Internationaler Literaturpreis 2021

Prize for Contemporary Literature in Translation
Award Ceremony June 30, 2021

© Christian Werner (Los Angeles, 2019)

© Christian Werner (Los Angeles, 2019)

In times of crisis, it matters more than ever what kind of stories we tell, which scripts and plots we follow and whose voices we trust. Literature can describe how the fleeting moment relates to long-term developments, the large to the small, the close to the remote. Fiction can articulate issues for which forms of speech and thought have yet to be found. Here more than ever we rely on translations to see and understand local manifestations of global conditions. In 2021, the Internationaler Literaturpreis will again be searching for books that do something with language – precisely because they reach us in translation.

Haus der Kulturen der Welt and Stiftung Elementarteilchen are awarding the Internationaler Literaturpreis for the thirteenth time. Endowed with €35,000 – 20,000 for the author, 15,000 for the translator – it honors an outstanding work of contemporary international literature in its first German translation. The award thus acknowledges both the original work and the translation, a dual focus that is unique in the German awards landscape.

The Internationaler Literaturpreis understands literature as a social practice. It is therefore accompanied by a variety of media and events. Whether videos, podcasts or reading groups: There are many ways to get in touch with literature. A reader with excerpts from the six shortlisted books will be available from many partner bookstores.

Dates

January 31
Submission deadline

May 20
Announcement of the shortlist

June 30
Award ceremony at HKW

Title submission

German-language publishing houses can apply with up to three books first translated into German from their latest or scheduled programs by January 31, 2021.
More information in German…

Stay up-to-date on the HKW program with our weekly newsletter.
Register here

Internationaler Literaturpreis 2021

Preis für übersetzte Gegenwartsliteraturen
Preisverleihung 30. Juni 2021

© Christian Werner (Los Angeles, 2019)

© Christian Werner (Los Angeles, 2019)

In Krisenzeiten kommt es mehr denn je darauf an, welche Art von Geschichten wir erzählen, welchen Skripts und Plots wir folgen, welchen Stimmen wir Vertrauen schenken. Literatur kann beschreiben, wie der flüchtige Moment mit den Langzeitentwicklungen, das Große mit dem Kleinen, das Nahe mit dem Fernen zusammenhängt. In Erzählungen lassen sich Probleme artikulieren, für die Sprach- und Denkformen erst noch gefunden werden müssen. Stärker denn je sind wir dabei auf Übersetzungen angewiesen, um globale Bedingungen in ihren lokalen Ausprägungen sehen und verstehen zu können. Auch 2021 begibt sich der Internationale Literaturpreis auf die Suche nach Texten, die etwas mit der Sprache machen – gerade weil sie uns als Übersetzungen erreichen.

Zum dreizehnten Mal verleihen das Haus der Kulturen der Welt und die Stiftung Elementarteilchen den Internationalen Literaturpreis. Dotiert mit 35.000 Euro – 20.000 Euro für Autor*in, 15.000 Euro für Übersetzer*in – zeichnet er ein herausragendes Werk der internationalen Gegenwartsliteratur in deutscher Erstübersetzung aus. Er würdigt in dieser Allianz sowohl Originalwerk als auch Übersetzung. Dieser doppelte Fokus macht ihn in der deutschen Preislandschaft einzigartig.

Der Internationale Literaturpreis versteht Literatur als soziale Praxis. Er wird daher von unterschiedlichen Medien und Veranstaltungen begleitet. Ob Videos, Podcasts oder Reading Groups: Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten, Texten zu begegnen. Auszüge aus den sechs Büchern der Shortlist werden in einem Reader versammelt, der in vielen Partnerbuchhandlungen erhältlich sein wird.

Termine

31. Januar
Anmeldeschluss

20. Mai
Bekanntgabe der Shortlist

30. Juni
Preisverleihung im HKW

Nichts mehr verpassen! Mit dem wöchentlichen HKW-Newsletter sind Sie immer auf dem Laufenden.
Zur Anmeldung