2019, Sat, Apr 27

Making

Sophia Roosth with Luis Campos, Xavier Le Roy, Scarlet Yu and performers

Experimenting with fabricating forms of life has driven many of the most innovative practices in the life sciences. At the same time, these techniques have raised a series of concerns regarding the ethical limits of experimenting on living things. Such reactions have especially been directed toward what some see as a distortion between life and the forms it may or may not be able to take. It seems that pushing and bending the parameters of what counts as life keeps bringing us back to the essential question of what life is in the first place.

In this conversation, historians of science Luis Campos and Sophia Roosth take a look at experimental construction in the life sciences. The construction of narratives and histories that are fundamental to the definitions of life, form, and origin is a focal point for this conversation.

The constant reconfiguration of the Earth situates humans within a constant negotiation concerning the meaning of life and form. Even in the life sciences, one paradigm after the other has transformed the interpretations of what life could be, and constantly reoriented how life has been and is studied in the first place.The conversations between historian of Science Sophia Roosth and various contributors attest to this ongoing problematic by demonstrating how the approach one takes toward understanding life has enormous ramifications on what it could be and in what forms it can manifest..

Temporary Title, 2015, Carriageworks Sydney | © Peter Craig

Temporary Title, 2015, Carriageworks Sydney | © Peter Craig

Choreography

During Life Forms, choreographers Xavier Le Roy, Scarlet Yu and a team of performers will transform the space of the event through shaping physical relations and collaborations between each other and their surroundings. The shape of the planet is a constant negotiation between earth processes, human culture and the technologies that they produce. In the tensions they create with one another, transformations abound, recombinant and irreversible. Le Roy’s and Yu’s work questions the dividing lines between human / inhuman, object / subject, transformation / transition / modification. While at first sight it can appear as something external to contemplate, its durational quality transforms it into a landscape in which the audience and participants find themselves, a situation to live, a space where our perception can be faster than the actions; a situation where maybe time can wait. Within this landscape of constantly forming and deforming assemblies of speakers, performers and audience, a situation can be generated where oscillations between recognizable and unrecognizable forms frame research conversations on different approaches to the notion of lifeforms.

Choreography based on Temporary Title, 2015, concept: Xavier Le Roy, artistic collaborator: Scarlet Yu, with Alexandre Achour, Jorge Alencar, Saša Asentić, Christian Bourigault, Sherwood Chen, Christine De Smedt, João dos Santos Martins, Ben Evans, Zeina Hanna, Alice Heyward, Becky Hilton, Hélène Iratchet, Neto Machado, Sabine Macher, Julia Rodriguez, Salka Ardal Rosengren

Sa, 27. April 2019

Making

Sophia Roosth mit Luis Campos, Xavier Le Roy, Scarlet Yu und Performer*innen

Das Experimentieren mit Lebensformen hat innovative Praktiken in den Lebenswissenschaften hervorgebracht. Gleichzeitig traten Bedenken über die ethischen Grenzen solcher Experimente ins Blickfeld. Diese Bedenken beziehen sich insbesondere auf die Verschiebungen zwischen Leben und den Formen, die es annehmen kann oder nicht. Denn gerade wenn die Parameter dessen, was als Leben zählt, ständig in Bewegung sind, führt das immer wieder zur essenziellen Frage, was Leben überhaupt ist.

Im Gespräch zwischen den Wissenschaftshistoriker*innen Luis Campos und Sophia Roosth geht es um experimentelle Entwürfe in den Lebenswissenschaften. Ein Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf jenen Narrativen, die wegweisend für so grundlegende Konzepte wie Leben, Form und Ursprung waren.

Durch die ständige Veränderung der Erde befindet sich der Mensch in einem ununterbrochenen Aushandlungsprozess über die Bedeutungen und Formen von Leben. Selbst für die Lebenswissenschaften hat in den immer neuen Interpretationen davon, was Leben sein könnte, ein Paradigma das andere abgelöst. Allein die Frage, wie das Leben überhaupt erforscht werden kann, hat sich wieder neu ausgerichtet. Die Wissenschaftshistorikerin Sophia Roosth zeigt in einem vierteiligen Gespräch mit weiteren Teilnehmer*innen auf, wie sich unterschiedliche Ansätze, Leben zu verstehen, auf die Formen auswirken, in denen es sich manifestiert.

Temporary Title, 2015, Carriageworks Sydney | © Peter Craig

Temporary Title, 2015, Carriageworks Sydney | © Peter Craig

Choreografie

Während Lebensformen organisieren die Choreograf*innen Xavier Le Roy und Scarlet Yu gemeinsam mit Performer*innen den Raum und das Geschehen und machen ihre Beziehungen zueinander sowie ihr Verhältnis zur Umgebung sichtbar. Die Gestalt der Welt wird im Zusammenspiel von Erdprozessen, menschlicher Kultur und den daraus hervorgehenden Technologien ausgehandelt: ein Spannungsverhältnis, aus dem verschiedenste, oft unwiderrufliche Veränderungen erwachsen. Le Roys und Yus Arbeit hinterfragt Trennlinien zwischen menschlich / nicht-menschlich, Objekt / Subjekt, Transformation / Übergang / Modifikation. Während sie auf den ersten Blick als etwas von außen zu Betrachtendes wirkt, verwandelt sich die Choreografie über ihre dreitägige Dauer in eine Landschaft, in der sich die Besucher*innen und Beitragende befinden: eine Lebenssituation, ein Raum, in dem Wahrnehmung schneller als Handlungen sein kann, eine Situation, in der die Zeit vielleicht warten kann. Inmitten dieser Landschaft aus sich ständig formenden und auflösenden Konstellationen aus Beitragenden, Performer*innen und Publikum, aus klar erkennbaren und kaum auszumachenden Formen, finden Forschungsgespräche statt, die das Bedeutungsspektrum des Begriffs Lebensformen erkunden.

Choreografie basierend auf der Arbeit Temporary Title, 2015, Konzeption: Xavier Le Roy, künstlerische Mitarbeit: Scarlet Yu, mit Alexandre Achour, Jorge Alencar, Saša Asentić, Christian Bourigault, Sherwood Chen, Christine De Smedt, João dos Santos Martins, Ben Evans, Zeina Hanna, Alice Heyward, Becky Hilton, Hélène Iratchet, Neto Machado, Sabine Macher, Julia Rodriguez, Salka Ardal Rosengren