Jury of 2021

Robin Detje | Photo: André Wunstorf

Robin Detje | Photo: André Wunstorf

Robin Detje is a trained actor and has worked as a theater, film, and literary critic and as an arts editor for Die Zeit and Berliner Zeitung and as author for the Süddeutsche Zeitung. Today he writes mainly for Zeit Online. He is the author of the Frank Castorf biography Castorf – Provokation aus Prinzip (2002). As a visual artist, he founded the group bösediva with Elisa Duca in 2009, which was invited to Bangalore, Taipei, and other places with their works. As a literary translator (e.g. works by Kiran Desai, Denis Johnson, William T. Vollmann, Joshua Cohen and Brit Bennett) he was awarded the 2014 Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse and the 2017 Heinrich Maria Ledig-Rowohlt Translator's Prize. He lives in Berlin and does not believe the Internet is going to go away.

Heike Geißler | © Adrian Sauer

Heike Geißler | © Adrian Sauer

Heike Geißler lives and works as an author and lecturer in Leipzig. Her publications include the novel Rosa (2002), the short story collection Nichts, was tragisch wäre (2007), the reportage-essay novel Saisonarbeit (2014), the questionnaire and radio play Fragen für alle (2016) and mani bucate money fest (2017). She is the co-editor of the Lücken kann man lesen series and part of the George Bele performance collective. In 2016 she was a fellow at Villa Massimo.

Michael Götting | © David Muanda

Michael Götting | © David Muanda

Michael Götting is an author, journalist and curator. He is the Head of the Black Diaspora Library at Each One Teach One (EOTO) eV in Berlin. He has contributed to several publications including ZEIT Online, Tagesspiegel, and Neues Deutschland, for which he currently writes. Götting studied Modern German Literature and North American Studies at Freie Universität Berlin. Following the publication of his novel Contrapunctus in 2015, he was a Writer-in-Residence at the Centre for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies at the University of Toronto. He was also a co-curator of the Black perspectives festivals Black Lux and We Are Tomorrow at Ballhaus Naunynstraße, and of EOTO’s AFROLUTION literary and cultural festivals.

Dominique Haensell | © Paula Winkler

Dominique Haensell | © Paula Winkler

Dominique Haensell is a literary scholar, author and journalist and currently editor-in-chief of Missy Magazine. She studied English philology and critical theory in Berlin and London and did her PhD in 2019 at the John F. Kennedy Institute of the Freie Universität Berlin. Her monograph Making Black History: Diasporic Fiction in the Moment of Afropolitanism will be released soon. She lives in Berlin.

Verena Lueken | © Helmut Fricke

Verena Lueken | © Helmut Fricke

Verena Lueken is a writer, journalist, and author for the arts section of the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung. Her work focuses on literature, cinema and the USA. She worked for many years as the F.A.Z. arts correspondent in New York and returns there often to report about the city and the nation. She also teaches regularly at Goethe University in Frankfurt and at Leuphana University in Lüneburg. She has published two books about New York (New York. Reportage aus einer alten Stadt, 2002, and Gebrauchsanweisung für New York, 2005, 2010, 2018) as well as the novels Alles zählt (2015) and Anderswo (2018). She was awarded the Internationale Publizistikpreis in Klagenfurt and the Michael Althen-Preis für Kritik.

Annika Reich | © Jennifer Endom

Annika Reich | © Jennifer Endom

Annika Reich is a writer and activist. Her books have been published by Carl Hanser Verlag. Recent titles include the novels Die Nächte auf ihrer Seite (2015) and 34 Meter über dem Meer (2012), as well as a children’s book series centred on the character Lotto (2016 and 2018). Reich contributes to the 10nach8 column of ZEIT Online. In 2015, she cofounded the organization for social action WIR MACHEN DAS, acting since then as its Artistic Director. As part of her work in the organization, Reich is also in charge of Weiter Schreiben, an award-winning project dedicated to literature from zones of war and conflict.

Elisabeth Ruge | © Stefan Nimmesgern

Elisabeth Ruge | © Stefan Nimmesgern

Elisabeth Ruge is a longtime publisher, editor and literary agent. She studied English and American and Slavic Studies in Frankfurt am Main, Moscow, and the USA. In 1994, she co-founded the Berlin Verlag, from 2011 to 2013 she established Hanser Berlin, the Berlin branch of the Carl Hanser Verlag. Since 2014, she has been managing director of the Elisabeth Ruge Agentur (ERA).

Die Jury 2021

Die Jury wurde von einem unabhängigen Auswahlgremium nominiert. Diesem gehörten an: Klaus-Dieter Lehmann (Präsident des Goethe-Instituts), Rainer Traube (Leiter Kulturredaktion, Deutsche Welle), Joachim Sartorius (Lyriker, Übersetzer und ehemaliger Intendant der Berliner Festspiele), Christina Weiss (Publizistin, Professorin, Vorsitzende des Vereins der Freunde der Nationalgalerie), Jan Szlovak (Vorstandsvorsitzender Stiftung Elementarteilchen).

Robin Detje | Foto: André Wunstorf

Robin Detje | Foto: André Wunstorf

Robin Detje ist ausgebildeter Schauspieler und war Theater-, Film- und Literaturkritiker und Feuilletonredakteur der Zeit und der Berliner Zeitung und Autor der Süddeutschen Zeitung. Heute schreibt er vor allem für Zeit Online. Er ist Autor der Frank-Castorf-Biografie Castorf – Provokation aus Prinzip (2002). Als bildender Künstler gründete er 2009 mit Elisa Duca die Gruppe bösediva, die mit ihren Arbeiten u.a. nach Bangalore und Taipeh eingeladen wurde. Als Literaturübersetzer (unter anderem von Kiran Desai, Denis Johnson, William T. Vollmann, Joshua Cohen, Brit Bennett) wurde er 2014 mit dem Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse und 2017 mit dem Preis der Heinrich Maria Ledig-Rowohlt-Stiftung ausgezeichnet. Er lebt in Berlin und glaubt nicht, dass das Internet wieder weggeht.

Heike Geißler | © Adrian Sauer

Heike Geißler | © Adrian Sauer

Heike Geißler lebt und arbeitet als Autorin und Dozentin in Leipzig. Zu ihren Veröffentlichungen zählen u. a. der Roman Rosa (2002), der Erzählband Nichts, was tragisch wäre (2007), der Reportage-Essay-Roman Saisonarbeit (2014), das Fragenheft und Hörspiel Fragen für alle (2016) und mani bucate money fest (2017). Sie ist Mitherausgeberin der Heftreihe Lücken kann man lesen und Teil des Performancekollektivs George Bele. 2016 war sie Stipendiatin der Villa Massimo.

Michael Götting | © David Muanda

Michael Götting | © David Muanda

Michael Götting ist Autor, Journalist und Kurator und leitet die Black Diaspora Library bei Each One Teach One (EOTO) e.V. in Berlin. Er schreibt u.a. für Zeit Online, den Tagesspiegel und aktuell für Neues Deutschland. Götting studierte Neuere deutsche Literatur und Nordamerikastudien an der Freien Universität Berlin. Nach der Veröffentlichung seines Romans Contrapunctus (2015) war er Writer-in-Residence am Centre for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies der University of Toronto. Er war Mitkurator der Black Perspectives Festivals Black Lux und We are Tomorrow am Ballhaus Naunynstraße sowie der AFROLUTION Literatur- und Kulturfestivals von EOTO.

Dominique Haensell | © Paula Winkler

Dominique Haensell | © Paula Winkler

Dominique Haensell ist Literaturwissenschaftlerin, Autorin und Journalistin und aktuell Chefredakteurin des Missy Magazine. Sie studierte Englische Philologie und Kritische Theorie in Berlin und London und promovierte 2019 am John F. Kennedy Institut der FU Berlin. Ihre Monographie Making Black History: Diasporic Fiction in the Moment of Afropolitanism erscheint in Kürze. Sie lebt in Berlin.

Verena Lueken | © Helmut Fricke

Verena Lueken | © Helmut Fricke

Verena Lueken ist Schriftstellerin, Journalistin und Redakteurin im Feuilleton der Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung. Die Literatur, das Kino und Amerika sind die Schwerpunkte ihrer Arbeit. Viele Jahre lang arbeitete sie als Kulturkorrespondentin der F.A.Z. in New York und kehrt immer wieder dorthin zurück, um über die Stadt und das Land zu berichten. Darüber hinaus unterrichtet sie regelmäßig an der Goethe-Universität in Frankfurt am Main und der Leuphana Universität in Lüneburg. Ihre Buchveröffentlichungen umfassen zwei New-York-Bücher: New York. Reportage aus einer alten Stadt (2002) und Gebrauchsanweisung für New York (2005, 2010, 2018) sowie die Romane Alles zählt (2015) und Anderswo (2018). Ausgezeichnet wurde sie in Klagenfurt mit dem Internationalen Publizistikpreis.

Annika Reich | © Jennifer Endom

Annika Reich | © Jennifer Endom

Annika Reich ist Schriftstellerin und Aktivistin. Ihre Bücher erscheinen im Carl Hanser Verlag, zuletzt die Romane Die Nächte auf ihrer Seite (2015) und 34 Meter über dem Meer (2012) sowie die Kinderbuchreihe rund um Lotto (2016 und 2018). Sie ist Kolumnistin von 10nach8 bei ZEIT Online. 2015 hat ist das Aktionsbündnis WIR MACHEN DAS mitgegründet, dessen Künstlerische Leiterin sie seither ist. In diesem Rahmen leitet sie auch Weiter Schreiben, ein preisgekröntes Projekt für Literatur aus Kriegs- und Krisengebieten.

Elisabeth Ruge | © Stefan Nimmesgern

Elisabeth Ruge | © Stefan Nimmesgern

Elisabeth Ruge ist langjährige Verlegerin, Lektorin und Literaturagentin. Sie studierte Anglistik, Amerikanistik und Slawistik in Frankfurt am Main, Moskau und den USA. 1994 war sie Mitbegründerin des Berlin Verlags, von 2011 bis 2013 baute sie Hanser Berlin, die Berliner Dependance des Carl Hanser Verlags auf. Seit 2014 ist sie Geschäftsführerin der Elisabeth Ruge Agentur (ERA).