2019, Thu, Apr 25

Idealized Forms

Sophia Roosth with Elizabeth A. Povinelli, Xavier Le Roy, Scarlet Yu and performers

In order to establish hypotheses via scientific experimentation, scientists must rule out variables, contingencies, and false causes. But how much of this process is related to preconceived ideas about what counts as a valid parameter for scientific research and what does not? This conversation unpacks how established notions of life and form direct epistemic practices and their impact on social structures.

Anthropologist Elizabeth A. Povinelli explores notions of inclusion and exclusion within contemporary geopolitical landscapes and how these landscapes are governed by our understandings of life, living, and death. From the history of science perspective, Sophia Roosth refers to how metaphysical—that is, idealized—notions of vitality often become attached to the understanding of what counts as life, both in scientific and social terms.

The constant reconfiguration of the Earth situates humans within a constant negotiation concerning the meaning of life and form. Even in the life sciences, one paradigm after the other has transformed the interpretations of what life could be, and constantly reoriented how life has been and is studied in the first place. The conversations between historian of Science Sophia Roosth and various contributors attest to this ongoing problematic by demonstrating how the approach one takes toward understanding life has enormous ramifications on what it could be and in what forms it can manifest.

Temporary Title, 2015, Carriageworks Sydney | © Peter Craig

Temporary Title, 2015, Carriageworks Sydney | © Peter Craig

Choreography

During Life Forms, choreographers Xavier Le Roy, Scarlet Yu and a team of performers will transform the space of the event through shaping physical relations and collaborations between each other and their surroundings. The shape of the planet is a constant negotiation between earth processes, human culture and the technologies that they produce. In the tensions they create with one another, transformations abound, recombinant and irreversible. Le Roy’s and Yu’s work questions the dividing lines between human / inhuman, object / subject, transformation / transition / modification. While at first sight it can appear as something external to contemplate, its durational quality transforms it into a landscape in which the audience and participants find themselves, a situation to live, a space where our perception can be faster than the actions; a situation where maybe time can wait. Within this landscape of constantly forming and deforming assemblies of speakers, performers and audience, a situation can be generated where oscillations between recognizable and unrecognizable forms frame research conversations on different approaches to the notion of lifeforms.

Choreography based on Temporary Title, 2015, concept: Xavier Le Roy, collaborator: Scarlet Yu, with Alexandre Achour, Jorge Alencar, Saša Asentić, Christian Bourigault, Sherwood Chen, Christine De Smedt, João dos Santos Martins, Ben Evans, Zeina Hanna, Alice Heyward, Becky Hilton, Hélène Iratchet, Neto Machado, Sabine Macher, Julia Rodriguez, Salka Ardal Rosengren

Do, 25. April 2019

Idealized Forms

Sophia Roosth mit Elizabeth A. Povinelli, Xavier Le Roy, Scarlet Yu und Performer*innen

Um durch wissenschaftliche Experimente Hypothesen aufstellen zu können, müssen Wissenschaftler*innen bestimmte Variablen, Unwägbarkeiten und fehlerhafte Herleitungen ausschließen. Aber welche Rolle spielt hier, was im Vorhinein als gültige Gesetzmäßigkeiten wissenschaftlicher Forschung festgelegt worden ist und was nicht? Das Gespräch erörtert den Einfluss etablierter Vorstellungen von Leben und Form auf Wissenspraktiken sowie ihre Wirkung auf gesellschaftliche Strukturen.

Die Anthropologin Elizabeth A. Povinelli geht anhand von aktuellen geopolitischen Landschaften den Vorstellungen von Inklusion und Exklusion auf den Grund. Wie werden diese durch das Verständnis von Leben, Lebendigem und Totem reguliert? Sophia Roosth untersucht aus wissenschaftshistorischer Perspektive, weshalb oft gerade die metaphysischen – idealisierten – Vorstellungen von Vitalität ausschlaggebend dafür sind, was sowohl in wissenschaftlichen als auch gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhängen als Leben gilt.

Durch die ständige Veränderung der Erde befindet sich der Mensch in einem ununterbrochenen Aushandlungsprozess über die Bedeutungen und Formen von Leben. Selbst für die Lebenswissenschaften hat in den immer neuen Interpretationen davon, was Leben sein könnte, ein Paradigma das andere abgelöst. Allein die Frage, wie das Leben überhaupt erforscht werden kann, hat sich wieder neu ausgerichtet. Die Wissenschaftshistorikerin Sophia Roosth zeigt in einem vierteiligen Gespräch mit weiteren Teilnehmer*innen auf, wie sich unterschiedliche Ansätze, Leben zu verstehen, auf die Formen auswirken, in denen es sich manifestiert.

Temporary Title, 2015, Carriageworks Sydney | © Peter Craig

Temporary Title, 2015, Carriageworks Sydney | © Peter Craig

Choreografie

Während Lebensformen organisieren die Choreograf*innen Xavier Le Roy und Scarlet Yu gemeinsam mit Performer*innen den Raum und das Geschehen und machen ihre Beziehungen zueinander sowie ihr Verhältnis zur Umgebung sichtbar. Die Gestalt der Welt wird im Zusammenspiel von Erdprozessen, menschlicher Kultur und den daraus hervorgehenden Technologien ausgehandelt: ein Spannungsverhältnis, aus dem verschiedenste, oft unwiderrufliche Veränderungen erwachsen. Le Roys und Yus Arbeit hinterfragt Trennlinien zwischen menschlich / nicht-menschlich, Objekt / Subjekt, Transformation / Übergang / Modifikation. Während sie auf den ersten Blick als etwas von außen zu Betrachtendes wirkt, verwandelt sich die Choreografie über ihre dreitägige Dauer in eine Landschaft, in der sich die Besucher*innen und Beitragende befinden: eine Lebenssituation, ein Raum, in dem Wahrnehmung schneller als Handlungen sein kann, eine Situation, in der die Zeit vielleicht warten kann. Inmitten dieser Landschaft aus sich ständig formenden und auflösenden Konstellationen aus Beitragenden, Performer*innen und Publikum, aus klar erkennbaren und kaum auszumachenden Formen, finden Forschungsgespräche statt, die das Bedeutungsspektrum des Begriffs Lebensformen erkunden.

Choreografie basierend auf der Arbeit Temporary Title, 2015, Konzeption: Xavier Le Roy, künstlerische Mitarbeit: Scarlet Yu, mit Alexandre Achour, Jorge Alencar, Saša Asentić, Christian Bourigault, Sherwood Chen, Christine De Smedt, João dos Santos Martins, Ben Evans, Zeina Hanna, Alice Heyward, Becky Hilton, Hélène Iratchet, Neto Machado, Sabine Macher, Julia Rodriguez, Salka Ardal Rosengren