2019, Wed, Nov 27

“Of Mimicry and White Man”

With Rajkamal Kahlon, Erhard Schüttpelz and Kalpana R. Seshadri

Film still from Jean Rouch | Les maîtres fous, 1955, Les Films de la Pléiade

Film still from Jean Rouch | Les maîtres fous, 1955, Les Films de la Pléiade

Three talks question the problematic idea of a “reversed gaze”: Rajkamal Kahlon will consider forms of political and aesthetic resistance found in activist, philosophical and anthropological writings, e.g. by Bernice Johnson Reagon, Achille Mbembe and Julius Lips, to discuss her own practices of intervention into ethnographic archives. Kalpana R. Seshadri discusses the concept of colonial mimicry by situating it within the larger context of Race as a highly peculiar European system of managing and making sense of human diversity. Erhard Schüttpelz focusses on the entanglement of possession rituals and the medium of film in the works of disputed ethnologist Jean Rouch followed by a screening of two of his films.

6 pm Talk
Rajkamal Kahlon (artist)

In her talk, Rajkamal Kahlon will consider forms of political and aesthetic resistance found in the writings of Dr. Bernice Johnson Reagon, founder of the performance ensemble Sweet Honey in the Rock, philosopher Achille Mbembe and ethnologist Julius Lips. Through this lens, she will discuss her intervention into ethnographic archives resulting in her recent exhibition Staying With Trouble at the Weltmuseum Wien.

7 pm Talk
Kalpana R. Seshadri (Boston College, English Department)

Kalpana Seshadri discusses the concept of colonial mimicry by situating it within the larger context of Race as a highly peculiar European system of managing and making sense of human diversity. Her emphasis will be on the absence of a shared epistemology between colonizer and colonized, and the fundamental non-synchrony of their responses to each other. Given this radical incommensurability of meaning, the idea of such a thing as a "reversed gaze" appears to be highly problematic.

8 pm Talk
Erhard Schüttpelz (Professor for Media Theory, Universität Siegen)

Jean Rouch’s films Les Maîtres Fous and Jaguar are documents from the period shortly before decolonization, dealing with the African arts of resistance to colonial rule. They give a composite portrait of late colonial rule and paved the way both for the French Nouvelle Vague and for decades of film-making in Africa, including and inspiring African counter-versions and critique.
Erhard Schüttpelz’ talk will focus on recapitulating some of the historical trajectories involved in the making of these two films: the Hauka movement, the Songhay, British colonial rule, French colonial rule, colonial city life, Persian Letters and the figure of “Anthropology in reverse”, sculpture and dance, and the car called Jaguar.

9 pm Film screenings
Jaguar, Jean Rouch, 1967, 91 min
Les maîtres fous, Jean Rouch, 1955, 36 min

Jaguar is an improvised film fiction about the life of migrant workers finding their freedom by alternating between French and British colonies and their regimes, with the ideal of transforming into urban superiority: of becoming a Jaguar, a city dandy. Les Maîtres Fous shows the religious life: both personal relationships with and collective exorcisms of the gods of colonial violence, technology and indifference.

Mi, 27. November 2019

“Of Mimicry and White Man”

Mit Rajkamal Kahlon, Erhard Schüttpelz und Kalpana R. Seshadri

Filmstill aus Jean Rouch | Les maîtres fous, 1955, Les Films de la Pléiade

Filmstill aus Jean Rouch | Les maîtres fous, 1955, Les Films de la Pléiade

Drei Vorträge hinterfragen die problematische Idee des „umgekehrten Blicks“: Rajkamal Kahlon wird anhand einer Betrachtung von Formen des politischen und ästhetischen Widerstandes in aktivistischen, philosophischen und anthropologischen Schriften – beispielsweise von Bernice Johnson Reagon, Achille Mbembe und Julius Lips – ihre eigenen Praktiken der Intervention in ethnografische Archive erläutern. Um den Begriff der kolonialen Mimikry zu diskutieren, verortet Kalpana R. Seshadri ihn im weiteren Kontext von Race als einem höchst eigentümlichen europäischen System zur Verwaltung und Erklärung menschlicher Vielfalt. Erhard Schüttpelz beleuchtet die Verschränkung von Besessenheitsritualen mit dem Medium Film in den Arbeiten des umstrittenen Ethnologen Jean Rouch, gefolgt von einer Vorführung zweier seiner Filme.

18h Vortrag
Rajkamal Kahlon (Künstlerin)

In ihrem Vortrag befasst sich Rajkamal Kahlon mit Formen des politischen und ästhetischen Widerstands in den Schriften von Bernice Johnson Reagon, Gründerin des Performance-Ensembles Sweet Honey in the Rock, des Philosophen Achille Mbembe und des Ethnologen Julius Lips. Vor diesem Hintergrund erläutert sie ihre Praxis der Intervention in ethnografische Archive am Beispiel ihrer Ausstellung Staying With Trouble am Weltmuseum Wien.

19h Vortrag
Kalpana R. Seshadri (Boston College, English Department)

Um den Begriff der kolonialen Mimikry zu diskutieren, verortet Kalpana Seshadri ihn im weiteren Kontext von Race als einem höchst eigentümlichen europäischen System zur Verwaltung und Erklärung menschlicher Vielfalt. Dabei legt sie den Schwerpunkt auf das Fehlen einer gemeinsamen Epistemologie zwischen Kolonisierern und Kolonisierten sowie auf die grundsätzliche Nichtübereinstimmung ihrer jeweiligen Reaktionen aufeinander. Angesichts dieser radikalen Unvereinbarkeit von Bedeutungen erscheint die Idee eines „umgekehrten Blicks“ als hochproblematisch.

20h Vortrag
Erhard Schüttpelz (Professor für Medientheorie, Universität Siegen)

Die beiden Filme Les Maîtres Fous und Jaguar von Jean Rouch sind Dokumente aus der Zeit kurz vor der Entkolonialisierung, die sich mit afrikanischen Künsten des Widerstands gegen die koloniale Herrschaft beschäftigen. Sie ergeben ein zusammengesetztes Porträt der Spätzeit der Kolonialherrschaft und waren Wegbereiter sowohl für die französische Nouvelle Vague wie auch für Jahrzehnte des afrikanischen Filmschaffens, dem sie als Inspiration für afrikanische Gegenversionen und Kritiken dienten.
Der Vortrag von Erhard Schüttpelz wird einige der historischen Entwicklungslinien nachzeichnen, die in die Entstehung dieser beiden Filme eingeflossen sind: die Hauka-Bewegung, die Songhai, die britische Kolonialherrschaft, die französische Kolonialherrschaft, das koloniale städtische Leben, Persische Briefe und die Figur der „umgekehrten Anthropologie“, Skulptur und Tanz, und das Auto, das man Jaguar nennt.

21h Filmscreenings
Jaguar, Jean Rouch, 1967, 91 min, frz. OmeU
Les maîtres fous, Jean Rouch, 1955, 36 min, frz. OmeU

Jaguar ist eine improvisierte filmische Fiktion über das Leben von Wanderarbeiter*innen, die ihre Freiheit im Wechsel zwischen den französischen und den britischen Kolonien und ihren jeweiligen Regimen finden. Dabei verfolgen sie das Ideal, die Wandlung zu urbaner Überlegenheit zu vollziehen und zum “Jaguar”, einem städtischen Dandy, zu werden. Les Maîtres Fous zeigt das religiöse Leben: sowohl in seinen persönlichen Beziehungen zu den Göttern der kolonialen Gewalt, der Technologie und der Indifferenz wie auch die Rituale zu ihrer kollektiven Austreibung.