Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2015, Thu, Oct 01

Time’s Attack on the Rest of Life: Laboratory

With Henning Schmidgen, Jimena Canales, and Stephan Geene

Time as a governing system is manifest in all realms of life. In the global village of technological time everyone can receive information any time from every possible place. There are no limits to wireless communication. It forms the basis for financial markets and in turn permanently speeds up the world. The future is already being used up by the present and blocked by huge amounts of data, trash and debt. With real-time communication and global mobility two time resources were lost: our sense of the past, which lends us our identity, and the utopian potential of our future.
During the opening of “100 Years of Now,” four events examine the period of one hundred years as a space for historical imagination of varying dimensions and nexuses of time: Which forces shape the dominant concept of time in accelerated capitalism? How does it affect our perception and interpretation of the world? How is time produced in experiments and in the laboratory? How do historical events, texts and cultures become spaces we can experience? And how do other notions of time enable alternative courses of action?

How is time created in the laboratory and how does it have an impact on our lives? Our time today, increasingly accelerated, is not a natural given, but is also defined by science. Time-lapse films, ultra-centrifuges, and particle accelerators create a temporal regime to which our everyday lives are increasingly subjected. Communication on the world wide web, for example, is based on a communication system that was first established at CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research. Discussing Chris Marker’s short film La Jetée (The Jetty, Chris Marker, F 1962, 28 min.), brief lectures and a conversation will look at ways out of hyper-accelerated capitalism and for an outside of a now seemingly unavoidable temporal regime.


Biographies

Jimena Canales is the author of The Physicist and the Philosopher: Einstein, Bergson and the Debate That Changed Our Understanding of Time (Princeton University Press) and A Tenth of a Second: A History (University of Chicago Press). She currently holds the Thomas M. Siebel Chair in the History of Science at the University of Illinois-UC and was previously an Assistant and Associate Professor in History of Science at Harvard University and a senior fellow at the IKKM (Internationales Kolleg für Kulturtechnikforschung und Medienphilosophie). She also writes for wider audiences in WIRED magazine, for the BBC, for Aperture and Artforum.

Stephan Geene is a Berlin filmmaker and co-owner of the bookstore and publishing house b_books. His most recent films include Umsonst (2014) and After Effect (2008). Many of his theater plays have been staged in productions around the world, including at Theaterfestival München, Kunstverein München, Dramatisches Zentrum Wien and at Steirischer Herbst. Geene has curated exhibitions, organized film festivals and has written articles for Spex, Jungle World, Springerin, Texte zur Kunst and Tageszeitung. He teaches the theory and history of television at Beuth Hochschule Berlin.

Henning Schmidgen is professor for the theory of media worlds at Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. He studied psychology, philosophy, and linguistics in Berlin and Paris, was a researcher at the Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, and professor for media aesthetics at Universität Regensburg. He has written numerous publications on the history of experimental life sciences, the philosophy and aesthetics of machines and actor-network theory. Recently publications include: Hirn und Zeit. Die Geschichte eines Experiments, 1800-1950 (Berlin, 2014) and Bruno Latour in Pieces. An Intellectual Biography (New York, 2015).

Sa 21.09.: Sperrungen und Verkehrseinschränkungen rund ums HKW. Mehr…

Do, 01. Oktober 2015

Der Angriff der Zeit auf das übrige Leben: Labor

Mit Henning Schmidgen, Jimena Canales und Stephan Geene

Das Ordnungssystem Zeit durchdringt alle Lebensbereiche. Im „global village“ der technologischen Zeit kann jeder zu jedem Zeitpunkt von jedem erdenklichen Ort Informationen erhalten. Der drahtlosen Kommunikation sind keine Grenzen gesetzt. Als Grundlage der Finanzmärkte treibt sie die permanente Beschleunigung der Welt voran. Die Zukunft wird bereits von der Gegenwart aufgebraucht und mit riesigen Mengen von Daten, Müll und Schulden zugebaut. Unter den Bedingungen von Echtzeitkommunikation und globaler Mobilität gehen zwei Zeitressourcen verloren: Die Sinn und Identität stiftende Vergangenheit, und eine Zukunft, die utopische Gegenentwürfe zum Jetzt erlaubt.
Im Rahmen des Auftakts von 100 Jahre Gegenwart untersuchen vier Veranstaltungen den Zeitraum von hundert Jahren als historischen Imaginationsraum unterschiedlicher Ausdehnungen und Verknüpfungen von Zeit: Was prägt die gegenwärtig vorherrschende Auffassung von Zeit im beschleunigten Kapitalismus? Wie beeinflusst sie unsere Wahrnehmung und Deutung der Welt? Wie wird Zeit im Experiment und im Labor hergestellt? Wie werden historische Ereignisse, Texte und Kulturen zu erfahrbaren Räumen? Und wie könnten andere Zeitvorstellungen Handlungsspielräume eröffnen?

Wie wird Zeit im Labor hergestellt und wie wirkt sie sich auf unser Leben aus? Unsere heutige, immer stärker beschleunigte Zeit ist nicht naturgegeben; sie wird auch durch die Wissenschaft geformt. Es sind Zeitrafferfilme, Ultrazentrifugen und Teilchenbeschleuniger, die Zeitregime erschaffen, denen unser Alltag immer mehr unterstellt ist. Die Kommunikation im Word Wide Web etwa beruht auf einem Kommunikationssystem, das zuerst am CERN, der Europäischen Organisation für Kernforschung, eingerichtet wurde. In Bezug auf Chris Markers Kurzfilm La Jetée (Am Rande des Rollfelds, F 1962, 28 min) wird in kurzen Vorträgen und einem Gespräch nach Auswegen aus dem beschleunigten Kapitalismus gesucht und nach dem Außen eines nunmehr unentrinnbar erscheinenden Zeitregimes.


Biografien

Jimena Canales ist die Autorin von The Physicist and the Philosopher: Einstein, Bergson and the Debate That Changed Our Understanding of Time (Princeton University Press) und A Tenth of a Second: A History (University of Chicago Press). Zurzeit hat sie den Thomas M. Siebel Lehrstuhl für Wissenschaftsgeschichte an der University of Illinois-UC inne und war zuvor Assistant and Associate Professor für Wissenschaftsgeschichte an der Harvard University und senior fellow am Internationalen Kolleg für Kulturtechnikforschung und Medienphilosophie (IKKM). Sie schreibt auch für ein breiteres Publikum in WIRED magazine, für die BBC, für Aperture und in Artforum.

Stephan Geene ist ein Berliner Filmemacher und Mitbetreiber des Buchladens und Verlags b_books. Zu seinen jüngsten Filmen gehören Umsonst (2014) und After Effect (2008). Zahlreiche seiner Theaterstücke wurden an internationalen Bühnen inszeniert, u.a. beim Theaterfestival München, im Kunstverein München, im Dramatischen Zentrum Wien und beim Steirischen Herbst. Geene kuratiert Ausstellungen, organisiert Filmfestivals und schreibt Artikel für Spex, Jungle World, Springerin, Texte zur Kunst und die Tageszeitung taz. Er unterrichtet an der Beuth Hochschule Berlin Theorie und Geschichte des Fernsehens.

Henning Schmidgen ist Professor für Theorie medialer Welten an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. Er studierte Psychologie, Philosophie und Linguistik in Berlin und Paris, war wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte und Professor für Medienästhetik an der Universität Regensburg. Seine Veröffentlichungen befassen sich mit der Geschichte der experimentellen Lebenswissenschaften, mit der Philosophie und Ästhetik der Maschinen und mit der Akteur-Netzwerk-Theorie. Zuletzt erschienen von ihm Hirn und Zeit. Die Geschichte eines Experiments, 1800-1950 (Berlin 2014) sowie Bruno Latour in Pieces. An Intellectual Biography (New York 2015).