Wed, Jun 26–Mon, Jul 1: Road closures and traffic obstructions around HKW. More…

2018, Sat, Nov 03

Radiophonic Funkkolleg V: The Seeking Ear

With Verena Kuni, Hassan Khan, Anna Zett, and Cevdet Erek

Radiophonic space is an uncanny space: Over and again, the ear slips, hears meaning where there is only noise, and is called upon by disembodied voices. It is not without reason that in its early days, radio was discovered as a spiritual medium. The technical mediation of sound increased its diversity drastically, creating sounds that only gradually could be provided with meaning. What power do these noises from the apparatus have? How free is the ear in the search for and determination of meaning? What do we really know about the space between transmitter and receiver?

Media scientist Verena Kuni explores the boundaries between learning and unlearning patterns. The artist and musician Hassan Khan invites transmitter and receiver to the Funkkolleg to enter into a dialogue. The artist and author Anna Zett draws upon cartomancy to explore the agency of voices detached from faces. In a musical performance, the artist and musician Cevdet Erek liberates the radio pieces from their meaning and turns them back into sound.

Verena Kuni: Pattern Recognition
Without pattern recognition, the world would not be sound, but perpetual noise for us. This is especially the case for radio: listening means wanting to recognize; but if sounds are only understandable when recognized, how then can the repertoire of patterns ever grow? And what happens when patterns are recognized where there are none? In her contribution, Verena Kuni undertakes a radiophonic journey along the boundaries between pattern recognition and pattern de-cognition.

Hassan Khan: Stuffed Creatures Also Have a Life
“There are no conditions or shapes or forms. This is only a conversation. This is only the chart before the wind falls. This is only the boat. Only the moment of hope. Only the darkest star. To see far. Let me begin again. What am I here? A stuffed creature. A memory from a trip. Try to broadcast. To call out. What’s your name? What’s your name? What’s your name? What’s your name? That rhyme is not what it seems to be. True to form. To the phonic in the sonic arrangement. To the grinding stone. To the loss. To the hearing aid. To the gently swerving coming down the road. I colonized the world with my voice.”

Anna Zett: Minimal Manipulation
The basis of every conversation is that its participants influence each other—whether consciously or unconsciously—even if it is only that the speaker encourages the listener to listen and the listener encourages the speaker to speak. The radiophonic situation prevents certain forms of communication and makes others possible. Which means of mutual influence are available to speakers and listeners in the institutional framework of an auditorium? Anna Zett’s contribution encounters the Funkkolleg as a space of contactless and faceless manipulations. With the help of a deck of cards adapted from the Tarot, she examines the dense network of associative connections between hand and voice in the symbolic cosmos of democracy.

Cevdet Erek: RA RS P RP II
The fundamental radiophonic skill is to decipher information and signification from the rhythm and rustle of the radio transmission. This skill is the precondition for all the works presented at Radiophonic Spaces, for which Cevdet Erek designed the spatial structure. For RA RS P RP II, the linear and strict scheduling of a typical radio broadcast is taken as a point of departure to organize the material in a varying temporal grid while accenting the structure with percussive material to import musical quality to the overall composition. This piece also explores the sonic qualities of speech based in radiophonic works, and leaves language-related limits of understanding behind—speakers of any language can access it. Thus, Erek unravels the individual signification of the works he uses, returning them to a pristine state of pure radiophonics.
RA RS P RP II was commissioned by Deutschlandfunk Kultur and will be broadcasted on Nov 23, 2018 at 12.05 am in the program Klangkunst.

Part of Der Ohrenmensch

Sa, 03. November 2018

Radiophones Funkkolleg V: Das Suchende Ohr

Mit Verena Kuni, Hassan Khan, Anna Zett und Cevdet Erek

Der radiophone Raum ist ein unheimlicher Raum. Immer wieder rutscht das Ohr ab, hört Bedeutung, wo nur Rauschen ist, wird angerufen von körperlosen Stimmen. Nicht ohne Grund wurde der Radioapparat in seiner Frühzeit auch als spiritistisches Medium entdeckt. Mit der technischen Vermittlung von Geräusch explodiert die Vielfalt des Hörbaren, die erst nach und nach mit Sinn versehen werden kann. Welche Macht haben diese Geräusche aus den Apparaten? Wie frei ist das Ohr bei der Suche und der Bestimmung von Sinn? Was wissen wir wirklich über den Raum zwischen Sender und Empfänger?

Die Kunst- und Medienwissenschaftlerin Verena Kuni erforscht die Grenzen zwischen Mustererkennung und -verkennung. Der Künstler und Musiker Hassan Khan lädt Sender und Empfänger zum Dialog ins Funkkolleg. Die Künstlerin und Autorin Anna Zett untersucht mit Hilfe einer Kartenlegung die Handlungsmöglichkeiten von Stimmen, die von individuellen menschlichen Gesichtern entkoppelt sind. Der Künstler und Musiker Cevdet Erek befreit in einer Performance die Hörstücke aus dem Radioarchiv von Sinn und führt sie zurück ins Geräusch.

Verena Kuni: Mustererkennung
Ohne Mustererkennung wäre die Welt für das menschliche Ohr nicht Klang, sondern immerwährendes Rauschen. So auch im Radioraum: Hinhören heißt wiedererkennen wollen. Wenn aber das, was der Mensch als Lautsignal versteht, stets auf Mustererkennung basiert, wie kann sich dann das Repertoire der Rapporte erweitern? Und was passiert, wenn Muster erkannt werden, wo keine sind? Verena Kuni unternimmt in ihrem Beitrag eine radiophone Erkundungsreise entlang der Grenzen, die zwischen Mustererkennung und -verkennung verlaufen.

Hassan Khan: Stuffed Creatures Also Have a Life
„Es gibt keine Voraussetzungen oder Formen. Dies ist nur ein Gespräch. Dies ist nur die Karte, bevor der Wind nachlässt. Das ist nur das Boot. Nur der Moment der Hoffnung. Nur der dunkelste Stern. Auf das Sehen in die Ferne! Lassen Sie mich noch einmal von vorne beginnen. Was bin ich hier? Eine ausgestopfte Kreatur. Eine Erinnerung an eine Reise. Versuchen Sie, zu senden. Zu rufen. Wie heißt Du? Wie heißt Du? Wie heißt Du? Wie heißt Du? Dieser Reim ist nicht das, was er zu sein scheint. Formgerecht. Auf die Phonie in der Klangwelt. Auf den Schleifstein. Auf den Verlust. Auf das Hörgerät. Auf den sanft geschwungenen Weg, die Straße hinunter. Ich habe die Welt mit meiner Stimme kolonisiert.”

Anna Zett: Minimale Manipulation
Die Grundlage eines jeden Gesprächs ist die gegenseitige Beeinflussung seiner Beteiligten – und sei es nur, dass Sprechende ihr Gegenüber zum Zuhören, Zuhörende ihr Gegenüber zum Sprechen bewegen. Die radiophone Situation verhindert bestimmte Formen der Kommunikation und ermöglicht andere. Welche Mittel der gegenseitigen Beeinflussung sind Sprechenden und Hörenden im institutionellen Rahmen eines Auditoriums zugänglich? Anna Zetts Beitrag begegnet der Hörbühne als einem Raum der kontakt- und gesichtslosen Handgriffe. Mit Hilfe eines vom Tarot adaptierten Kartendecks untersucht sie das dichte Netz an assoziativen Verbindungen zwischen Hand und Stimme im symbolischen Kosmos der Demokratie.

Cevdet Erek: RA RS P RP II
Die Grundlage der Radiophonie besteht darin, Informationen und Bedeutungen aus dem Rhythmus und Rauschen des Radios zu entschlüsseln. Diese Fähigkeit ist Voraussetzung für alle Arbeiten des begehbaren Radioarchivs Radiophonic Spaces, für das Cevdet Erek die Szenografie entworfen hat. Für RA RS P RP II nimmt Erek die lineare Form einer typischen Radiosendung zum Ausgangspunkt, um ausgewähltes Material aus Radiophonic Spaces neu zu arrangieren. RA RS PR P II untersucht die klanglichen und rhythmischen Qualitäten von Sprache und lässt so die Grenzen der sprachlichen Bedeutung hinter sich. Damit befreit Erek die Arbeiten der Radiokunst aus ihrem konkreten Sinnzusammenhang und führt sie zurück in den Zustand der reinen Radiophonie.
RA RS P RP II entstand im Auftrag von Deutschlandfunk Kultur und wird dort am 23.11.2018 um 0.05h in der Sendung Klangkunst ausgestrahlt.

Teil von Der Ohrenmensch