2020, Tue, Oct 27

Histories of Disintegration

With Imani Jacqueline Brown, Shahana Rajani & Zahra Malkani, moderated by Adania Shibli

Histories can often be told through changes in a landscape – what has been altered, what has been formed and, most of all, what has been excluded altogether. Using experimental forms of representation in video, the two presented case studies engage different methods for artistically witnessing these concerns of history through changes in landscape. A discussion led by writer Adania Shibli follows the screenings.

9 pm
Jinnah Avenue
Shahana Rajani & Zahra Malkani

Artists Shahana Rajani and Zahra Malkani document the ongoing climate and military struggles occurring around the mega-development of Bahria Town near Karachi, Pakistan, which has led to the displacement of Sindhi and Baloch Indigenous communities.

9.30 pm
Remote Sensations
Imani Jacqueline Brown

Reflecting back on last year's Mississippi. An Anthropocene River project, artist and activist Imani Jacqueline Brown overlays oral narration atop video footage from her journey down the river alongside remote-sensing satellite imagery. Through this act, Brown produces cultural-sensing technologies that depict the disintegration and disappearance of the river she once knew.

Di, 27. Oktober 2020

Histories of Disintegration

Mit Imani Jacqueline Brown, Shahana Rajani & Zahra Malkani, Moderation: Adania Shibli

Geschichte kann oft anhand eines Wandels von Landschaft erzählt werden – welche Elemente wurden beibehalten, welche verändert und welche wurden komplett abgeschafft? Die beiden hier vorgestellten Fallstudien befragen die Möglichkeiten filmischer Repräsentation und arbeiten mit unterschiedlichen künstlerischen Verfahren zur Lesbarmachung von Geschichte in Landschaft. Im Anschluss an die Vorführung diskutieren die Künstlerinnen ihre Arbeit, moderiert von Adania Shibli.

21h
Jinnah Avenue
Shahana Rajani & Zahra Malkani

Die Künstlerinnen Shahana Rajani und Zahra Malkani dokumentieren die aktuellen Diskussionen und militärischen Auseinandersetzungen rund um das megalomane Bauprojekt von Bahria Town in der Nähe von Karachi. Bei dem privat finanzierten Vorhaben wurden die indigenen Communities der Sindhi und Baloch verdrängt.

21.30h
Remote Sensations
Imani Jacqueline Brown

Als Auseinandersetzung mit dem Projekt Mississippi. An Anthropocene River im vergangenen Jahr legt die Künstlerin und Aktivistin Imani Jacqueline Brown eine Erzählstimme über Filme, die sie während der Reise auf dem Fluss selbst angefertigt hat und Bilder, die von Satelliten zur Fernerkundung aufgenommen wurden. Auf diese Weise entwickelt sie eine Technik der Wahrnehmung, die das Verschwinden des Flusses, wie sie ihn einst kannte, darzustellen vermag.