2021, Sat, Jun 05

Students‘ Day

Protesting students climbing into Low Library, Columbia University, April 1968 | © Richard Howard

Protesting students climbing into Low Library, Columbia University, April 1968 | © Richard Howard

Universities were central arenas for the educational policy struggles of the 1960s and 1970s. New teaching content and form, new educational spaces were tested here. As a civil society reaction to the politics of the Cold War and internal security, the struggle on the street established itself as a form of protest - mainly carried out by student movements.

Artists and art mediators at the Institute for Art in Context at the UdK Berlin, accompanied by Claudia Hummel, have examined these student movements. At Students' Day, they will ask in two actions together with participants: What struggles are students waging in a present in which they are globally digitally connected, but at the same time largely confined to the space of their own room due to the pandemic?

2pm-4pm
Online Action 1
Student protests and me
With Özcan Ertek, Jisu Jeong, Chao Li, Ying Lin und Viviane Tabach

What challenges do students face today? Based on a mapping of student protests around the world, participants reflect on their own connection to the history of these protests and develop posters that reflect their experience of contemporary education systems.

2pm-4pm
Online Action 2
Beducation
With Franka Geiser, Min Kyung Kim, Sifan Pan und Zsófia Puszt

What is currently missing in online teaching and how can learning and humanity be brought together and shaped in times of a pandemic? Following on from Yoko Ono and John Lennon’s bed-ins of 1969, participants are invited to become active from their own beds. Experiences, demands and visions will be compiled and incorporated into a joint manifesto.

Sa, 05. Juni 2021

Students’ Day

Protesting students climbing into Low Library, Columbia University, April 1968 | © Richard Howard

Protesting students climbing into Low Library, Columbia University, April 1968 | © Richard Howard

Für die bildungspolitischen Kämpfe der 1960er und 1970er Jahre waren Universitäten zentrale Schauplätze. Neue Lehrinhalte und -formen, neue Bildungsräume wurden hier erprobt. Als zivilgesellschaftliche Reaktion auf die Politik des Kalten Krieges und der inneren Sicherheit etablierte sich der Straßenkampf als Protestform – vor allem getragen von studentischen Bewegungen.

Künstler*innen und Kunstvermittler*innen des Studiengangs Kunst im Kontext der UdK Berlin haben sich begleitet von Claudia Hummel mit diesen studentischen Bewegungen auseinandergesetzt. Beim Students‘ Day fragen sie in zwei Aktionen gemeinsam mit den Teilnehmenden: Welche Kämpfe führen Studierende in einer Gegenwart, in der sie zwar digital global vernetzt, pandemiebedingt aber zugleich weitgehend auf den Raum des eigenen Zimmers beschränkt sind?

14-16h
Online-Aktion 1
Studentische Proteste und ich
Mit Özcan Ertek, Jisu Jeong, Chao Li, Ying Lin und Viviane Tabach

Welche Herausforderungen stellen sich Studierenden heute? Ausgehend von einem Mapping von Studierendenprotesten auf der ganzen Welt denken die Teilnehmenden über ihre eigene Verbindung zur Geschichte dieser Proteste nach und entwickeln Plakate, die ihr Erleben gegenwärtiger Bildungssysteme spiegeln.

16-18h
Online-Aktion 2
Beducation

Mit Franka Geiser, Min Kyung Kim, Sifan Pan und Zsófia Puszt

Was fehlt aktuell in der Online-Lehre und wie lassen sich Lernen und Menschlichkeit in Zeiten einer Pandemie zusammenbringen und gestalten? Anknüpfend an die Bed-ins von Yoko Ono und John Lennon im Jahr 1969 sind die Teilnehmenden dazu einladen, aus den eigenen Betten heraus aktiv zu werden. Erfahrungen, Forderungen und Visionen werden zusammengetragen und fließen in ein gemeinsames Manifest.