2019, Sat, May 11

A New School

University of Ife in Ile-Ife, Nigeria | Architects: Arieh Sharon, Eldar Sharon | Photo: © Arieh Sharon digital archive

University of Ife in Ile-Ife, Nigeria | Architects: Arieh Sharon, Eldar Sharon | Photo: © Arieh Sharon digital archive

The conference A New School explores the question of whether approaches to a radical art education of the 20th century are gaining relevance today in view of current socio-political conditions and whether they necessitate a reform of art and design education. On the first day, panels examine pedagogical concepts as well as new places of learning and schools in Brazil, China, Germany, Great Britain, India, Nigeria, Rwanda and the USA, and discuss their relevance for contemporary education. On the second day, three workshops foreground the haptic, manual and practical processes, which are often overshadowed by a cognitive approach, though equally important. They will explore what forms of collective learning and self-organization are significant in an age of global networking and what new kinds of knowledge and actions are needed to meet contemporary challenges.

Day 1 | Day 2

Welcome

Bernd Scherer

Introduction

11 am
Marion von Osten and Grant Watson, curators bauhaus imaginista

Panel 1: The Creation of New Art Schools and Their Social Conditions

11.30 am–1.30 pm

In the opening panel, the founding of the Bauhaus in 1919 is taken as a starting point to question international modern art and design schools in terms of the social conditions that made new institutions and new forms of learning necessary. Did the pedagogical and creative approaches emerge from civil society initiatives or were they state programs? Contributions by international scholars present various design schools, new teaching models and their objectives and ambitions as they were developed in India, the GDR and the USA at the beginning and middle of the 20th century.

"Form-giving is movement, action. Form-giving is life" (Paul Klee) – Towards a Tangible Pedagogy
Regina Bittner

In the epistemic context of a fundamental skepticism towards the existing knowledge system, the Bauhaus school was in pursuit of “unlearning”: dismissing conventional learning and promoting pre- linguistic, intuitive approaches- which also led to adoptions of non-academic modes of perception and included an interest in pre-modern knowledge systems. At the same time- the methods and learning techniques applied in the curriculum of the Bauhaus are embedded in a widespread international progressive education reform since the turn of the century and entangled with psycho-technologies, applied within formation of a “new man”. Three scenes within the experimental learning environment of the Bauhaus structures the talks critical reflection on the “newness” of the schools pedagogic endeavor.

A Virtual Cosmopolis: The Bauhaus and Khala Bhavan
Partha Mitter

The Bauhaus is renowned for its contribution to modernist architecture and design. Less known but equally significant is its pioneering role in opening up a transcultural network that created the conditions for global conversations on art and design as early as 1920s. One such example is the meeting of minds in Gropius’ early pedagogic principles and Rabindranath Tagore’s teaching ideals at the Kala Bhavan. Mitter traces the Bauhaus’ complex transcultural network. The communication revolution that followed colonial expansion in the 19th century led to the diffusion of hegemonic languages, which were disseminated worldwide through print capitalism. This “virtual cosmopolis,” a world of imagination, brought center and periphery closer, offering the conditions for global conversations that were not dependent on colonial power relations. Many of the main actors never met but they exchanged ideas through printed texts and images, thus creating the essential conditions of modernity.

Moving Away from Bauhaus and Ulm: The Evolution of the Foundation Program at the National Institute of Design, Ahmedabad
Suchitra Balasubrahmanyan

Established in 1961, the National Institute of Design (NID) became the first institution for design education in India, coming into existence at the intersection of postcolonial aspirations to design a new nation and the new citizen and Cold War cultural diplomacy. Images of undergraduate student work in the NID Foundation Program give the impression that the early Indian design teachers simply transplanted the contents of the Bauhaus preliminary course and the Grundlehre of the Ulm School of Design. Suchitra uncovers the thinking that led to the Foundation Program, explores the ways that it drew on the pedagogies developed at the Bauhaus and in Ulm and charts the diversions it made to be relevant to the evolving socio-cultural environment in India. Thus, the campus, the city and the village became sites and subjects for progressive and independent design education along with a unique pedagogic approach which melded modern design with traditional craft which continues to this day.

Muriel Cooper at MIT and the Persistence of the Bauhaus
Robert Wiesenberger

Designer, educator and researcher Muriel Cooper (1925–94) worked at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology for four decades. The first art director of the MIT Press, she gave form to seminal books such as The Bauhaus (1969) and Learning from Las Vegas (1972); as the co-founder of the Visible Language Workshop, she created an environment for experimental techniques in print, photography and video; and as the first woman tenured at the MIT Media Lab, she played an important role in shaping the way people interact with their screens. Wiesenberger will address the importance and surprising persistence of the Bauhaus and its ideas throughout Cooper’s long and varied career.

The Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee as the East-German successor to Bauhaus
Simone Hain

Among East-German art academies that were also exemplary for the West, Berlin-Weißensee holds a special position. With a program influenced by Mart Stam, the school was able to maintain its willful coherence and collective integrity even after his dismissal. Regarding Selman Selmanagić, the last head of the Communist Cell at the Bauhaus, the panel will reflect on the basic idea of the Bauhaus program, which was always critical of the system: Emancipation.

Moderation: Tom Holert

Panel 2: The Creation of New Learning Spaces

2.30 pm–4.30 pm

This panel discusses the design of new places of learning that emerged in the second half of the 20th century in China, Brazil and Nigeria in the context of independence movements and as counter-models to Western modernity. With contributions by architects and theoreticians, it presents designs from universities in Shanghai and Taiwan, a campus and a new cultural center in independent Nigeria in the 1960s, as well as a museum school from Brazil. Does the design and spatial order of these learning spaces also reflect a new form of learning and un-learning?

On Misunderstandings and Translations: Copies from the Past as Inspiration for the Future?
Eduard Kögel

Due to imperial structures and colonial dependency, the Western/Christian concept of time and space became inscribed in many cultures around the globe. In China, for example, the western world’s egocentric idea of space opposed geocentric bonds with the environment. Yet Western observers perceived a “copy-and-paste” behavior in China, which they felt denied creativity. What did the architects Walter Gropius and IM Pei in China or Hans Scharoun and Chen Kuen Lee in Germany make of this context?

The Legacy of Arieh Sharon’s Modernist Architecture at the Obafemi Awolowo University in Ile-Ife, Nigeria
Bayo Amole

Arieh Sharon’s postcolonial modernist Architecture at the Obafemi Awolowo University campus in Ile-Ife, Nigeria, is significant along many dimensions. These dimensions are explored in the architecture of the core area of the campus in order to suggest and illustrate their influences on the rest of the campus. First, it represents a departure from the colonial modernist architecture exemplified by the first university campus in Nigeria, the University of Ibadan, some eighty kilometers from Ile-Ife. Second, modernism is reinterpreted especially in relation to the modernist box and its climatic responses and the historical roots of the university campus as an architectural type. Third, Sharon gives physical expression to issues of Yoruba culture and identity including art. Amole illustrates the influences of these characteristics on the architectural prectice of other architects.

A Postcolonial Learning Space: The New Culture Studios in Ibadan, Nigeria
Demas Nwoko

The experience of Lina Bo Bardi´s Museum of Popular Art and School of Industrial Design and Crafts in Bahia, Brazil
Ana Carolina Bierrenbach

In the late 1950s, the Italian-Brazilian architect Lina Bo Bardi settled in Salvador de Bahia, Brazil, where she directed the Museum of Modern Art and founded the Museum of Popular Art. Her work there permitted her to document Brazil’s Northeast popular handicraft. Her intention was to use this knowledge to create a Brazilian school of industrial design and handicraft capable of satisfying the needs of the population. The military coup of 1964 abruptly ended her efforts.

Moderation: Kathrin Peters

Panel 3: Beyond The Curricula

5 pm–7 pm

To what extent does a curriculum encourage or prevent creative and artistic learning? The last panel will address the tension between established teaching programs and new fields of knowledge and practice outside the institution. What significance does design practice, for example, have as a learning process and local, non-institutionalized knowledge for contemporary design education? Which social and political questions have remained unanswered by art institutions to this day, and how could a contemporary cultural education look like that also recognizes other forms of knowledge?

Collapsing New People: Self-fashioning in the Leeds Art Experiment
Gavin Butt

In the 1970s the city of Leeds was noted as home of “the most influential art school in Europe since the Bauhaus,” and a thriving punk and post-punk music scene. Gavin Butt explores a small art school milieu in which avant-garde experiments in photography, performance, film and sound art gave shape to non-conformist presentations of the body and of sexual and gendered identity. The focus is upon the hitherto largely obscure work produced by Fine Art students at Leeds Polytechnic, including Marc Almond and Dave Ball (Soft Cell), Frank Tovey (Fad Gadget) among others. In the context of a surrounding culture of sexual violence and homophobia, Butt will show how the post-Coldstream British art school acted briefly as a laboratory for proto-queer self-fashioning – at least before funding cuts and bureaucratization began to negatively impress upon its operations from the mid-eighties onwards. The paper draws upon original interviews as well as hitherto unseen archival materials.

Non-Institutionalized Design-Education of the 1960s Post-Architectural Circuit Diagrams
Mark Wigley

The architect Konrad Wachsmann developed an extreme model of teaching that was meant to subvert the institutions in which it was housed and thereby subvert the repressive concepts of architecture structuring and restraining all socio-political transactions. His experiment began at the New Bauhaus in 1950 and tried to overcome the inability or unwillingness to fully engage with the world of electricity by the Bauhaus that the New Bauhaus had unwittingly inherited. The design of this ever more intricate and expansive counter-technique was ultimately more important than any designs it produced. Mark Wigley will explore the pedagogical experiments of Wachsmann from the early 1950s to the late 70s.

The African Design Centre, Rwanda
Christian Benimana

Africa is on a path towards unprecedented urban growth. As the continent copes with an estimated population boom of one billion people over the next twenty years, its cities require new infrastructures. Africa needs critical investment in the training and deployment of its most creative minds to offer new solutions to these infrastructural challenges. Nearly a century ago, the Bauhaus unleashed a modern movement which transformed architecture and design. As the institution closed in 1933, the Bauhaus movement’s core group spread across the world, launching firms and schools that trained the next generation of architects and imprinting an influence and ethic that still resonates today. With the African Design Centre, the MASS Design Group aims to launch a new Bauhaus of Africa, interdisciplinary and field-based: an educational fellowship program based in Kigali, Rwanda, to train the next generation of creative leaders in Africa.

Tembiapo porã rã, ma nhema’e rãta arandu re (In order for the result of our work to be good, a concentrated gaze on our knowledges is necessary)
Sandra Benites

In her talk, Sandra Benites sheds light on notions of knowledge and learning among the Guarani Nhandewa people in Brazil. She discusses the process of formation of the female and male body which follows different but complementary paths. Both processes – male and female – create familiarity with existing knowledges (arandu) while producing others, and thus give shape to bodies that are also territories. Art (tembiapo) is present in those individual bodies in movement, which are acquiring their own abilities but always live within the collective. The goal of those processes is a healthy – happy, active – body that knows how to hear and feel (hendu). For that to happen, it is fundamental that a number of certain elements are there, in the surroundings.

Moderation: Olga von Schubert

Wrap up

7 pm
With the contributors, moderated by Grant Watson and Marion von Osten, curators bauhaus imaginista

Day 1 | Day 2

Sa, 11. Mai 2019

A New School

University of Ife in Ile-Ife, Nigeria | Architekten: Arieh Sharon, Eldar Sharon | Foto: © Arieh Sharon digital archive

University of Ife in Ile-Ife, Nigeria | Architekten: Arieh Sharon, Eldar Sharon | Foto: © Arieh Sharon digital archive

Die Konferenz A New School geht der Frage nach, ob Ansätze einer radikalen Kunstpädagogik des 20. Jahrhunderts wieder an Relevanz gewinnen und gegenwärtige gesellschaftspolitische Bedingungen eine radikale Reform der Kunst- und Gestaltungsausbildung erforderlich machen. Am ersten Tag untersuchen Panels pädagogische Konzepte sowie neue Lernorte und Schulen in Brasilien, China, Deutschland, Großbritannien, Indien, Nigeria, Ruanda und in den USA und fragen nach ihrer Bedeutung für die zeitgenössische Bildung. Am zweiten Tag nehmen drei Workshops die Ausbildung in zeitgenössischer Kunst und Design in den Blick, und stellen haptische, manuelle und praktische Prozesse in den Vordergrund, die - obwohl ebenso wichtig - oft von einem kognitiven Ansatz überschattet werden. Die Workshops untersuchen, welche Wege kollektiven Lernens und der Selbstorganisation im Zeitalter globaler Vernetzung bedeutsam sind und welche neuen Wissensformen und Handlungsweisen es braucht, um gegenwärtigen Herausforderungen zu begegnen.

Tag 1 | Tag 2

Begrüßung

Bernd Scherer

Einführung

11h
Marion von Osten und Grant Watson, Kurator*innen bauhaus imaginista

Panel 1: Die Gründung neuer Kunsthochschulen und ihre sozialen Bedingungen

11.30–13.30h

Die Gründung des Bauhauses 1919 wird zum Anlass genommen, internationale Kunst- und Gestaltungsschulen der Moderne daraufhin zu befragen, welche gesellschaftlichen Bedingungen neue Institutionen und Lernformen notwendig machten. Gingen die pädagogischen und gestalterischen Ansätze aus zivilgesellschaftlichen Initiativen hervor oder waren sie staatliche Programme? Die Beiträge internationaler Kunstwissenschaftler*innen stellen unterschiedliche Gestaltungsschulen, neue Lehrmodelle und deren Zielsetzung vor, wie sie Anfang und Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts in Indien, der DDR und den USA entwickelt wurden.

„Formung ist Bewegung ist Tat. Formung ist Leben.“ (Paul Klee) – Auf dem Weg zu einer sinnlich erfahrbaren Pädagogik
Regina Bittner

Im erkenntnistheoretischen Kontext einer fundamentalen Skepsis gegenüber dem herrschenden Wissenssystem strebte die Bauhausschule ein “Verlernen” an: Sie verwarf das konventionelle Lernen und propagierte stattdessen vorsprachliche, intuitive Zugänge. Diese Ansätze führten auch zur Übernahme nicht-akademischer Modi der Wahrnehmung und sie brachten ein lebhaftes Interesse an vormodernen Wissenssystemen mit sich. Gleichzeitig sind die im Lehrplan des Bauhauses zum Einsatz kommenden Methoden und Lerntechniken in ein weitgespanntes internationales Netzwerk progressiver Bildungsreformen seit der Jahrhundertwende eingebettet und verschränken sich mit der Psychotechnik, die zur Formung eines “Neuen Menschen” eingesetzt wurde. Anhand von drei Szenen aus der experimentellen Lernumgebung des Bauhauses unternimmt der Vortrag eine kritische Reflexion der „Neuheit“ des pädagogischen Vorhabens der Schule.

A Virtual Cosmopolis: Das Bauhaus und Kala Bhavan
Partha Mitter

Das Bauhaus ist berühmt für seinen Beitrag zur modernen Architektur und zum Design. Weniger bekannt, aber ebenso bedeutsam ist seine Vorreiterrolle bei der Etablierung eines transkulturellen Netzwerks, das bereits in den 1920er Jahren den Grundstein für einen globalen Dialog über Kunst und Design legte. Ein Beispiel dafür ist das geistige Zusammentreffen von Gropius’ frühen pädagogischen Prinzipien und Rabindranath Tagores Unterrichtsidealen an der Kunstschule Kala Bhavan. Mitters Vortrag zeichnet das komplexe transkulturelle Netzwerk des Bauhauses nach. Die auf die koloniale Expansion im 19. Jahrhundert folgende Kommunikationsrevolution führte mittels des sich der Druckerpresse bedienenden „print capitalism“ zu einer weltweiten Ausbreitung hegemonialer Sprachen. Diese „virtuelle Kosmopolis“, eine imaginierte Welt, rückte Zentrum und Peripherie näher aneinander und schuf so die Bedingungen für einen globalen Dialog, der nicht von kolonialen Machtbeziehungen abhing. Viele der Hauptakteur*innen sind sich niemals persönlich begegnet, tauschten aber über gedruckte Texte und Bilder ihre Ideen aus und schufen auf diese Weise die wesentlichen Grundlagen der Modernität.

Moving Away From Bauhaus and Ulm: Die Entwicklung des Grundlagenkurses am National Institute of Design, Ahmedabad
Suchitra Balasubrahmanyan

Das 1961 gegründete National Institute of Design (NID) entwickelte sich zur ersten Einrichtung für das Designstudium in Indien. Es entstand an der Schnittstelle von postkolonialen Bestrebungen, eine neue Nation und eine*n „neue*n Bürger*in“ zu entwerfen, und der Kulturdiplomatie des Kalten Krieges. Bilder von der studentischen Arbeit in den ersten Semestern im „Foundation Program“ genannten Grundlagenkurs des NID erwecken den Eindruck, dass die frühen indischen Design-Dozent*innen lediglich die Inhalte des Bauhaus-Vorkurses und der Grundlehre der Hochschule für Gestaltung Ulm übernommen hätten. Der Vortrag von Suchitra Balasubrahmanyan zeigt auf, welche Überlegungen zum Foundation Program führten, untersucht, in welcher Weise der Kurs auf die am Bauhaus und in Ulm entwickelten Pädagogiken zurückgriff, und verfolgt die Abweichungen, die vorgenommen wurden, um ihn an die spezifischen Entwicklungen der sozio-kulturellen Umgebung in Indien anzupassen. Auf diese Weise wurden der Campus, die Stadt und das Dorf zu Orten und Subjekten einer progressiven und unabhängigen Designausbildung, und zwar im Zusammenspiel mit einem einzigartigen, bis heute verfolgten pädagogischen Ansatz, der moderne Gestaltung mit traditionellem Handwerk verbindet.

Muriel Cooper am MIT und das Fortleben des Bauhauses
Robert Wiesenberger

Die Designerin, Pädagogin und Forscherin Muriel Cooper (1925–94) arbeitete vier Jahrzehnte lang am Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Als erste Art-Direktorin der MIT Press verlieh sie wegweisenden Büchern wie The Bauhaus (1969) und Learning from Las Vegas (1972) Gestalt. Als Mitbegründerin des Visible Language Workshop schuf sie eine Arbeitsumgebung für experimentelle Techniken in Druckgrafik, Fotografie und Video. Und als erste weibliche Lehrstuhlinhaberin am MIT Media Lab spielte sie eine bedeutende Rolle bei der Ausgestaltung der Interaktionen zwischen Menschen und ihren Bildschirmen. Wiesenbergers Vortrag beleuchtet die Bedeutung und das überraschende Fortwirken des Bauhauses und seiner Ideen im Verlauf von Coopers langer und abwechslungsreicher Karriere.

Die Kunsthochschule in Berlin-Weißensee als Bauhausnachfolgerin in der DDR
Simone Hain

Unter den auch für den Westen vorbildlichen Kunsthochschulen der DDR spielt die von Berlin-Weißensee eine besondere Rolle. Programmatisch von Mart Stam geprägt, hat die Schule über dessen Entlassung hinaus eine eigensinnige Kohärenz und kollektive Integrität behaupten können. In Bezug auf Selman Selmanagić, den letzten Leiter der Kommunistischen Zelle am Bauhaus, wird der durchlaufende systemkritische Grundgedanke der Bauhausprogrammatik reflektiert: Emanzipation.

Moderation: Tom Holert

Panel 2: Die Gründung neuer Lernorte

14.30–16.30h

Das Panel diskutiert die Gestaltung neuer Lernorte, die in der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts in China, Brasilien und Nigeria im Kontext von Unabhängigkeitsbewegungen und als Gegenmodelle zur westlichen Moderne entstanden sind. Es stellt mit Beiträgen von Architekt*innen und Theoretiker*innen Entwürfe von Universitäten in Shanghai und Taiwan, einen Campus und ein neues Kulturzentrum im unabhängigen Nigeria der 1960er Jahre, sowie eine Museumsschule aus Brasilien vor. Spiegelt die Gestaltung und räumliche Ordnung dieser Lernorte auch neuen Form des Lernens und Verlernens?

Über Missverständnisse und Übersetzungen: Vorlagen aus der Vergangenheit als Inspiration für die Zukunft?
Eduard Kögel

Durch imperiale Strukturen und koloniale Abhängigkeit konnte sich die christlich-abendländische Auffassung von Zeit und Raum in viele Kulturen rund um den Globus einschreiben. So stand in China einerseits die egozentrische Raumauffassung der westlichen Welt einer geozentrischen Einbindung in die Umwelt gegenüber. Anderseits glaubten westliche Beobachter*innen, in China ein Copy-and-Paste-Verhalten zu beobachten, dem sie jede Kreativität absprachen. Was machten die Architekten Walter Gropius und IM Pei in China oder Hans Scharoun und Chen Kuen Lee in Deutschland aus diesem Kontext?

Das Vermächtnis von Arieh Sharons modernistischer Architektur an der Obafemi Awolowo University in Ile-Ife, Nigeria
Bayo Amole

Arieh Sharons postkoloniale modernistische Architektur auf dem Campus der Obafemi Awolowo University in Ile-Ife ist in vielerlei Hinsicht bedeutsam. Der Vortrag verfolgt diese unterschiedlichen Dimensionen in der Architektur des zentralen Bereichs des Campus, um zu zeigen, welchen Einfluss sie auf den übrigen Campus hatte. Erstens markiert sie eine Abkehr von der kolonialen modernistischen Architektur, die beispielhaft auf dem ersten Universitätscampus in Nigeria – der University of Ibadan, die ca. 80 Kilometer von Ile-Ife entfernt liegt – realisiert worden ist. Zweitens erfährt die Moderne hier eine Neuinterpretation, insbesondere in Bezug auf die modernistische architektonische „Schachtel“ und ihre klimatischen Bedingungen und im Hinblick auf die historischen Wurzeln des Universitätscampus als eigener Architekturgattung. Drittens verleiht Sharon Aspekten der Yoruba-Kultur, ihrer Identität und Kunst, einen physischen Ausdruck. Amoles Vortrag veranschaulicht, welchen Einfluss diese Besonderheiten auf die Entwurfs- und Baupraxis anderer Architekt*innen ausgeübt haben.

A Postcolonial Learning Space: The New Culture Studios in Ibadan, Nigeria
Demas Nwoko

Lina Bo Bardis Museu de Arte Popular und die Schule für Industriedesign und Kunsthandwerk in Bahia, Brasilien
Ana Carolina Bierrenbach

In den späten 1950er Jahren ließ sich die Architektin Lina Bo Bardi im brasilianischen Salvador da Bahia nieder, wo sie die Leitung des Museu de Arte Moderna da Bahia übernahm und das Museu de Arte Popular gründete. Ihre dortige Arbeit ermöglichte es ihr, das volkstümliche Kunsthandwerk aus dem Nordosten Brasiliens zu dokumentieren. Es war ihr Ziel, dieses Wissen zum Aufbau einer brasilianischen Hochschule für Industriedesign und Kunsthandwerk zu nützen, die in der Lage wäre, die Bedürfnisse der Bevölkerung zu bedienen. Der Militärputsch von 1964 bereitete ihren Unternehmungen ein abruptes Ende.

Moderation: Kathrin Peters

Panel 3: Beyond The Curricula

17–19h

Inwieweit ist ein Curriculum eine Hilfe oder ein Hindernis für gestalterisches und künstlerisches Lernen? Im letzten Panel wird die Spannung zwischen Lehrprogrammen und neuen Wissens- und Praxisfeldern außerhalb der Institution thematisiert. Welche Bedeutung hat die gestalterische Praxis als Lernprozess und lokales, nicht-institutionalisiertes Wissen für eine zeitgenössische Gestaltungsausbildung? Welche sozialen und politischen Fragen bleiben bis heute von Kunstinstitutionen unbeantwortet und wie könnte eine zeitgemäße kulturelle Bildung aussehen, die auch andere Formen des Wissens und Lernens anerkennt?

Collapsing New People: Self-Fashioning im Leeds Art Experiment
Gavin Butt

In den 1970er Jahren galt Leeds als die Heimat der „einflussreichsten Kunsthochschule in Europa seit dem Bauhaus“ und war Schauplatz einer florierenden Musikszene des Punk und Postpunk. Gavin Butt beleuchtet ein überschaubares Art-School-Milieu, das mit avantgardistischen Experimenten in Fotografie, Performance-Kunst, Film und Klangkunst zur Herausbildung nonkonformistischer Körper-Darbietungen beitrug und die Formierung abweichender sexueller und geschlechtlicher Identitäten prägte. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf dem bislang größtenteils unbekannten Werk von Studenten der bildenden Kunst an der Universität Leeds Polytechnic, darunter neben anderen Marc Almond und Dave Ball von Soft Cell und Frank Tovey (Fad Gadget). Im Kontext eines kulturellen Klimas der sexuellen Gewalt und Homophobie zeigt Butt auf, wie in der Nach-Coldstream-Ära die britische Art School sich für kurze Zeit in ein Laboratorium für proto-queere Selbststilisierungen verwandelte – zumindest bis Budgetkürzungen und zunehmende Bürokratisierung sich ab Mitte der Achtziger Jahre negativ auf den Betrieb auszuwirken begannen. Der Vortrag stützt sich auf eigens geführte Interviews und bislang ungesehenes Archivmaterial.

Post-Architectural Circuit Diagrams: Die nicht-institutionelle Designausbildung der 1960er Jahre
Mark Wigley

Der Architekt Konrad Wachsmann entwickelte ein extremes Modell der Lehre, das danach trachtete, die Institutionen, in denen es angesiedelt war, zu unterwandern und auf diese Weise das alle sozio-politischen Transaktionen strukturierende und einschränkende repressive Denken der Architektur zu untergraben. Sein Experiment begann 1950 am New Bauhaus und versuchte sich an einer Überwindung der Unfähigkeit oder Unwilligkeit des Bauhauses, sich ganz auf die Welt der Elektrizität einzulassen; ein Erbe, das das New Bauhaus unbewusst übernommen hatte. Das Design dieser immer komplizierter und ausladender werdenden Gegen-Technik war letzten Endes wichtiger als alle Entwürfe, die sie hervorbrachte. Mark Wigley erkundet in seinem Vortrag die pädagogischen Experimente Wachsmanns von den frühen 1950er bis in die späten 1970er Jahren.

Das African Design Centre in Ruanda
Christian Benimana

Afrika befindet sich auf einem beispiellosen urbanen Wachstumspfad. Da der Kontinent ein geschätztes Bevölkerungswachstum von einer Milliarde Menschen in den kommenden zwanzig Jahren bewältigen muss, brauchen seine Städte neue Infrastrukturen. Afrika benötigt gewaltige Investitionen für die Ausbildung und den Einsatz seiner kreativsten Köpfe, um neue Lösungen für diese infrastrukturellen Herausforderungen zu entwickeln. Vor fast einhundert Jahren trat das Bauhaus eine moderne Bewegung los, die Architektur und Design tiefgreifend veränderte. Nach der Schließung der Institution 1933 verstreute sich die Kerngruppe der Bauhausbewegung über die ganze Welt, lancierte Firmen und Schulen, in denen die nächste Architekt*innengeneration ausgebildet wurde, und übte mit seiner Ethik einen bis heute prägenden Einfluss aus. Mit dem African Design Centre möchte die MASS Design Group ein neues afrikanisches Bauhaus gründen, interdisziplinär und feldforschungsorientiert: ein in Kigali, Ruanda angesiedeltes Stipendienprogramm soll dazu dienen, die nächste Generation kreativer Führungskräfte in Afrika auszubilden.

Tembiapo porã rã, ma nhema’e rãta arandu re (In order for the result of our work to be good, a concentrated gaze on our knowledges is necessary)
Sandra Benites

In ihrem Vortrag beleuchtet Sandra Benites Konzepte des Wissens und Lernens beim Volk der Guarani Nhandewa in Brasilien. Sie spricht über den Prozess der Formierung des weiblichen und des männlichen Körpers, der jeweils unterschiedlichen aber komplementären Pfaden folgt. Beide Prozesse – der männliche und der weibliche – erzeugen eine Vertrautheit mit existierenden Wissensbeständen (arandu), erzeugen andere Wissensformen und formen so Körper, die zugleich als Territorien fungieren. Kunst (tembiapo) zeigt sich in diesen individuellen, in Bewegung befindlichen Körpern, die ihre jeweils eigenen Fähigkeiten erwerben, aber immer innerhalb des Kollektivs leben. Das Ziel dieser Prozesse ist ein gesunder – glücklicher, aktiver – Körper, der weiß, wie man hört und fühlt (hendu). Damit das erreicht werden kann, ist es entscheidend, dass eine Reihe spezifischer Elemente vorhanden sind.

Moderation: Olga von Schubert

Abschlussdiskussion

19h
Mit den Beitragenden, Moderation: Grant Watson und Marion von Osten, Kurator*innen bauhaus imaginista

Tag 1 | Tag 2