2019, Mon, Apr 152019, Thu, Apr 18

World, City, Workbench: Vocations in Berlin

People from all over the world are working together on a variety of projects, implementing their ideas and creating something new in Berlin. The four-day vacation workshop provides insights into various vocations in which creativity is crucial. On a tour through Berlin, participants learn about the trades behind the scenes of a theater, practice drawing graphic novels or make new things out of second-hand clothes.

bauhaus imaginista, exhibition view | © Laura Fiorio

bauhaus imaginista, exhibition view | © Laura Fiorio

Mon, Apr 15
Meeting place: 3.30pm, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10, 10557 Berlin, 6 pm, Maxim Gorki Theater, Am Festungsgraben 2, 10117 Berlin

A tour of the bauhaus imaginista exhibition will show how ideas from all over the world are incorporated into the design of buildings and artworks, curricula and textiles. How do people create new things together in a globalized world? And what vocations are involved in an exhibition like this?
Then, participants will visit Maxim Gorki Theater. The play The Situation takes place in a Neukölln German course with actors from Syria, Palestine and Israel.

Tue, Apr 16
Meeting place: 10.30 am, Maxim Gorki Theater, Am Festungsgraben 2, 10117 Berlin

What really goes on behind the scenes at a theater? At Maxim Gorki Theater participants will get to know a variety of theater professions. Then, in a photography workshop with Esra Rothoff, they’ll learn how to professionally showcase people with the camera.

© mediale pfade

© mediale pfade

Wed, Apr 17
Meeting place: 10.30 am, Theater X, Wiclefstraße 32, 10551 Berlin

At Theater X in Moabit, the comic and graphic novelist artist Ali Fitzgerald who’s been published in the New York Times and The Guardian will show how stories are put on paper.
Later, the mediale pfade team will demonstrate how to use a smartphone as a digital graffiti spray can. Participants can create their own pictures and messages that can be projected on any wall.

Thu, Apr 18
Meeting place: 10.30 am, Jan Kath Flagshipstore, Brunnenstraße 3, 10119 Berlin, 12.30 pm Schlesische Str. 27, 10997 Berlin

In the Jan Kath Flagshipstore in Mitte the workshop group will learn how fabric designers interweave textile traditions from all over the world with sources of inspiration like techno music to create designer carpets.

Textile patterns from different regions can be seen at the Schlesische 27 art lab in Kreuzberg. Under professional guidance, participants can redesign clothing they bring along or design their own bag.

With the kind support of Safrani Restaurant Charlottenburg

Mo, 15. April 2019Do, 18. April 2019

Welt, Stadt, Werkbank: Berufe in Berlin

Menschen aus aller Welt arbeiten in Berlin gemeinsam an unterschiedlichen Projekten, setzen ihre Ideen um und schaffen etwas Neues. Der viertägige Ferienworkshop gibt Einblicke in verschiedene Berufe, für die Kreativität eine wichtige Rolle spielt. Bei einer Tour durch Berlin erfahren die Teilnehmer*innen etwas über die Gewerke hinter den Kulissen eines Theaters, üben sich im Zeichnen von Graphic Novels oder lassen aus gebrauchten Kleidungsstücken Neues entstehen.

bauhaus imaginista, Ausstellungsansicht | © Laura Fiorio

bauhaus imaginista, Ausstellungsansicht | © Laura Fiorio

Mo 15.4.
Treffpunkt: 15.30h Haus der Kulturen der Welt, John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10, 10557 Berlin, 18h Maxim Gorki Theater, Am Festungsgraben 2, 10117 Berlin

Bei einer Tour durch die Ausstellung bauhaus imaginista wird deutlich, wie Ideen aus aller Welt in die Gestaltung von Gebäuden und Kunstwerken, Lehrplänen und Textilien einfließen. Wie schaffen Menschen in einer globalisierten Welt zusammen Neues? Und welche Berufe sind eigentlich an so einer Ausstellung beteiligt?
Im Anschluss besuchen die Teilnehmer*innen das Maxim Gorki Theater. Das Stück The Situation spielt in einem Neuköllner Deutschkurs mit Schauspieler*innen aus Syrien, Palästina und Israel.

Di 16.4.
Treffpunkt: 10.30h Maxim Gorki Theater, Am Festungsgraben 2, 10117 Berlin

Was geschieht eigentlich hinter den Kulissen eines Theaters? Im Maxim Gorki Theater lernen die Teilnehmer*innen verschiedene Theaterberufe kennen. In einem anschließenden Fotografie-Workshop mit Esra Rothoff erfahren sie, wie man Menschen mit der Kamera professionell in Szene setzt.

© mediale pfade

© mediale pfade

Mi 17.4.
Treffpunkt: 10.30h Theater X, Wiclefstraße 32, 10551 Berlin

In den Räumlichkeiten des Theater X in Moabit zeigt die Comic- und Graphic Novel-Zeichnerin Ali Fitzgerald, deren Arbeiten in der New York Times oder The Guardian erscheinen, wie man Geschichten auf Papier bringt.
Später zeigt das Team von mediale pfade, wie sich das Handy als digitale Graffiti-Sprühdose einsetzen lässt. Es entstehen persönliche Bilder und Botschaften, die an jede Wand geworfen werden können.

Do 18.4.
Treffpunkt: 10.30h Jan Kath Flagshipstore, Brunnenstraße 3, 10119 Berlin, 12.30h Schlesische Str. 27, 10997 Berlin

Im Jan Kath Flagshipstore in Mitte erfährt die Workshop-Gruppe, wie Textiltraditionen aus aller Welt von Stoffdesigner*innen mit Inspirationsquellen wie z.B. Technomusik zu Designerteppichen verknüpft werden.
Im Kunstlabor S27 in Kreuzberg sind Textilmuster aus verschiedenen Regionen zu sehen. Unter professioneller Anleitung können mitgebrachte Kleidungsstücke neu gestaltet oder eine Tasche designt werden.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Safrani Restaurant Charlottenburg