Paris Calligrammes

A Landscape of Memory by Ulrike Ottinger
2019, Aug 23, Fri — 2019, Oct 13, Sun

Paris Calligrammes: Exhibition view | © Silke Briel / HKW

Paris Calligrammes: Exhibition view | © Silke Briel / HKW

Ulrike Ottinger in front of her work “Allen Ginsberg”, Paris, 1965 | Photo: private

Ulrike Ottinger in front of her work “Allen Ginsberg”, Paris, 1965 | Photo: private

 
 
Ulrike Ottinger, Journée d’un GI., 1967

Ulrike Ottinger, Journée d’un GI., 1967

 Film still, Le Joli Mai, 1963, Regie: Chris Marker, Pierre Lhomme | Courtesy La Sofra

Film still, Le Joli Mai, 1963, Regie: Chris Marker, Pierre Lhomme | Courtesy La Sofra

In Paris Calligrammes the filmmaker, photographer and collector of worlds Ulrike Ottinger links historical archival material with her own art and film works to create a sociogram of her time as a visual artist in Paris.

In the grip of political upheavals, Paris of the 1960s also attracted artists from all over the world and was a pulsating stream of energy hovering between trauma management and the utopia of Europe. Between the new beginnings after the Second World War, to the Algerian War and the student protests of 1968, Ottinger weaves her observations into a figural poem. Memories of the Parisian bohème and decolonial movements meet images of a multi-ethnic society.

From the Librairie Calligrammes, a meeting place of exiled German intellectuals, to the Cinémathèque française, which sparked her love of film, she charts a city and its utopias. They live on in Ulrike Ottinger’s collaged landscape of memories in a workshop exhibition complimenting her film Paris Calligrammes (2019).

A film program presented by Ulrike Ottinger showing works of cinematic history that inspired her supplements the exhibition.

The program is accompanied by a publication, issued by Hatje Cantz Verlag, with articles by Aleida Assmann and Laurence A. Rickels as well as extensive insights into Ulrike Ottinger’s private archives.

Part of 100 Years of Now

Exhibition, film program

Opening hours:
Aug 23–Oct 13, 2019
Daily except Tue
12 noon–7 pm, Thu 12 noon–10 pm

Open on public holidays

Exhibition hall 2
Films in the lecture hall

Admission:
5€/3€, second visit included

Free admission:
Mondays and for visitors under age 16

Admission to screenings included in exhibition ticket

Paris Calligrammes

Eine Erinnerungslandschaft von Ulrike Ottinger
Fr, 23. August 2019 — So, 13. Oktober 2019

Ulrike Ottinger vor ihrem Werk „Allen Ginsberg“, Paris, 1965 | Foto: privat

Ulrike Ottinger vor ihrem Werk „Allen Ginsberg“, Paris, 1965 | Foto: privat

Ulrike Ottinger, Journée d’un GI., 1967

Ulrike Ottinger, Journée d’un GI., 1967

Die Filmemacherin, Fotografin und Weltensammlerin Ulrike Ottinger verknüpft in Paris Calligrammes historisches Archivmaterial mit eigenen künstlerischen und filmischen Arbeiten zu einem Soziogramm der Zeit ihres Coming of Age als Künstlerin.

Von politischen Umbrüchen erfasst, war das Paris der 1960er Jahre auch Anziehungspunkt für Kunstschaffende aus aller Welt und pulsierender Energiestrom zwischen Traumabewältigung und Utopie Europas. Zwischen der Aufbruchsphase nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg über den Algerienkrieg bis hin zu den Protesten der Studierenden von 68 verwebt Ottinger ihre Beobachtungen zu einem Figurengedicht. Erinnerungen an die Pariser Bohème und dekoloniale Bewegungen treffen auf Bilder einer multiethnischen Gesellschaft.

Von der Librairie Calligrammes, einem Treffpunkt deutscher Intellektueller im Exil, bis zur Cinémathèque française, die ihre Liebe zum Kino entzündete, entsteht die Kartografie einer Stadt und ihrer Utopien. In Ulrike Ottingers collagierter Erinnerungslandschaft, der Werkstatt zu ihrem Film Paris Calligrammes (2019), leben diese fort.

Ein Filmprogramm in Anwesenheit der Künstlerin mit für sie prägenden Werken der Filmgeschichte ergänzt die Ausstellung.

Eine begleitende Publikation mit Beiträgen von Aleida Assmann, Marguerite Vappereau und Laurence A. Rickels sowie umfangreichen Einblicken in Ulrike Ottingers Privatarchiv erscheint im Hatje Cantz Verlag.

Im Rahmen von 100 Jahre Gegenwart

Ausstellung, Filmprogramm

23.08.–13.10.2019
Eröffnung: Do 22.08.2019 19h

Mi–Mo 12–19h, Do bis 22h
Di geschlossen, feiertags geöffnet

Eintritt: 5€/3€
Mo und unter 16 Jahren: Eintritt frei

Ausstellungshalle 2
Filme im Vortragssaal

Nichts mehr verpassen! Mit dem HKW-Newsletter sind Sie immer auf dem Laufenden und erhalten regelmäßig Informationen zu unserem Programm.
Zur Anmeldung