HKW will be closed from June 11 to 16. Tickets for Wassermusik are available online. More…

2019, Fri, Apr 26

In Formation

Sophia Roosth with Maria Chehonadskih and Melody Jue, Xavier Le Roy, Scarlet Yu and performers

How can the process of generalizing particular things and events be understood as part of both knowledge construction and the ethical norms underpinning epistemic practices? And how are these tensions constantly reshaped by actual reality and environmental factors, which escape human control or comprehension? This conversation deals with these questions by thinking through different social milieus and organizational systems, specifically how they rearrange concepts such as the individual, multiple species agency, and the environment.

Philosopher Maria Chehonadskih refers to the work of philosopher Alexander Bogdanov and how he objectifies the labor and relationships that collectives produce. Literary scholar Melody Jue conceptualizes different media as instruments of study and as part of the morphological development of life forms. By referring to sonar technologies used to study humpback whales, she shows how development of organisms plays the role of mediating between discourses about life and technicity. In relation to the notion of life forms, historian of science Sophia Roosth refers to induction as an epistemic mode that considers the development of living beings through their interaction with their environments.

The constant reconfiguration of the Earth situates humans within a constant negotiation concerning the meaning of life and form. Even in the life sciences, one paradigm after the other has transformed the interpretations of what life could be, and constantly reoriented how life has been and is studied in the first place The conversations between historian of Science Sophia Roosth and various contributors attest to this ongoing problematic by demonstrating how the approach one takes toward understanding life has enormous ramifications on what it could be and in what forms it can manifest.

Temporary Title, 2015, Carriageworks Sydney | © Peter Craig

Temporary Title, 2015, Carriageworks Sydney | © Peter Craig

Choreography

During Life Forms, choreographers Xavier Le Roy, Scarlet Yu and a team of performers will transform the space of the event through shaping physical relations and collaborations between each other and their surroundings. The shape of the planet is a constant negotiation between earth processes, human culture and the technologies that they produce. In the tensions they create with one another, transformations abound, recombinant and irreversible. Le Roy’s and Yu’s work questions the dividing lines between human / inhuman, object / subject, transformation / transition / modification. While at first sight it can appear as something external to contemplate, its durational quality transforms it into a landscape in which the audience and participants find themselves, a situation to live, a space where our perception can be faster than the actions; a situation where maybe time can wait. Within this landscape of constantly forming and deforming assemblies of speakers, performers and audience, a situation can be generated where oscillations between recognizable and unrecognizable forms frame research conversations on different approaches to the notion of lifeforms.

Choreography based on Temporary Title, 2015, concept: Xavier Le Roy, artistic collaborator: Scarlet Yu, with Alexandre Achour, Jorge Alencar, Saša Asentić, Christian Bourigault, Sherwood Chen, Christine De Smedt, João dos Santos Martins, Ben Evans, Zeina Hanna, Alice Heyward, Becky Hilton, Hélène Iratchet, Neto Machado, Sabine Macher, Julia Rodriguez, Salka Ardal Rosengren

Fr, 26. April 2019

In Formation

Sophia Roosth mit Maria Chehonadskih und Melody Jue, Xavier Le Roy, Scarlet Yu und Performer*innen

Wie lässt sich die Abstraktion vom Einzelnen zum Allgemeinen als Element der Wissensproduktion und gleichzeitig der Konstruktion von ethischen Normen begreifen, die epistemischen Praktiken zugrunde liegen? Und inwiefern werden die hier auftretenden Widersprüche von der Realität und ihren Umweltbedingungen überformt, die sich der Kontrolle oder dem Vorstellungsvermögen des Menschen entziehen? Das Gespräch verhandelt am Beispiel unterschiedlicher Milieus und Organisationsstrukturen diese Fragestellungen hinsichtlich ihrer Auswirkungen auf Konzepte wie Individuum, Spezies und Umwelt.

Die Philosophin Maria Chehonadskih führt Überlegungen des russischen Philosophen Alexander Bogdanov weiter, der Arbeit und Beziehungsgefüge, wie sie Kollektive hervorbringen, in objektive Formeln gefasst hat. Die Literaturwissenschaftlerin Melody Jue untersucht unterschiedliche Medien als Analysewerkzeuge und als Teil der morphologischen Entwicklung von Lebensformen. Am Beispiel der Sonartechnologie in der Buckelwalforschung zeigt sie, wie die Entwicklung von Organismen zwischen Lebens- und Technizitätsdiskursen vermitteln kann. Sophia Roosth greift den Begriff der Induktion als epistemische Methode auf, um die Entwicklung von Lebewesen durch Interaktion mit ihrer Umwelt zu analysieren.

Durch die ständige Veränderung der Erde befindet sich der Mensch in einem ununterbrochenen Aushandlungsprozess über die Bedeutungen und Formen von Leben. Selbst für die Lebenswissenschaften hat in den immer neuen Interpretationen davon, was Leben sein könnte, ein Paradigma das andere abgelöst. Allein die Frage, wie das Leben überhaupt erforscht werden kann, hat sich wieder neu ausgerichtet. Die Wissenschaftshistorikerin Sophia Roosth zeigt in einem vierteiligen Gespräch mit weiteren Teilnehmer*innen auf, wie sich unterschiedliche Ansätze, Leben zu verstehen, auf die Formen auswirken, in denen es sich manifestiert.

Temporary Title, 2015, Carriageworks Sydney | © Peter Craig

Temporary Title, 2015, Carriageworks Sydney | © Peter Craig

Choreografie

Während Lebensformen organisieren die Choreograf*innen Xavier Le Roy und Scarlet Yu gemeinsam mit Performer*innen den Raum und das Geschehen und machen ihre Beziehungen zueinander sowie ihr Verhältnis zur Umgebung sichtbar. Die Gestalt der Welt wird im Zusammenspiel von Erdprozessen, menschlicher Kultur und den daraus hervorgehenden Technologien ausgehandelt: ein Spannungsverhältnis, aus dem verschiedenste, oft unwiderrufliche Veränderungen erwachsen. Le Roys und Yus Arbeit hinterfragt Trennlinien zwischen menschlich / nicht-menschlich, Objekt / Subjekt, Transformation / Übergang / Modifikation. Während sie auf den ersten Blick als etwas von außen zu Betrachtendes wirkt, verwandelt sich die Choreografie über ihre dreitägige Dauer in eine Landschaft, in der sich die Besucher*innen und Beitragende befinden: eine Lebenssituation, ein Raum, in dem Wahrnehmung schneller als Handlungen sein kann, eine Situation, in der die Zeit vielleicht warten kann. Inmitten dieser Landschaft aus sich ständig formenden und auflösenden Konstellationen aus Beitragenden, Performer*innen und Publikum, aus klar erkennbaren und kaum auszumachenden Formen, finden Forschungsgespräche statt, die das Bedeutungsspektrum des Begriffs Lebensformen erkunden.

Choreografie basierend auf der Arbeit Temporary Title, 2015, Konzeption: Xavier Le Roy, künstlerische Mitarbeit: Scarlet Yu, mit Alexandre Achour, Jorge Alencar, Saša Asentić, Christian Bourigault, Sherwood Chen, Christine De Smedt, João dos Santos Martins, Ben Evans, Zeina Hanna, Alice Heyward, Becky Hilton, Hélène Iratchet, Neto Machado, Sabine Macher, Julia Rodriguez, Salka Ardal Rosengren