Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2015, Sat, Oct 03

Time’s Attack on the Rest of Life: Revolution

With Guo Jinniu, Yang Lian, Martin Mosebach, Yongle Zhang, YoYo, and Lena Stolze

Time as a governing system is manifest in all realms of life. In the global village of technological time everyone can receive information any time from every possible place. There are no limits to wireless communication. It forms the basis for financial markets and in turn permanently speeds up the world. The future is already being used up by the present and blocked by huge amounts of data, trash and debt. With real-time communication and global mobility two time resources were lost: our sense of the past, which lends us our identity, and the utopian potential of our future.
During the opening of “100 Years of Now,” four events examine the period of one hundred years as a space for historical imagination of varying dimensions and nexuses of time: Which forces shape the dominant concept of time in accelerated capitalism? How does it affect our perception and interpretation of the world? How is time produced in experiments and in the laboratory? How do historical events, texts and cultures become spaces we can experience? And how do other notions of time enable alternative courses of action?

The working conditions at major Chinese concerns such as Foxconn are striking manifestations of the immense collateral damage produced by the belief in capitalist progress: While the factory workers are subject to an inhuman time regime, the mobile telephones and tablet computers they produce contribute to the expansion of global real-time communication. For many Chinese workers the only place they can find self-determined time is in poetry where another, non-linear understanding of time is possible: In the Chinese language verbs do not have a tense. What relationship does European and Chinese literature have to the concept of time? Did the belief in progress arrive in China with the cultural revolution? What role does the history of China’s revolutions and constitutions play in this context?
The literary texts will be read in the Chinese original, the actress Lena Stolze reads the German versions.


Biographies

Guo Jinniu, born in Hebei, China, and now living in Shenzhen, used to be a migrant worker in South China, where he worked at the Foxconn factory for some time. One of his responsibilities there was the installation of safety nets to stop employees committing suicide by jumping from the factory buildings. Guo has published poems and stories in China, and his poems have been translated into English, German, Dutch and Czech. His Chinese collection of poems, named Going Home on Paper has won numerous prizes worldwide. In English his poems can be found in the collection A Massively Single Number, published by Yang Lian.

Yang Lian is a Chinese poet living in Berlin. His numerous volumes of poetry, prose and essays, including YI, Where the Sea Stands Still, Concentric Circles, Riding Pisces: Poems from Five Collections, have been translated into more than 25 languages. He has been awarded many poetry prizes in China and other countries, among others the International Capri Prize 2014, the Tian Duo (Heavenly Bell) prize for the long poem 2013 and the Nonino International Literature Prize 2012. Yang Lian has been elected a board member of PEN International, has taught at several Chinese universities, was a DAAD fellow in Berlin and a fellow of Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin.

Martin Mosebach, born in Frankfurt am Main, has lived there as a freelance writer since completing his second State Examination in law. His first novel was published in 1983. He wrote ten novels, most recently Das Blutbuchenfest. He also published poetry, short stories, libretti and essays. He has received numerous awards including the 1999 Heimito von Doderer Literature Prize, the 2002 Kleist Prize, the 2007 Georg Büchner Prize and the 2015 Goethe Plakette of the City of Frankfurt am Main. He is member of the Akademie für Sprache und Dichtung in Darmstadt, of the Akademie der Künste Berlin-Brandenburg and of the Bayrische Akademie der Schönen Künste. He was fellow at the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin and the Wissenschaftskolleg Morphomata of the University of Cologne. In 2014 he was fellow at the Deutsche Akademie Villa Massimo in Rome and in 2015 of the C.F. von Siemens-Stiftung in Munich.

Lena Stolze is an actress and lives in Berlin. After studying art history and German language and literature she began training as an actress at the Max Reinhardt Seminar in Vienna in 1975. From 1977 she performed, amongst others, at the Vienna Burgtheater, the Residenztheater in Munich and the Thalia Theater in Hamburg. Lena Stolze also gained a reputation as a screen actress, playing the role of Sophie Scholl in Michael Verhoeven’s film Die weiße Rose and Percy Adlon’s Fünf letzte Tage from 1982. A further major international success was Stolze’s comic role in Das schreckliche Mädchen (1990/ Michael Verhoeven). Stolze has received numerous awards, including two German Film Awards. She has worked, amongst others, with Michael Haneke, Marleen Gorris, Christoph Roehl, Robert Thalheim and Margarethe von Trotta and is a Film Academy and European Film Prize jury member.

YoYo (Liu Youhong) is a writer and artist based in Berlin. Her novel Ghost Tide (2005) has been translated into English. YoYo has taught at several universities such as Eton College, Windsor, and at the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London. Her artistic work includes performances and paintings, which were exhibited in the Berlin Avantgarde gallery in 2013. YoYo has been invited to take up writer-in-residence positions and arts projects in China, USA and throughout Europe, among others at the University of Shantou, Guangdong province, China; at Yaddo, an artist colony in New York; the Akademie Schloss Solitude and the Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst in Germany; at the Centro Civitella Ranieri in Italy; at Cove Park in England and at MEET in France.

Yongle Zhang is a constitutional historian as well as political theorist. After he received his PhD at the Department of Political Science at the University of California, Los Angeles, he is now Professor for Legal History at Peking University. His book The Remaking of an Old Country: 1911‒1917 (2011) introduces theoretical perspectives of comparative history on empires and state-building, and analyzes different political and legal approaches that aim at reintegrating the huge Chinese territory. In contrast to the mainstream historiography on the Revolution of 1911, he shifts the focus from the revolutionary rupture to compromise and continuity and shows how the belief in progress entered China.

Sa, 03. Oktober 2015

Der Angriff der Zeit auf das übrige Leben: Revolution

Mit Guo Jinniu, Martin Mosebach, Yang Lian, Yongle Zhang, YoYo und Lena Stolze

Das Ordnungssystem Zeit durchdringt alle Lebensbereiche. Im „global village“ der technologischen Zeit kann jeder zu jedem Zeitpunkt von jedem erdenklichen Ort Informationen erhalten. Der drahtlosen Kommunikation sind keine Grenzen gesetzt. Als Grundlage der Finanzmärkte treibt sie die permanente Beschleunigung der Welt voran. Die Zukunft wird bereits von der Gegenwart aufgebraucht und mit riesigen Mengen von Daten, Müll und Schulden zugebaut. Unter den Bedingungen von Echtzeitkommunikation und globaler Mobilität gehen zwei Zeitressourcen verloren: Die Sinn und Identität stiftende Vergangenheit, und eine Zukunft, die utopische Gegenentwürfe zum Jetzt erlaubt.
Im Rahmen des Auftakts von „100 Jahre Gegenwart“ untersuchen vier Veranstaltungen den Zeitraum von hundert Jahren als historischen Imaginationsraum unterschiedlicher Ausdehnungen und Verknüpfungen von Zeit: Was prägt die gegenwärtig vorherrschende Auffassung von Zeit im beschleunigten Kapitalismus? Wie beeinflusst sie unsere Wahrnehmung und Deutung der Welt? Wie wird Zeit im Experiment und im Labor hergestellt? Wie werden historische Ereignisse, Texte und Kulturen zu erfahrbaren Räumen? Und wie könnten andere Zeitvorstellungen Handlungsspielräume eröffnen?

Die Arbeitsbedingungen bei chinesischen Konzernen wie Foxconn machen die immensen Kollateralschäden des kapitalistischen Fortschrittsglaubens deutlich: Während die Fabrikarbeiter*innen selbst einem unmenschlichen Zeitregime unterworfen sind, tragen die von ihnen hergestellten Mobiltelefone und Tablets zur Ausweitung globaler Echtzeitkommunikation bei. Selbstbestimmte Zeit finden viele chinesische Arbeiter*innen nur in der Beschäftigung mit Poesie, in der ein anderes, nicht-lineares Zeitverständnis möglich ist: Im Chinesischen haben Verben keine Zeitform. In welchem Verhältnis stehen die Literaturen Chinas und Europas zum Konzept der Zeit? Kam der Fortschrittsglaube schon mit der Kulturrevolution nach China? Welche Rolle spielt die Geschichte der chinesischen Umstürze und Verfassungen in diesem Zusammenhang?
Die literarischen Texte werden im chinesischen Original gelesen, die Schauspielerin Lena Stolze liest die deutschen Fassungen.

Guo Jinniu, Dichter, ehemaliger Foxconn-Arbeiter, Shenzhen, Yang Lian, Dichter, Berlin, Martin Mosebach, Schriftsteller, Frankfurt am Main, Lena Stolze, Schauspielerin, Berlin, Yongle Zhang, Verfassungstheoretiker, Beijing, YoYo, Autorin, Berlin


Biografien

Guo Jinniu wurde im chinesischen Hebei geboren und lebt jetzt in Shenzhen. Für einige Zeit arbeitete er als Wanderarbeiter in Südchina in einer Foxconn-Fabrik. Dort bestand eine seiner Aufgaben darin, Sicherheitsnetze anzubringen, um die Angestellten davon abzuhalten, Selbstmord zu begehen, indem sie sich von den Fabrikgebäuden stürzen. Guo hat Gedichte und Geschichten in China veröffentlicht und seine Gedichte sind ins Englische, Deutsche, Niederländische und Tschechische übersetzt worden. Seine chinesische Gedichtsammlung, deren Titel sich mit Heimkehr auf dem Papier übersetzen lässt, gewann weltweit zahlreiche Preise. Auf Deutsch erschienen seine Gedichte bisher nur vereinzelt in Tageszeitungen, auf Englisch erschienen sie in dem von Yang Lian herausgegebenen Band A Massively Single Number.

Yang Lian ist ein in Berlin lebender chinesischer Dichter. Seine zahlreichen Gedicht-, Prosa- und Essaybände wurden in über 25 Sprachen übersetzt. Auf Deutsch erschienen von ihm zuletzt das Langpoem Konzentrische Kreise (Hanser 2013) und der Essayband Aufzeichnungen eines glückseligen Dämons (Suhrkamp 2009). Ihm wurden mehrere chinesische Literaturpreise verliehen, u.a. der International Capri Prize 2014, der Tian Duo (Himmlische Glocke) Preis für das lange Gedicht 2013 und der Nonino International Literature Prize 2012. Yang Lian wurde in den Vorstand von PEN International gewählt, hat an mehreren chinesischen Universitäten gelehrt und war DAAD-Stipendiat sowie Mitglied des Wissenschaftskollegs in Berlin.

Martin Mosebach, geboren in Frankfurt am Main, ließ sich nach dem Abschluss des zweiten juristischen Staatsexamens in seiner Geburtsstadt als Schriftsteller nieder. Sein erster Roman Das Bett erschien 1983. Bis heute sind zehn Romane entstanden, zuletzt 2014 Das Blutbuchenfest, dazu Erzählungen, Gedichte, Libretti und Essays über Kunst und Literatur. 2007 erhielt er den Büchner-Preis; 2015 die Goethe Plakette der Stadt Frankfurt am Main. Er ist Mitglied der Akademie für Sprache und Dichtung in Darmstadt, der Akademie der Künste Berlin-Brandenburg und der Bayrischen Akademie der Schönen Künste. Er war Fellow des Wissenschaftskollegs zu Berlin und des Wissenschaftskollegs Morphomata der Universität zu Köln. 2014 war er Stipendiat der Deutschen Akademie Villa Massimo, Rom und 2015 Stipendiat der C.F. von Siemens-Stiftung in München.

Lena Stolze ist Schauspielerin und lebt in Berlin. Nach dem Studium der Germanistik und Kunstgeschichte begann sie 1975 ihre Schauspiel-Ausbildung am Max-Reinhardt-Seminar in Wien. Ab 1977 spielte sie u.a. am Wiener Burgtheater, am Residenztheater in München und am Thalia Theater in Hamburg. Auch außerhalb des Theaters wurde Lena Stolze 1982 mit der Rolle der Sophie Scholl in Michael Verhoevens Film Die weiße Rose und Percy Adlons Fünf letzte Tage bekannt. Ein weiterer großer internationaler Erfolg war Stolzes komödiantische Interpretation in Das schreckliche Mädchen (1990/ Michael Verhoeven). Stolze erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, u.a. zwei Bundesfilmpreise. Sie arbeitete u.a. mit Michael Haneke, Marleen Gorris, Christoph Roehl, Robert Thalheim und Margarethe von Trotta, ist Jurorin der Filmakademie und des Europäischen Filmpreises.

YoYo (Liu Youhong) ist Schriftstellerin und Künstlerin und lebt in Berlin. Einer ihrer Romane wurde unter dem Titel Ghost Tide aus dem Chinesischen ins Englische übersetzt. YoYo hat an unterschiedlichen Institutionen wie dem Eton Collge in Windsor und der School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) an der University of London unterrichtet. Ihr künstlerisches Werk umfasst Performances und Malerei, die 2013 in der Berlin Avantgarde-Galerie gezeigt wurden. YoYo erhielt Schriftstellerstipendien und wurde zu künstlerischen Projekten in China, den USA und in Europa eingeladen, unter anderem an die Universität von Shantou in der Provinz Guangdong, China, nach Yaddo, eine Künstlerkolonie in New York, an die Akademie Schloss Solitude und vom Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst, an das Centro Civitella Ranieri in Italien, nach Cove Park in England und an das MEET in Frankreich.

Yongle Zhang ist Verfassungshistoriker und Politiktheoretiker. Nach seiner Promotion in Politischen Wissenschaften an der University of California, Los Angeles, ist er jetzt Professor für Rechtsgeschichte an der Universität Peking. In seinem Buch The Remaking of An Old Country: 1911-1917 (2011) stellt er theoretische Perspektiven der vergleichenden Imperiengeschichte und der State-Building-Prozesse vor und analysiert verschiedene politische und juristische Ansätze, das riesige chinesische Territorium als ein Land zu konstituieren. Im Gegensatz zur Mainstream-Historiografie der Revolution von 1911 verschiebt er den Fokus weg vom revolutionären Bruch und hin zu Kompromiss und Kontinuität und zeigt, wie der Glaube an den Fortschritt nach China kam.