2021, Thu, Dec 092021, Sat, Dec 11

#CommunityBuilding: Workshops

Photo: Juan Pablo Estrada, 2013

Photo: Juan Pablo Estrada, 2013

Workshops | Lectures

Thursday, Dec 9–Saturday, Dec 11

6–8 pm CEST (Berlin)
Online workshop, with registration
In English
Deconstructing a Community’s Visual Archive
With José Luis Aparicio Ferrera and Fernando Fraguela Fosado

Old photographs, documentary reels, newspapers and textbooks are probably the most established and ostensibly faithful resources to construct a collective memory. Nonetheless, political institutions in power can manipulate historical narratives of specific communities in order to control them. What artistic strategies can be articulated to deconstruct a community’s visual archive? In this film workshop, participants will assemble short non-fiction pieces about conflicted or significant periods, characters or events of their community, taking into consideration not only the collective, but their personal images and documents. We believe this collision between the public and the private will make for a more human and personalized account of history. The workshop includes theoretical thinking, film analysis and a practical/production component where the conveners would support the alumni in the creation of their films. The workshop is specifically addressed to people from countries or communities that have endured totalitarian, authoritarian or other repressive regimes, where control, manipulation and destruction of the historical archive is particularly common. The participants should have previous knowledge about filmmaking processes and have in their possession a personal, inherited or acquired visual archive to work with during the classes.

Saturday, Dec 11

12 noon–3 pm CEST (Berlin)
Online workshop, with registration
In English
Community under Pressure
With Frency Fernández Rosales, Christine de la Garenne and Julia Lazarus

Why is community building important? What possibilities exist to get involved in communal projects or network in one’s immediate environment? Following up on the harassment and arrests of Cuban artists, intellectuals and citizens, the curator Frency Fernández Rosales and the Berlin-based artists Christine de la Garenne and Julia Lazarus invite the participants to share their personal experiences with oppression and resistance by presenting videos, photographs or short stories that evoke memories of solidarity. Participants will share ideas and knowledge on how to go beyond divisions and have more affective relationships among different communities in order to learn and move forward in their community building endeavors.

4–7 pm CEST (Berlin)
Online workshop, with registration
In Spanish
Image and Possibility
With Juliana Rabelo, Amaury Pacheco del Monte and Tania Bruguera

How can one use the impact of poetry in everyday life or in conflict situations to find common ground? The workshop will move from a reality of positivities to one of possibilities. The resource to find communicating vessels, common and shared territories or to relativize rigidities will be the poetic imagination, which always extends beyond the text and allows one to assemble their reality and transform it. Through myths, dreams, fantasies, poetic traces, images and sayings, the participants will discover the impact of poetry in their lives and will learn to embody it consciously. These resources will in turn lend them strength to make their acts meaningful and sobering. A conversation in a Telegram group will be established a week before the workshop.

4–7.30 pm CEST (Berlin) / 9 am–12.30 pm CST (Mexico City)
Workshop at HKW (Vortragssaal) and at Goethe Institut Mexico City, with registration
In English and Spanish
Manuals for Dreaming and Inhabiting Ourselves
With Laura Fiorio and Tobias Morawski at HKW and with Argelia Leodegario Calderón, Ruth Gonzalez Renovato and Marco A. Rodríguez at Goethe Institut Mexico

Inhabiting can be understood as a practice of appropriation and resignification of space, body and collectivity. Starting with texts on gender and affective, social and literary dissidence, the workshop aims to challenge collective graphic narratives. Through drawing and writing exercises, the time spent together becomes a way to create an ephemeral and transitory community to share strategies of re-appropriating bodies and spaces by re-inhabiting them. The joined reading process aims at opening a dialogue from a perspective of sensibility, intelligence, and desire. The participants will generate collective visual narratives that will be recorded, duplicated and disseminated later in the form of posters, contaminating the different decentralized spaces that the participants re-inhabit with their bodies. Theoretical texts will be provided upfront for participants to read.

Do., 09. Dezember 2021Sa., 11. Dezember 2021

#CommunityBuilding: Workshops

Foto: Juan Pablo Estrada, 2013

Foto: Juan Pablo Estrada, 2013

Workshops | Vorträge

Donnerstag, 9. Dezember – Samstag, 11. Dezember

16–19h MESZ (Berlin)
Online-Workshop, mit Anmeldung
Auf Englisch
Deconstructing a Community’s Visual Archive
Mit José Luis Aparicio Ferrera und Fernando Fraguela Fosado

Alte Fotografien, Dokumentarfilme, Zeitungen und Schulbücher gelten als etablierte und zuverlässige Bausteine des kollektiven Gedächtnisses. Gleichzeitig sind machthabende politische Institutionen in der Lage, die historischen Narrative einzelner Gruppen gezielt zu manipulieren und zu steuern. Welchen künstlerischen Strategien eignen sich, um die visuellen Archive spezifischer Communities zu dekonstruieren? Im Rahmen des Filmworkshops entwickeln die Teilnehmenden kurze nicht-fiktionale Filme zu besonders konfliktreichen oder bedeutenden Zeiten, Persönlichkeiten oder Ereignissen ihrer Gemeinschaften. Dabei wird es nicht nur um kollektive, sondern auch um private Bilder und Dokumente gehen – die Verbindung des Öffentlichen und des Privaten steht für uns für eine menschlichere und persönlichere Geschichtsschreibung. Der Workshop umfasst theoretische Aspekte, Filmanalysen und praktische bzw. Produktionselemente. Die Teilnehmenden werden bei der Erarbeitung ihrer Filme von den Workshopleitern unterstützt. Der Workshop richtet sich dabei ausdrücklich an Personen und Gruppen aus Ländern, wo totalitäre, autoritäre oder andere repressive Systeme herrschen und es besonders häufig zu Kontrolle, Manipulation und Zerstörung von historischen Archiven kommt. Die Teilnehmenden sollten Erfahrung im Filmemachen mitbringen und für die Arbeit ein persönliches, übernommenes oder zusammengestelltes visuelles Archiv zur Verfügung haben.

Samstag, 11. Dezember

12–15h MESZ (Berlin)
Online-Workshop, mit Anmeldung
Auf Englisch
Community under Pressure
mit Frency Fernández Rosales, Christine de la Garenne und Julia Lazarus

Warum ist es wichtig, Gemeinschaften zu bilden? Welche Möglichkeiten gibt es, sich in kommunalen Projekten zu engagieren oder im unmittelbaren Umfeld zu vernetzen? Als Reaktion auf die Bedrohung und Verhaftung von kubanischen Künstler*innen, Intellektuellen und Bürger*innen laden der Kurator Frency Fernández Rosales und die in Berlin lebenden Künstler*innen Christine de la Garenne und Julia Lazarus die Teilnehmenden des Workshops ein, ihre individuellen Erfahrungen mit Unterdrückung und Widerstand zu erzählen. Mit Videos, Fotografien oder kurzen Erzählungen soll solidarisches Handeln diskutiert und ein Austausch zu Ideen und Möglichkeiten entstehen. Wie lässt sich Spaltung verhindern und wie können verbindlichere Beziehungen zwischen unterschiedlichen Gruppen entstehen? Es wird dabei zentral um den Versuch gehen, den Aufbau von Gemeinschaften weiterzuentwickeln.

16–19h MESZ (Berlin)
Online-Workshop, mit Anmeldung
Auf Spanisch
Image and Possibility
Mit Juliana Rabelo, Amaury Pacheco del Monte und Tania Bruguera

Können im Alltag oder in Konfliktsituationen Annäherungen kraft der Poesie stattfinden? Der Workshop bewegt sich von der Realität der Positivität hin zu einer der Possibilität, dem Möglichen. Die Vorstellungskraft des Poetischen ist dabei der Ausgangspunkt, um geteilte Erfahrungen zu vermitteln oder verhärtete Fronten aufzubrechen. Sie verlässt den Text und macht die Transformation von Wirklichkeiten möglich. Mythen, Träume, Fantasien, dichterische Spuren, Bilder und Sprichwörter sensibilisieren die Teilnehmenden für das Poetische ihrer eigenen Leben und für die bewusste Orientierung darin. Auf dieser Grundlage kann das eigene Handeln an Stärke und Klarheit gewinnen. Eine Woche vor dem Workshop wird über eine Telegram Gruppe ein Gespräch begonnen.

16–19.30h MESZ (Berlin) / 9–12.30h CST (Mexiko Stadt)
Workshop im HKW (Vortragssaal) und im Goethe-Institut Mexiko, mit Anmeldung
Auf Englisch und Spanisch
Manuals for Dreaming and Inhabiting Ourselves
Mit Laura Fiorio und Tobias Morawski im HKW und mit Argelia Leodegario Calderón, Ruth Gonzalez Renovato und Marco A. Rodríguez im Goethe-Institut Mexiko

Etwas zu bewohnen beschreibt in der Praxis ein sich Aneignen und ein Neuentwerfen von Raum, Körper und Gemeinschaft. In diesem Zusammenhang werden im Workshop Fragen von Gender-, affektiver, sozialer und literarischer Dissidenz den Ausgangspunkt bilden. Im Zentrum steht das Hinterfragen kollektiver visueller Narrative. Durch gemeinsame Zeichen- und Schreibübungen wird der Versuch unternommen, situative Gemeinschaften zu schaffen. In Form von praktischen Erfahrungen erkunden die Teilnehmer*innen dabei Strategien der Neuaneignung von Körper und Raum. Auf der Grundlage einer gemeinsamen Lektüre theoretischer Texte wird dabei wiederum Raum für Dialoge geschaffen, ausgehend von Einfühlungsvermögen, Intellekt und Begehren. In Form von Postern werden die visuellen Narrative der Teilnehmenden schließlich festgehalten, vervielfältigt und verbreitet. Sie sollen dann die dezentralisierten Räume kontaminieren, entdeckt und neu bewohnt von den Teilnehmer*innen und ihren Körpern. Vorab werden den Teilnehmr*innen Texte für die Lektüre zur Verfügung gestellt.

Workshops | Vorträge