bauhaus imaginista


2019, Mar 15, Fri — 2019, Jun 10, Mon

Kurt Schwerdtfeger, Reflecting Color-Light-Play, 1922 | Reconstructed apparatus 2016, detail | Courtesy Microscope Gallery & Kurt Schwerdtfeger Estate

Kurt Schwerdtfeger, Reflecting Color-Light-Play, 1922 | Reconstructed apparatus 2016, detail | Courtesy Microscope Gallery & Kurt Schwerdtfeger Estate

Josef Albers | Black Mountain College student in costume for Valentine’s Day Ball, 1940, Detail | © The Josef and Anni Albers Foundation / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

Josef Albers | Black Mountain College student in costume for Valentine’s Day Ball, 1940, Detail | © The Josef and Anni Albers Foundation / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

University of Ife in Ile-Ife, Nigeria | Architects: Arieh Sharon, Eldar Sharon | Photo: © Arieh Sharon digital archive

University of Ife in Ile-Ife, Nigeria | Architects: Arieh Sharon, Eldar Sharon | Photo: © Arieh Sharon digital archive

The Otolith Group. O Horizon, 2018, film still | Courtesy and copyright the artists

The Otolith Group. O Horizon, 2018, film still | Courtesy and copyright the artists

bauhaus imaginista narrates the international histories of the Bauhaus. Since its foundation in 1919, the school was in contact with other avant-garde movements worldwide. bauhaus imaginista proposes a rereading of the Bauhaus as a cosmopolitan project with global resonances: A major exhibition and two conferences trace transnational relations, correspondences, and narratives of migration, going beyond the years the Bauhaus was active as a school (until 1933). For the first time, the project tracks the translation of Bauhaus concepts into different political and geographical contexts.

The title bauhaus imaginista hints at the imaginative possibilities which were opened up by the Bauhaus, and the multilayered interpretations that the term still denotes today. Between archival findings and contemporary contributions, the project translates the historical perspective into a set of contemporary questions: How, in the spirit of the Bauhaus, might culture be reimagined as a social project today? What kinds of institutions would such a project need? And in what ways does the Bauhaus still stimulate visionary practices and discourses today?

The exhibition places the Bauhaus in context with like-minded schools in other parts of the world. It reflects the artistic exploration of craft techniques, materials, and practices; examines how Bauhaus concepts on socially integrated design were transformed, adjusted, and challenged; and uncovers how the innovative use of media at the Bauhaus influences art and pop culture even today.

Since March 2018, exhibitions, symposia, and workshops in Rabat, Hangzhou, New York, Kyoto, and Tokyo, Moscow, Sao Paulo, Lagos, and Delhi have been realized in collaboration with the Goethe-Institutes and local partners. Now bauhaus imaginista culminates with an expanded overview at HKW.

Curated by Marion von Osten and Grant Watson in collaboration with a team of international researchers and artists. Curatorial Statement

With works by Anni Albers, Gertrud Arndt, Kader Attia, Lena Bergner, Nandalal Bose, Ahmed Cherkaoui, Alice Creischer, Zvi Efrat, Luca Frei, Walter Gropius, Doreen Mende, Hannes Meyer, Takehiko Mizutani, László Moholy-Nagy, Wendelien van Oldenborgh, Hélio Oiticica, The Otolith Group, Lygia Pape, Paulo Tavares, Iwao Yamawaki, and many more

A collaboration between the Bauhaus Cooperation Berlin Dessau Weimar, the Goethe-Institut and HKW

Part of 100 Years of Now

Exhibition, Conferences

Mar 15–Jun 10, 2019

bauhaus imaginista Journal

The online scientific publishing platform bauhaus-imaginista.org is home to details of the research processes and results of bauhaus imaginista.

University of Ife in Ile-Ife, Nigeria, Architekten: Arieh Sharon, Eldar Sharon, Foto: © Arieh Sharon digital archive
The Otolith Group. O Horizon, 2018, film still, Courtesy and copyright the artists

Fr., 15. März 2019 — Mo., 10. Juni 2019

bauhaus imaginista

Ausstellung, Konferenzen

15.03.–10.06.2019

bauhaus imaginista erzählt die internationale Geschichte des Bauhauses in vier Kapiteln. Noch nie wurden bisher die globalen Auswirkungen und lokalen Rückbezüge in diesem Umfang gezeigt. Nach Ausstellungen, Symposien und Workshops 2018 in Hangzhou, Kyoto und Tokyo, São Paulo, Lagos, Delhi, New York sowie Moskau, zeigt das HKW alle vier Kapitel des Ausstellungs- und Forschungsprojekts.

Seit seiner Gründung 1919 stand das Bauhaus in Kontakt mit avantgardistischen Bewegungen weltweit. bauhaus imaginista schlägt eine neue Lesart des Bauhauses als globaler Resonanzraum und kosmopolitisches Projekt vor: Eine Ausstellung und zwei Konferenzen verfolgen die transnationalen Beziehungen, die Korrespondenzen und Migrationsgeschichten, die über die Jahre des Bauhauses als Schule (bis 1933) hinausreichen. Das Projekt verfolgt erstmals die Übersetzung von Bauhaus-Konzepten in verschiedene politische und geografische Kontexte.

Der Titel bauhaus imaginista verweist auf den Imaginationsraum, den das Bauhaus öffnete, und die vielschichtigen Lesarten, die der Begriff bis heute birgt. Zwischen Archivmaterialien und zeitgenössischen Beiträgen übersetzt das Projekt historische Perspektiven in Fragen zur Gegenwart: Wie lässt sich heute im Sinne des Bauhauses Kultur als soziales Projekt neu denken? Welche Art von Institutionen braucht ein solches Projekt? Wie regt das Bauhaus noch heute visionäre Praktiken und Diskurse an?

Die Ausstellung reflektiert die künstlerische Erforschung von Handwerkstechniken, Materialitäten und Praktiken; untersucht, wie Konzepte des Bauhauses zur gesellschaftlichen Bedeutung von Gestaltung transformiert, angepasst oder auch in Frage gestellt wurden; und zeigt, wie der innovative Gebrauch von Medien am Bauhaus Kunst und Popkultur bis heute prägt.

Seit März 2018 entstanden Ausstellungen, Symposien und Workshops in Rabat, Hangzhou, New York, Kyoto und Tokio, Moskau, São Paulo, Lagos und Delhi in Zusammenarbeit mit den Goethe-Instituten und Partner*innen vor Ort. Im HKW entfaltet sich auf dieser Basis nun eine Gesamtschau von bauhaus imaginista.

Kuratiert von Marion von Osten und Grant Watson in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Team internationaler Forscher*innen und Künstler*innen
Zum kuratorischen Statement

Mit Arbeiten von Anni Albers, Gertrud Arndt, Kader Attia, Lena Bergner, Nandalal Bose, Ahmed Cherkaoui, Alice Creischer, Zvi Efrat, Luca Frei, Walter Gropius, Doreen Mende, Hannes Meyer, Takehiko Mizutani, László Moholy-Nagy, Wendelien van Oldenborgh, Hélio Oiticica, The Otolith Group, Lygia Pape, Paulo Tavares, Iwao Yamawaki u.v.a.

Eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Bauhaus Kooperation Berlin Dessau Weimar, dem Goethe-Institut und dem HKW

Im Rahmen von 100 Jahre Gegenwart