Sat, Oct 20: Traffic obstructions around HKW. More…

10. Internationaler Literaturpreis

Award for Translated Contemporary Literatures
Celebration of the Shortlist & Award Ceremony June 28, 2018

Illustration: Jan Buchczik

Illustration: Jan Buchczik

Award winners 2018

Author Ivana Sajko and translator Alida Bremer are the winners of the tenth Internationaler Literaturpreis for translated contemporary literatures for the novel Liebesroman in its first German translation. Ivana Sajko receives a prize of 20,000 €, Alida Bremer receives a prize of 15,000 €.

“Ivana Sajko’s Liebesroman tells of a world in agony, of how political systems encroach on lives, put people under pressure, and slowly poison the personal. The main characters are an unsuccessful young artist couple, a child, an apartment, a neighbor and a whole country out of joint. With a few well-aimed strokes, Ivana Sajko draws a thoroughly political tableau and brings the world into the chamber-play narrative space of her novel. What happens in Croatia could happen anywhere. Under the surface, this love story, which is also about falling out of love, is about the power and impotence of the individual in our globalized present. Ivana Sajko’s powerful words create an explosive brightness. Alida Bremer, the important mediator of Croatian literature in German, has found a captivating language for her.” – The Jury

Internationaler Literaturpreis: The Celebration

A text is a world. Two books are two worlds that can enter into conversation. Six texts and six translations multiply into a celebration. The celebratory evening on June 28 brings together books, makes and makers of literature. All the shortlisted authors and translators, the awardees as well as the jury will meet with the audience. They will read and comment on the shortlisted texts, disseminate materials, and initiate conversations about literary condensations in the here and now.

10. Internationaler Literaturpreis

Preis für übersetzte Gegenwartsliteraturen
Fest der Shortlist & Preisverleihung 28.06.2018

Illustration: Jan Buchczik

Illustration: Jan Buchczik

Preisträgerinnen 2018

Der Internationale Literaturpreis 2018 geht an die Autorin Ivana Sajko und die Übersetzerin Alida Bremer für das Buch Liebesroman und seine Übertragung aus dem Kroatischen. Ivana Sajko erhält ein Preisgeld von 20.000 €, Alida Bremer erhält 15.000 €.

„Ivana Sajkos Liebesroman spricht über eine Welt in Agonie, darüber, wie das politische System auf das Leben übergreift, es unter Druck setzt und das Private schleichend vergiftet. Hauptdarsteller sind ein junges erfolgloses Künstlerpaar, ein Kind, eine Wohnung, ein Nachbar und ein aus den Fugen geratenes Land. Mit wenigen, gezielten Strichen zeichnet Ivana Sajko ein durch und durch politisches Tableau und holt die Welt in den kammerspielartigen Erzählraum ihres Romans. Was sich in Kroatien abspielt, könnte überall geschehen. Unter der Oberfläche dieses Liebesromans, der auch ein Entliebungsroman ist, geht es um die Macht und Ohnmacht des Individuums in unserer globalisierten Gegenwart. Ivana Sajkos wuchtige Worte erzeugen explosive Helle. Alida Bremer, die wichtige Vermittlerin kroatischer Literatur ins Deutsche, hat für sie eine mitreißende Sprache gefunden.“ — Die Jury

10. Internationaler Literaturpreis: Das Fest

Ein Text ist eine Welt. Zwei Texte sind zwei Welten, die ins Gespräch kommen können. Sechs Texte und sechs Übersetzungen multiplizieren sich zum Fest. Der Festabend am 28. Juni versammelt Macharten und Macher*innen von Literatur. Die Autor*innen und Übersetzer*innen der Shortlist, die Juror*innen sowie die Preisträgerinnen kommen mit dem Publikum zusammen. Rund um die nominierten Texte lesen und kommentieren sie, breiten Materialien aus und nehmen Gespräche zu literarischen Verdichtungen im Hier und Jetzt auf.