischen Menschenrechtsorganisation B'Tselem an. Zurzeit sitzt er außerdem in den Beiräten des Institute of Contemporary Arts (ICA), des Centre for Investigative Journalism in London sowie weiterer wissenschaftlicher und kultureller Einrichtungen.