Sat, Sep 18 & Sun, Sep 19: Road closures and traffic obstructions around HKW. More...

Technology after the Anthropocene

Technologies define our notions of what life and ways of living could be. Increasingly, they form the conditions that advance or constrain life. With the help of technologies, we can “sense” the climate of entire planets, “see” kilometers deep into the Earth, and “hear” the distant quavering of dying stars. We can protect and modify our bodies with artificial skins made of intelligent fibers or with the help of hormonal injections, and synthetic biology along with climate engineering can alter the biological and climatic conditions of our planet (and soon, worlds beyond), opening up spaces of possibility for organic and inorganic life forms that are much further reaching than we ever could have previously imagined.

New terms like the “Anthropocene” and the “technosphere” are used to describe these dynamic relationships between human beings, the environment, and technology at a planetary scale. The technosphere, for instance, provides a concept for understanding how natural and technological forces come together to constitute what we experience as the contemporary global situation. The technosphere comprises nearly all human-environment interactions and regulates what forms of existence are possible on Earth. We can experience the raw materials of industry and their systems of transportation, urban and rural landscapes, and even the “software” of values and standards developed through bureaucracy and currency. However, while we can experience such manifestations of the technosphere, we often cannot understand them as something at the planetary scale. Through these technical linkages, Earth’s diverse human and non-human communities are tied into ever-accelerating systems of mass production and consumption. How can we speak about these enormous, all-encompassing systems from the point of view of their local articulations? And, vice versa, how can we conceptualize planetary relations when taking local circumstances as our starting point?

By analyzing the technosphere both in its descriptive qualities and its many articulations within current social, technological, and environmental changes, we enable a discussion about the dynamic forms, transformations, and repurposings currently taking place while simultaneously negotiating the role of technology and our own human agency within these shifts. Now that we have realized our technologies have interfered in Earth-scale processes, what projected outcomes would make certain changes or preservations worthwhile? This line of thinking places collective values at the center of the shape our life forms and their manifestations will take in the future. The dilemma presented by today’s omnipresent technologies and their current forms has been the core subject of the experimental research project Technosphere at Haus der Kulturen der Welt. Since 2015, the project has brought together scientists, artists, and the general public to explore the following questions: What happens when the technological competes with the natural in shaping the world? What happens when the lines separating cause and effect, local and global, and human and non-human are constantly blurred?

The first three phases of the project have dealt with how planetary apparatuses operate, taking into account the implications of different knowledge practices and the path dependencies wrought by critical historical moments. Now, in the concluding phase, we look at the technosphere as a horizon against which new forms of and for life emerge.

Life Forms in the Technosphere

Technologies prescribe how elements of a system can or should be linked to one another. They draw certain processes together, interweaving “natural” processes and properties into a general construct that can be addressed or manipulated through human means. In recent decades, the relationship between natural processes and planetary-scale technologies has gained an entirely new quality with the emergence of fields like synthetic biology and the nanosciences, the discovery of techniques such as CRISPR-Cas9 used for DNA sequencing, and the development of computational models that have recourse on our decision-making and notions of knowledge production. Since at least the mid-twentieth century, this type of constructive and interventionist access to the world at both the molecular and systemic as well as symbolic levels has expanded the notion of what experimentation and technology are. The drastically increased speed and intensity with which technologies differentiate and shape life demands the formulation of novel strategies, attitudes, and forms of life. How do our sociotechnological forms of life express collective aims and values, and which criteria can be established to orient them? Which values push the world along its path toward a future in which natural evolutions and humans and their technologies each vie for organizational prominence—even while many of us on Earth have little to no means of steering the course? How might we produce new forms of action that enable various forms of life to work with and against these dynamics?

Life Forms is structured around ten speculative questions and four epistemic modes of investigation that explore our understandings of what a life form can be. Conversations as well as artistic and performative strategies reconceptualize and experimentally link research materials and methods from sociology, literary studies, molecular biology, and anthropology. Life Forms will take place in HKW’s auditorium, emptied of its standard seating, stage, and technical equipment. Choreographic work, acoustic cues, and artistic staging together will create a figurative, constantly changing landscape that organizes the event. Spatial and temporal movements will orchestrate the event’s rhythm and create a connection between the contributions and the audience.

The program is organized through three closely intertwined elements. The core of this structure is the choreographic work of Xavier Le Roy and Scarlet Yu, who, together with a team of performers, will deal with principles of transformation formally and conceptually. Based on the work Temporary Title, 2015 they will question the lines separating human/non-human, object/subject, and transformation/transition/modification. The performance explores processes of individual and social change and allows for a meandering environment to emerge in collaboration with the visitors.

Amid this choreographic organization, research conversations will take place in which science historian Sophia Roosth explores different approaches to the notion of “life forms” with participants from the sciences, arts, and philosophy. The understanding of what a life form is changes with the everyday and scientific uses of the term, as can be seen in the histories of the natural sciences and the humanities. The various usages and methodological framings of the idea of life forms have an impact on our knowledge and understanding of what “life” and “form” are and how the two can be thought together. The research conversations explore how Idealized Forms have come to shape our understanding of life and discuss the Formations life creates within different environments. In addition, the participants will discuss how constructive practices of Making forms of life and modeling Landscapes for living could situate and influence our understandings of life.

The ten speculative questions woven into the program structure explore possibilities for collectively dealing with the current conditions for life on Earth. Scholars, scientists, and artists will jointly analyze moments of friction between novel technologies, social systems, and social values from various perspectives. At the same time, they will engage with epistemic limits and methodological incommensurability. The goal of these explorations is to discuss questions of methods and values, reconceptualizing them to meet the needs of our technological present. How do life forms emerge from the tension between natural processes, human cultures, and their technologies? What is the impact of this relationship with respect to care work, technological innovations, and the collective negotiation of conditions for life on Earth?

Finally, the narrative of our present can also be derived from what and how forms of life can be assembled using a new alphabet of techniques and technology. Life Forms is thus an attempt to grasp new scientific and technological possibilities at a moment when these are interwoven with traditions and processes already underway. Life Forms explores the possibilities this contemporary moment could open up for new politics, value structures, and social relations. Rather than wondering what technology is, we will have to ask about the forms our lives need to take for us to be able to listen to the resonances of the past and the values driving them toward their futures.

Katrin Klingan, Nick Houde, Janek Müller, Johanna Schindler, Christoph Rosol in collaboration with Bernard Geoghegan

Vom 11. bis 16.6. bleibt das HKW geschlossen. Tickets für die Wassermusik sind online erhältlich. Mehr…

Technologie im Zeichen des Anthropozäns

Technologien bestimmen unsere Vorstellung davon, was Leben und was Zusammenleben sein könnten. Zunehmend formen sie die Bedingungen, die Leben begünstigen oder begrenzen. Mit Hilfe von Technologien können Menschen das Klima ganzer Planeten „spüren“, kilometertief in die Erde „sehen“ oder das ferne Zittern sterbender Sterne „hören“. Wir können unsere Körper mit künstlichen Häuten aus intelligenten Fasern oder mit Hilfe von hormonellen Injektionen schützen und erweitern. Synthetische Biologie und Climate Engineering verändern die biologischen und klimatischen Gegebenheiten unseres Planeten (und bald auch darüber hinaus) und eröffnen Möglichkeitsräume für organisches und anorganisches Leben, die weitreichender sind, als man es sich je vorstellen konnte.

Hybride Begriffe wie das Anthropozän oder die Technosphäre versuchen, die dynamischen Beziehungen zwischen Mensch, Umwelt und Technologie auf planetarischer Ebene beschreibbar zu machen. Das Konzept der Technosphäre vermittelt eine Vorstellung davon, wie sich natürliche und technische Kräfte zusammensetzen, die wir als den Zustand der Gegenwart erleben. Wie eine Hülle bettet die Technosphäre nahezu sämtliche Mensch-Umwelt-Interaktionen ein und reguliert schon jetzt zu weiten Teilen die Existenzbedingungen verschiedener Lebensformen auf dem Planeten. Wir erleben Entwicklungen, die ganz konkret technosphärischer Natur sind: in der „Hardware“ von Rohstoffindustrien und Transportsystemen, Städten und Agrarlandschaften, aber ebenso in der „Software“ globaler Normen und Standards, in sozialen Regulierungssystemen und Bürokratien oder im algorithmischen Handel virtueller Werte. In diesen technischen Verknüpfungen werden die diversen menschlichen und nichtmenschlichen Gemeinschaften der Erde in ein System der Massenproduktion und Konsumtion eingebunden, das in einer unaufhaltbaren Spirale heiß läuft. Wie können wir über diese enormen Gesamtsysteme sprechen, wenn wir von ihrer Artikulation im Lokalen ausgehen? Oder andersherum: Wie können wir ausgehend von lokalen Gegebenheiten planetarisch wirksame Verhältnisse durchdenken?

Wenn die Welt offen gegenüber technologischen Veränderungen ist, wird das, was wir das „Natürliche“ nennen, zur Projektionsfläche politischer Handlungsmacht, zum Raum für die Aushandlung und Durchsetzung von Zielen, Normen und Möglichkeiten. Dies rückt ethische Werte ins Zentrum unserer Lebensformen. Das Dilemma allgegenwärtiger Technologien und ihrer Gegenwart bildete das Kernthema des experimentellen Forschungsprojekts Technosphere am Haus der Kulturen der Welt, das seit 2015 Akteur*innen aus Wissenschaft, Kunst und Gesellschaft in eine Debatte darüber brachte, was geschieht, wenn das Technologische mit dem Natürlichen um die Gestalt der Welt konkurriert. Was geschieht, wenn sich die Grenzen von Ursache und Wirkung, Lokalem und Globalem, Menschlichem und Nicht-Menschlichem ununterbrochen verwischen? Fragen nach der Operativität planetarer Apparaturen, der Technizität von Wissenspraktiken und -ordnungen, nach historischen Entfesselungsmomenten und ihren Pfadabhängigkeiten standen im Fokus der vergangenen drei Stationen des Projekts. Nun, in der abschließenden Phase, nehmen wir die Technosphäre als einen Horizont in den Blick, vor dem neue Lebensformen entstehen.

Lebensformen in der Technosphäre

Technologien geben vor, wie Elemente eines Systems miteinander verbunden sein könnten oder sollten, um einen bestimmten Vorgang oder ein Ergebnis zu ermöglichen, und verweben einzelne Prozesse zu einem größeren, allgemeineren Konstrukt. Felder wie synthetische Biologie und Nanowissenschaften, CRISPR/Cas9 und die Entwicklung algorithmusbasierter Modelle haben diesen Phänomenen jedoch eine ganz neue Qualität verliehen. Sie sind Folgen eines spätestens seit der Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts herrschenden, bewusst konstruktivistischen und interventionistischen Zugangs zur Welt auf molekularer, systemischer und symbolischer Ebene – ein Zugang, der den Technologiebegriff enorm erweitert hat. Die drastisch zunehmende Geschwindigkeit und Wirkmächtigkeit, mit der Technologien sich ausdifferenzieren und Leben formen, verlangt nach einer Formulierung von Strategien, Haltungen und Registraturen. Wie lassen sich Orientierungskriterien finden, um gemeinsame Ziele und Visionen zu formulieren und diese durch unsere sozio-technischen Lebensformen auszudrücken? Welche und vor allem wessen Wertgefüge beeinflussen die Welt auf ihrem Weg in eine Zukunft, in der Menschen und Technologien um Organisationshoheit über das Irdische ringen? Mithilfe welcher Strategien können wir diesen Dynamiken begegnen und mit ihnen umgehen?

Lebensformen strukturiert sich um zehn spekulative Fragen und vier epistemische Untersuchungsmethoden, die das Verständnis dessen, was eine Lebensform ausmachen kann, in den Blick nehmen. Gespräche sowie künstlerische und performative Strategien bilden das Gerüst, um drei Tage lang Forschungsmaterialien und wissenschaftliche Zugriffe – aus der Soziologie, den Literaturwissenschaften, der Molekularbiologie oder der Anthropologie – neu zu fassen und experimentell miteinander in Verbindung zu setzen. Lebensformen findet im HKW-Auditorium statt, das zum leeren Raum umgestaltet wird: Die Sitzordnung ist aufgehoben, die technische Infrastruktur weitestgehend ausgebaut. Die räumliche und zeitliche Organisation des Ereignisses entsteht in einem Zusammenspiel von choreografischem Werk, akustischen Anreizen und künstlerischen Inszenierungen. Räumliche wie zeitliche Gesten und Bewegungen orchestrieren den Rhythmus der Veranstaltung, die Art und Weise, wie Gespräche zusammengeführt werden, und nicht zuletzt die Verbindung zwischen den Beiträgen und dem Publikum.

Das Programm ist in drei ineinanderlaufenden Elementen organisiert. Den Kern dieser Struktur bildet die choreografische Arbeit von Xavier Le Roy und Scarlet Yu, die sich zusammen mit einem Team von Performer*innen mit Prinzipien der Transformation beschäftigen und das Geschehen im Raum formal wie konzeptionell steuern. Basierend auf der Arbeit Temporary Title, 2015 hinterfragen sie Trennlinien zwischen menschlich/nicht-menschlich, Objekt/Subjekt, Transformation/Übergang/Modifikation. Sie erkunden individuelle und gesellschaftliche Veränderungsprozesse und lassen im Zusammenspiel mit den Besucher*innen eine mäandernd fließende Umgebung entstehen.

Inmitten dieser choreografischen Organisation finden Forschungsgespräche statt, in denen die Wissenschaftshistorikerin Sophia Roosth mit Vertreter*innen aus Wissenschaft, Kunst und Philosophie das Bedeutungsspektrum des Begriffs „Lebensform“ erkundet. Das Verständnis dessen, was eine Lebensform ist, verändert sich durch den alltäglichen und wissenschaftlichen Gebrauch des Wortes, wie sich anhand der Begriffsgeschichte in den Natur- und Geisteswissenschaften nachzeichnen lässt. Die unterschiedliche Verwendung und methodische Rahmung von „Lebensform“ wirkt sich auf das Wissen und das Verständnis dessen aus, was Leben und was Form ist, und wie beide zusammengedacht werden könnten. Die Forschungsgespräche fragen danach, inwiefern idealisierte Formen (Idealized Forms) bestimmte Auffassungen von Leben hervorbringen und wie es sich in verschiedenen Umgebungen transformiert (In Formation). Außerdem diskutieren die Teilnehmenden, wie Praktiken (Making) und Modellierungen (Landscapes) der Lebensgestaltung Vorstellungen von Leben beeinflussen können.

In diese Struktur eingewoben ist eine Reihe von 10 spekulativen Fragen, die Möglichkeiten von Handlungsmacht erkunden. Wissenschaftler*innen und Künstler*innen analysieren Reibungsmomente zwischen Technologien, Gesellschaftssystemen und Wertevorstellungen aus verschiedenen Perspektiven, auf unterschiedlichen Skalen und anhand verschiedener Praktiken. Gleichzeitig setzen sie sich mit epistemischen Grenzen und methodischer Inkommensurabilität auseinander. Ziel dieser Erkundungen ist die Entwicklung von Instrumenten, um Werte- und Methodenfragen neu zu diskutieren und zu durchdenken. Wie gehen die Erscheinungsformen des Lebens aus der spannungsgeladenen Konstellation natürlicher Prozesse, menschlicher Kulturen und ihrer Technologien hervor? Wie wirkt sich dieses Dreiecksverhältnis konkret aus: auf Sorgearbeit, auf technologische Innovationen und nicht zuletzt auf das kollektive Aushandeln der Strategien und Werte, die für die planetarischen Lebensgrundlagen ausschlaggebend sind?

Das Narrativ unser Gegenwart leitet sich nicht zuletzt davon ab, wie Lebensformen aus einem neuen Alphabet der Technik und Technologie zusammengesetzt werden. Lebensformen ist daher ein Versuch, neue wissenschaftliche und technologische Möglichkeiten zu einem Zeitpunkt zu erfassen, zu dem sie sich mit Traditionen und Prozessen, die bereits im Gang sind, verweben. Lebensformen erforscht die Möglichkeiten, die sich daraus in neuen Politiken, Wertgefügen und sozialen Verhältnissen herausbilden könnten. Auf diese Weise werden wir nicht mehr fragen müssen, was Technologie überhaupt ist, sondern welche Formen unser Leben annehmen muss, damit wir die Resonanzen der Vergangenheit und derjenigen Werte hören können, die es uns ermöglichen, Vorstellungen einer Zukunft und künftiger Lebensformen zu entwickeln.

Katrin Klingan, Nick Houde, Janek Müller, Johanna Schindler, Christoph Rosol in Zusammenarbeit mit Bernard Geoghegan