2021, Thu, Jun 17

Schools and Self-Empowerment in the Climate Crisis

How can schools contribute to overcoming the climate crisis and creating sustainable societies? The online discussion explores the question of how schools can empower young people to become shapers of the future themselves.

Faced with ecological, economic and political challenges, schools must encourage young people to become shapers of the future themselves. In the Fridays for Future movement, this form of self-empowerment takes place outside the classroom, on the street. How can the knowledge gained this way transform the classroom? What changes do schools need in order to contribute to overcoming the climate crisis and creating sustainable societies? And what role do participation, digitalization, new partnerships and artistic perspectives play on the way there?

The discussion with contributors from climate activism, art education and schools kicks off the HKW project S.o.S – Schools of Sustainability. Can Schools Save the Climate?

Welcome: Eva Stein, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, and Corina Conrad-Beck, Senate Department for the Environment, Transport and Climate Protection, Berlin
Followed by a Q&A session

With Tatjana Beilenhoff-Nowicki (Senate Department for Education, Youth and Family, Berlin), Nora Oehmichen (teacher and climate activist), Quang Paasch (Fridays for Future Berlin), Maren Ziese (art educator, University of Duisburg-Essen), Moderator: Silke Ramelow (Bildungscent e.V.)

Funded by Senate Department for the Environment, Transport and Climate Protection, Berlin

Fr 24.–So 26.09.: Sperrungen und Verkehrseinschränkungen rund ums HKW. Mehr...

Do, 17. Juni 2021

Schule und Selbstermächtigung in der Klimakrise

Wie kann Schule zur Bewältigung der Klimakrise und zur Entstehung nachhaltiger Gesellschaften beitragen? Die Online-Diskussion kreist um die Frage, wie Schule junge Menschen darin bestärken kann, selbst zu Gestalter*innen der Zukunft zu werden.

Angesichts ökologischer, wirtschaftlicher und politischer Herausforderungen muss Schule junge Menschen darin bestärken, selbst zu Gestalter*innen der Zukunft zu werden. Bei der Fridays for Future-Bewegung findet diese Form der Selbstermächtigung jenseits des Klassenzimmers auf der Straße statt. Wie kann das dabei gewonnene Wissen in den Unterricht zurückwirken? Welche Veränderungen braucht Schule, um zur Bewältigung der Klimakrise und zur Entstehung nachhaltiger Gesellschaften beizutragen? Und welche Rolle spielen Partizipation, Digitalisierung, neue Partnerschaften und künstlerische Perspektiven auf dem Weg dorthin?

Die Diskussion mit Akteur*innen aus Klimaaktivismus, Kunstpädagogik und Schule bildet den Auftakt des HKW-Projekts S.o.S – Schools of Sustainability. Kann Schule Klima retten?.

Begrüßung: Eva Stein, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, und Corina Conrad-Beck, Senatsverwaltung für Umwelt, Verkehr und Klimaschutz
Anschließend Q&A

Mit Tatjana Beilenhoff-Nowicki (Senatsverwaltung für Bildung, Jugend und Familie, Berlin), Nora Oehmichen (Lehrerin und Klimaaktivistin), Quang Paasch (Fridays for Future Berlin), Maren Ziese (Kunstpädagogin, Universität Duisburg-Essen), Moderation: Silke Ramelow (Bildungscent e.V.)

Gefördert von der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Umwelt, Verkehr und Klimaschutz