2021, Thu, Jun 17

Field for Experimentation, Educational Center, Learning Factory?

Schools, City and Society in the 1970s Federal Republic

Classroom instruction, educational opportunities and the need to rethink the school – current debates are reminiscent of the educational era of the 1970s. The online discussion explores schools, cities and society in 1970s West Germany and parallels with today.

Current public debates about the importance of classroom instruction, unequal educational opportunities and the need to radically rethink the institution of school (yet again?) are reminiscent in many ways of the educational era of the 1970s, which was characterized by experimentation and expansion. Contributors from the fields of teaching, art and research will speak about educational policy reforms and institutional realities at West German schools in the 1970s. Pedagogical experiments and a “de-schooling” of school and society will be topics as well as the structural conditions of learning and the physical and ideological barriers to which children of migrants were and are subjected.

The panel will trace an arc between the themes of the exhibition Education Shock. Learning, Politics and Architecture in the 1960s and 1970s and Schools of Tomorrow.

Followed by a Q&A session

With Çiçek Bacık (literary scholar, migration researcher, teacher), Claudia Hummel (art educator and curator, Institut für Kunst im Kontext at the Berlin University of the Arts), Ellen Thormann (art historian and author), Moderator: Tom Holert (curator of Education Shock)

Funded by Federal Agency for Civic Education

Fr 24.–So 26.09.: Sperrungen und Verkehrseinschränkungen rund ums HKW. Mehr...

Do, 17. Juni 2021

Experimentierfeld, Bildungszentrum, Lernfabrik?

Schule, Stadt und Gesellschaft in der Bundesrepublik der 1970er Jahre

Präsenzunterricht, Bildungschancen und die Notwendigkeit, Schule neu zu denken – aktuelle Debatten erinnern an die Bildungsepoche der Zeit um 1970. Die Online-Diskussion kreist um Schule, Stadt und Gesellschaft in der Bundesrepublik der 1970er Jahre und Parallelen zur Gegenwart.

Aktuelle öffentliche Debatten um die Bedeutung von Präsenzunterricht, ungleiche Bildungschancen und die Notwendigkeit, die Institution Schule (zum wievielten Mal?) radikal neu zu denken – sie erinnern in Vielem an die von Experiment und Expansion geprägte Bildungsepoche der Zeit um 1970. Akteur*innen aus Lehre, Kunst und Forschung sprechen über bildungspolitische Reformen und institutionelle Realitäten an westdeutschen Schulen in den 1970er Jahren. Pädagogische Experimente und eine „Entschulung“ von Schule und Gesellschaft sollen ebenso zur Sprache kommen wie die baulichen Bedingungen des Lernens und die physischen wie ideologischen Barrieren, denen Kinder von Migrant*innen ausgesetzt waren und sind.

Das Panel schlägt einen inhaltlichen Bogen zwischen den Themen der Ausstellung Bildungsschock. Lernen, Politik und Architektur in den 1960er und 1970er Jahren und Schools of Tomorrow.

Anschließend Q&A

Mit Çiçek Bacık (Literaturwissenschaftlerin, Migrationsforscherin, Lehrerin), Claudia Hummel (Kunstvermittlerin und Kuratorin, Institut für Kunst im Kontext der Universität der Künste Berlin), Ellen Thormann (Kunsthistorikerin und Autorin), Moderation: Tom Holert (Kurator Bildungsschock)

Gefördert von der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung