2015, Sat, Oct 03

Time’s Attack on the Rest of Life: Imagination

Lecture Performance “I Utter Other” by Slavs and Tatars | Talks Slavs and Tatars, Gwendolyn Sasse, Helge Jordheim

From: Slavs and Tatars, I Utter Other, 2014, lecture performance

From: Slavs and Tatars, I Utter Other, 2014, lecture performance

Time as a governing system is manifest in all realms of life. In the global village of technological time everyone can receive information any time from every possible place. There are no limits to wireless communication. It forms the basis for financial markets and in turn permanently speeds up the world. The future is already being used up by the present and blocked by huge amounts of data, trash and debt. With real-time communication and global mobility two time resources were lost: our sense of the past, which lends us our identity, and the utopian potential of our future.
During the opening of “100 Years of Now,” four events examine the period of one hundred years as a space for historical imagination of varying dimensions and nexuses of time: Which forces shape the dominant concept of time in accelerated capitalism? How does it affect our perception and interpretation of the world? How is time produced in experiments and in the laboratory? How do historical events, texts and cultures become spaces we can experience? And how do other notions of time enable alternative courses of action?

What is the link between Ukrainian city names, the Christianization of Russia under Prince Vladimir the Great, the German Enlightenment and the taxonomies of Russian orientalists? How could a Eurasian history of territorial conflicts, the languages and geopolitics of Russia, Central Asia, Iran, Eastern Europe, and the Caucasus be written? What conception of time would shape its historiography? In an act of historical imagination, the panel will explore the origins of Russian Orientalism, Edward Said’s theory, the constructions of “East” and “West” and their relationship to the current conflict in Crimea and all of Ukraine.


Biographies

Slavs and Tatars is a faction of polemics and intimacies devoted to an area east of the former Berlin Wall and west of the Great Wall of China known as Eurasia. They have exhibited in major institutions across the Middle East, Europe and North America. Select solo engagements include MoMA, NY (2012), Secession, Vienna (2012), Dallas Museum of Art (2014), Kunsthalle Zurich (2014) and NYU Abu Dhabi (2015). Slavs and Tatars have published several books, including Mirrors for Princes (JRP|Ringier / NYU Abu Dhabi, 2015), Not Moscow Not Mecca (Revolver/Secession, 2012), Khhhhhhh (Mousse/Moravia Gallery, 2012), as well as their translation of the legendary Azeri satire Molla Nasreddin: the magazine that would’ve, could’ve, should’ve (JRP-Ringier, 2011). Slavs and Tatars are nominated for the 2015 German Nationalgalerie Preis.

Gwendolyn Sasse is a Professorial Fellow at Nuffield College and Professor in Comparative Politics in the Department of Politics and International Relations and the School for Interdisciplinary Area Studies. Prior to her arrival in Oxford in 2007 she was a Senior Lecturer in the European Institute and the Department of Government at the London School of Economics. Her research has concentrated on different dimensions of regime change, with a particular emphasis on the post-communist region. Her book The Crimea Question: Identity, Transition, and Conflict (Cambridge, Harvard University Press, 2007) won several prizes.

Helge Jordheim is Professor of Cultural History at the University of Oslo, Norway and currently Visiting Professor at New York University. Before that he was Academic Director of the cross-disciplinary research program KULTRANS-Cultural Transformations in the Age of Globalization at the same university. Jordheim has a PhD in German Literature and has published widely on politics and literature in the eighteenth century. Since then he has moved into the field of conceptual history, exploring concepts like empire, civilization, and world. In the last years his main interest has been time and temporality, especially how to think about times in plural, multiple temporalities, and layers of time.

Do 14.06. – Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

Sa, 03. Oktober 2015

Der Angriff der Zeit auf das übrige Leben: Imagination

Lecture Performance „I Utter Other“ von Slavs and Tatars | Gespräch Slavs and Tatars, Gwendolyn Sasse, Helge Jordheim

Aus: Slavs and Tatars, I Utter Other, 2014, Lecture-Performance

Aus: Slavs and Tatars, I Utter Other, 2014, Lecture-Performance

Das Ordnungssystem Zeit durchdringt alle Lebensbereiche. Im „global village“ der technologischen Zeit kann jeder zu jedem Zeitpunkt von jedem erdenklichen Ort Informationen erhalten. Der drahtlosen Kommunikation sind keine Grenzen gesetzt. Als Grundlage der Finanzmärkte treibt sie die permanente Beschleunigung der Welt voran. Die Zukunft wird bereits von der Gegenwart aufgebraucht und mit riesigen Mengen von Daten, Müll und Schulden zugebaut. Unter den Bedingungen von Echtzeitkommunikation und globaler Mobilität gehen zwei Zeitressourcen verloren: Die Sinn und Identität stiftende Vergangenheit, und eine Zukunft, die utopische Gegenentwürfe zum Jetzt erlaubt.
Im Rahmen des Auftakts von „100 Jahre Gegenwart“ untersuchen vier Veranstaltungen den Zeitraum von hundert Jahren als historischen Imaginationsraum unterschiedlicher Ausdehnungen und Verknüpfungen von Zeit: Was prägt die gegenwärtig vorherrschende Auffassung von Zeit im beschleunigten Kapitalismus? Wie beeinflusst sie unsere Wahrnehmung und Deutung der Welt? Wie wird Zeit im Experiment und im Labor hergestellt? Wie werden historische Ereignisse, Texte und Kulturen zu erfahrbaren Räumen? Und wie könnten andere Zeitvorstellungen Handlungsspielräume eröffnen?

In welchem Zusammenhang stehen ukrainische Städtenamen, die Christianisierung Russlands unter Prinz Vladimir dem Großen, die deutsche Aufklärung und die Taxonomien russischer Orientalisten? Wie ließe sich eine eurasische Geschichte der territorialen Konflikte, der Sprachen und Geopolitiken Russlands, Zentralasiens, Irans, Osteuropas und des Kaukasus schreiben und welche Zeitvorstellung würde ihr zu Grunde liegen? In einem Akt historischer Imagination befasst sich das Panel mit den Ursprüngen des Russischen Orientalismus, mit Edward Saids Theorie, den Konstrukten von „Ost“ und „West“ und untersucht, in welchem Verhältnis diese Fragen zum gegenwärtigen Konflikt auf der Krim und in der gesamten Ukraine stehen.


Biografien

Slavs and Tatars ist eine Fraktion der Polemik und Intimitäten, die sich einem Gebiet östlich der früheren Berliner Mauer und westlich der Chinesischen Mauer widmet, bekannt als Eurasien. Ihre Mitglieder haben in bedeutenden Institutionen im Nahen Osten, Europa und Nordamerika ausgestellt. Zu den Institutionen, die ihnen Einzelausstellungen gewidmet haben, gehören u.a. das MoMA in New York (2012), die Secession, Wien (2012), das dallas Museum of Art (2014), die Kunsthalle Zürich und NYU Abu Dhabi (2015). Slavs and Tatars haben mehrere Bücher veröffentlicht, unter anderem Mirrors for Princes (JRP|Ringier / NYU Abu Dhabi, 2015), Not Moscow Not Mecca (Revolver/Secession, 2012), Khhhhhhh (Mousse/Moravia Gallery, 2012) wie auch ihre Übersetzung der legendären aserbaidschanischen Satire Molla Nasreddin: the magazine that would’ve, could’ve, should’ve (JRP-Ringier, 2011). Slavs and Tatars sind für den Preis der Nationalgalerie 2015 nominiert.

Gwendolyn Sasse ist Professorial Fellow am Nuffield College und Professorin für Vergleichende Politikwissenschaft am Institut für Politik und internationale Beziehungen und der School for Interdisciplinary Area Studies an der University of Oxford. Bevor sie 2007 nach Oxford kam, war sie Senior Lecturer am European Institute und dem Department of Government an der London School of Economics. Ihre Forschung konzentriert sich auf unterschiedliche Dimensionen von Regimewechseln, mit einem besonderen Schwerpunkt auf der postkommunistischen Region. Ihr Buch The Crimea Question: Identity, Transition, and Conflict (Cambridge, Harvard University Press, 2007) wurde mehrfach mit Preisen ausgezeichnet.

Helge Jordheim ist Professor für Kulturgeschichte an der Universität Oslo in Norwegen und derzeit Gastprofessor an der New York University. Zuvor war er wissenschaftlicher Direktor des interdisziplinären Forschungsprogramms KULTRANS – Kulturelle Transformationen im Zeitalter der Globalisierung. Jordheim ist promovierter Germanist und hat vielfältig zu Politik und Literatur im 18. Jahrhundert publiziert. Inzwischen hat er sich auf das Gebiet der Begriffsgeschichte verlegt und erkundet Begriffe wie Imperium, Zivilisation und Welt. In den letzten Jahren interessiert es sich vornehmlich für Zeit und Zeitlichkeit, insbesondere für die Frage, wie sich Zeiten in pluralen, vielfältigen Zeitlichkeiten und Zeitschichten denken lassen.