Das Neue Alphabet – Publication series


2021/2022

Das Neue Alphabet | Publication series | Photo: Markus Dreßen

Das Neue Alphabet | Publication series | Photo: Markus Dreßen

Das Neue Alphabet | Publication series | Photo: Markus Dreßen

Das Neue Alphabet | Publication series | Photo: Markus Dreßen

Das Neue Alphabet | Publication series | Photo: Markus Dreßen

Das Neue Alphabet | Publication series | Photo: Markus Dreßen

Alphabets, binary code, DNA—the current explosion of knowledge relies on the world being dismembered and divided into the tiniest of units, making it amenable to computation and manipulation. Languages, codes, and other representational modes based on symbols are thus put in the service of political control, surveillance technologies, and economic exploitation. The series Das Neue Alphabet (The New Alphabet) with 25 volumes counters this process of functionalization with poetic discombobulations, sensuous recodings, and creolizations. The publications are organized around the formal principle of constellation: a range of different themes, modes of representation, artistic positions, and graphic elements are combined and recombined in multiple variations. The series sets out to formulate new semiotic worlds conducive to an alternative knowledge production. The topics range from Chinese pictograms to body language and music playlists.

The design by Olaf Nicolai adopts the logic of the alphabet. It repeatedly varies elements such as the title lettering, selected words, colors and the folds of the cover. These elements can be combined in different ways; they link the volumes with one another and open up a playing field for individual arrangements. The volumes, published in a German and an English edition by Spector Books in Leipzig.

Awarded the Stiftung Buchkunst Prize for the Most Beautiful German Books of 2021

Part of The New Alphabet

A publication series with 25 volumes

Edited by Detlef Diederichsen, Anselm Franke, Katrin Klingan, Daniel Neugebauer and Bernd Scherer
Spector Books, Leipzig

Since January 2021
Available at the webshop

Book Launch Oct 27, 2021

Stay up-to-date on the HKW program with our weekly newsletter.
Register here

Coming soon

Further volumes in the series

25 volumes of the book series The New Alphabet (Das Neue Alphabet) will be issued by the end of 2022. Upcoming volumes will explore, for example, archives and utopias, the readability of accidents and crises and how artificial intelligence composes music.

Das Neue Alphabet – Publikationsreihe


2021/2022

Das Neue Alphabet | Publikationsreihe | Foto: Markus Dreßen

Das Neue Alphabet | Publikationsreihe | Foto: Markus Dreßen

Das Neue Alphabet | Publikationsreihe | Foto: Markus Dreßen

Das Neue Alphabet | Publikationsreihe | Foto: Markus Dreßen

Das Neue Alphabet | Publikationsreihe | Foto: Markus Dreßen

Das Neue Alphabet | Publikationsreihe | Foto: Markus Dreßen

Alphabete, Binärcode, DNA – die gegenwärtige Wissensexplosion beruht auf der Zerlegung der Welt in allerkleinste Einheiten, sie wird berechenbar und manipulierbar. Sprachen, Codes und andere zeichenbasierte Repräsentationsformen stehen damit auch im Dienst von politischer Herrschaft, Kontrolltechnologien und ökonomischer Verwertung. Dieser Funktionalisierung setzt die Reihe Das Neue Alphabet in 25 Bänden poetische Irritationen, sinnliche Recodierungen und Kreolisierungen entgegen. Leitend ist dabei das formale Prinzip der Konstellation: Unterschiedlichste Themen, Darstellungsweisen, künstlerische Positionen und grafische Elemente werden immer wieder neu kombiniert. Ziel der Reihe ist es, neue Zeichenwelten für eine alternative Wissensproduktion zu formulieren. Die Themen reichen von der chinesischen Piktogrammschrift über die Sprache der Körper bis hin zu Playlists in der Musik.

Die Gestaltung durch Olaf Nicolai greift die Logik des Alphabets auf: Sie variiert Elemente wie den Titelschriftzug, ausgewählte Wörter, Farben und die Faltung des Umschlags immer wieder neu. Diese Elemente lassen sich unterschiedlich kombinieren, sie verknüpfen die Bände untereinander und eröffnen ein Spielfeld für eigene Konstellationen. Jeweils in einer deutschen und einer englischen Ausgabe erscheinen die Bände bei Spector Books in Leipzig.

Ausgezeichnet mit dem Preis der Stiftung Buchkunst für die Schönsten Deutschen Bücher 2021

Im Rahmen von Das Neue Alphabet

Eine Publikationsreihe des HKW in 25 Bänden

Herausgegeben von Detlef Diederichsen, Anselm Franke, Katrin Klingan, Daniel Neugebauer und Bernd Scherer
Spector Books, Leipzig

Seit Januar 2021
Im Webshop erhältlich

Book Launch 27.10.2021

Nichts mehr verpassen! Mit dem wöchentlichen HKW-Newsletter sind Sie immer auf dem Laufenden.
Zur Anmeldung

Demnächst

Weitere Bände der Reihe

Bis Ende 2022 erscheinen insgesamt 25 Bände der Publikationsreihe Das Neue Alphabet. In den folgenden Bänden geht es u. a. um Archive und Utopien, die Lesbarkeit von Unfällen und Krisen und darum, wie künstliche Intelligenz Musik komponiert.