Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

Liebesroman

Ivana Sajko | Alida Bremer

Internationaler Literaturpreis 2018

„WIR BRAUCHEN GAR NICHTS – MAN HAT UNS ALLES VERSPROCHEN! So steht es an der Toilettentür.“

Liebesroman

Liebesroman

Jury notes:

Ivana Sajko’s Liebesroman tells of a world in agony, of how political systems encroach on lives, put people under pressure, and slowly poison the personal. The main characters are an unsuccessful young artist couple, a child, an apartment, a neighbor and a whole country out of joint. With a few well-aimed strokes, Ivana Sajko draws a thoroughly political tableau and brings the world into the chamber-play narrative space of her novel. What happens in Croatia could happen anywhere. Under the surface, this love story, which is also about falling out of love, is about the power and impotence of the individual in our globalized present. Ivana Sajko’s powerful words create an explosive brightness. Alida Bremer, the important mediator of Croatian literature in German, has found a captivating language for her. – The Jury

Ivana Sajko | © Dirk Skiba

Ivana Sajko | © Dirk Skiba

Author: Ivana Sajko

Ivana Sajko, born 1975 in Zagreb, Croatia, is an author, playwright and theater director. She studied dramaturgy and philosophy in Zagreb. She has received numerous awards for her plays and prose (including Rio Bar, Trilogie des Ungehorsams, Auf dem Weg zum Wahnsinn und zur Revolution) including the Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et Lettres. Sajko is a co-founder of the theater group BAD co. and co-editor of the art magazine Frakcija. With her critical and political writing, she is regarded as a reviver of Southeast European theater and Croatian literature. She lives and works in Berlin.

Alida Bremer | © Carola Loeser

Alida Bremer | © Carola Loeser

Translator: Alida Bremer

Alida Bremer, born 1959 in Split, Croatia, studied the Romance, Slavic and German languages in Belgrade, Rome, Saarbrücken and Münster and holds a doctorate in Comparative Literature. She is one of the primary mediators of Croatian literature in German. As a translator, she is the German voice of authors such as Edo Popović, Ivana Sajko, Renato Baretić and Marko Pogačar. She has published many books and anthologies of Croatian authors and subject matter. Her novel Olivas Garten appeared in 2017.

Translator’s website: alida-bremer.de

Liebesroman

Ivana Sajko | Alida Bremer

Ausgezeichnet mit dem Internationalen Literaturpreis 2018

„WIR BRAUCHEN GAR NICHTS – MAN HAT UNS ALLES VERSPROCHEN! So steht es an der Toilettentür.“

Liebesroman

Liebesroman

Jurykommentar:

Ivana Sajkos Liebesroman spricht über eine Welt in Agonie, darüber, wie das politische System auf das Leben übergreift, es unter Druck setzt und das Private schleichend vergiftet. Hauptdarsteller sind ein junges erfolgloses Künstlerpaar, ein Kind, eine Wohnung, ein Nachbar und ein aus den Fugen geratenes Land. Mit wenigen, gezielten Strichen zeichnet Ivana Sajko ein durch und durch politisches Tableau und holt die Welt in den kammerspielartigen Erzählraum ihres Romans. Was sich in Kroatien abspielt, könnte überall geschehen. Unter der Oberfläche dieses Liebesromans, der auch ein Entliebungsroman ist, geht es um die Macht und Ohnmacht des Individuums in unserer globalisierten Gegenwart. Ivana Sajkos wuchtige Worte erzeugen explosive Helle. Alida Bremer, die wichtige Vermittlerin kroatischer Literatur ins Deutsche, hat für sie eine mitreißende Sprache gefunden. — Die Jury

Ivana Sajko | © Dirk Skiba

Ivana Sajko | © Dirk Skiba

Autorin: Ivana Sajko

Ivana Sajko, geboren 1975 in Zagreb (Kroatien), ist Autorin, Dramatikerin und Regisseurin. Sie studierte Dramaturgie und Philosophie in Zagreb. Für ihre Bühnenstücke und Prosatexte (u. a. Rio Bar, Trilogie des Ungehorsams, Auf dem Weg zum Wahnsinn und zur Revolution) erhielt sie zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, u.a. den Chevalier de l‘ordre des Arts et Lettres. Sajko ist Mitgründerin der Theatergruppe BAD co. und Mitherausgeberin der Kunstzeitschrift Frakcija. Mit ihrem kritischen und politischen Schreiben gilt sie als Erneuerin des südosteuropäischen Theaters und der kroatischen Literatur. Heute lebt und arbeitet sie in Berlin.

Alida Bremer | © Carola Loeser

Alida Bremer | © Carola Loeser

Übersetzerin: Alida Bremer

Alida Bremer, geboren 1959 in Split (Kroatien), studierte Romanistik, Slawistik und Germanistik in Belgrad, Rom, Saarbrücken und Münster und promovierte im Fach Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft. Sie ist eine der wichtigsten Vermittlerinnen kroatischer Literatur in Deutschland. Als Übersetzerin ist sie die deutsche Stimme u. a. von Edo Popović, Ivana Sajko, Renato Baretić und Marko Pogačar. Sie hat zahlreiche Bücher und Sammelbände zu kroatischen Autor*innen und Themen veröffentlicht, ihr Roman Olivas Garten erschien 2017.

Website der Übersetzerin: alida-bremer.de