2013, Sat, Jan 12

Is the Anthropocene… Luxury or Necessity?

Akeel Bilgrami and Aldo Haesler

Dialogue between Akeel Bilgrami (Department of Philosophy, Columbia University, New York) und Aldo Haesler (Département de sociologie, Université de Caen). Introduction: Cecelia Watson (Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Berlin)


The warning resounds amongst many proponents of the Anthropocene thesis: we must develop ways to control and manage our influence on the planet. Some geologists contend that the earth has inbuilt “planetary boundaries,” which, if exceeded, could cause irrevocable change to the earth’s systems. Yet, the types of environmental measures that could hold us at a safe distance from such a scenario require financial investments and a willingness to sacrifice profit and efficiency in favor of safe planetary management. A question of equality seems, then, urgent: who can afford to implement Anthropocenic policies and who is left out?



Akeel Bilgrami (New York) is the Johnsonian Professor of Philosophy at Columbia University and a founding member of its Committee on Global Thought. His collection of essays "Politics and the Moral Psychology of Identity", will be out next year. He is writing two short books called "What is a Muslim?" and "Gandhi, The Philosopher". His current longterm writing project is on practical reason and politics.


Aldo Haesler (Caen) is professor of sociology and social philosophy at Université Caen in France. His areas of research are theories of social change, philosophical anthropology and social philosophy.He was CEO of the Institut Montana (Switzerland) and currently is member of the research unit in philosophy “Identité et subjectivité.” His latest book is "Das letzte Tabu: Ruchlose Gedanken aus der Intimsphäre des Geldes" (2011).


An event within the framework of
null

Sa, 12. Januar 2013

Ist das Anthropozän… Luxus oder Notwendigkeit?

Akeel Bilgrami und Aldo Haesler

Dialog mit Akeel Bilgrami (Department of Philosophy, Columbia University, New York) und Aldo Haesler (Département de sociologie, Université de Caen). Einführung: Cecelia Watson (Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Berlin)


Die Warnung ist von vielen Vertretern der Anthropozän-Hypothese zu hören: Wir müssen Methoden entwickeln, um unseren Einfluss auf den Planeten kontrollieren zu können. Einige Geologen vertreten die Meinung, die Erde habe eingebaute „planetarische Grenzen“, deren Übertretung unwiderrufliche Veränderungen am System Erde hervorrufen könnten. Aber die Maßnahmen zum Schutz der Umwelt, die ein solches Szenario verhindern könnten, fordern finanzielle Investitionen und die Bereitschaft, Profit und Effizienz zu Gunsten einer sicheren Steuerbarkeit des Planeten zu opfern. Die Frage der Gleichberechtigung wird damit dringlich: Wer kann es sich leisten, anthropozäne Politik umzusetzen, und wer bleibt außen vor?

Akeel Bilgrami (New York) ist Johnsonian Professor of Philosophy an der Columbia University und Gründungsmitglied des dortigen Committee on Global Thought. Seine Essaysammlung "Politics and the Moral Psychology of Identity" (Harvard University Press) erscheint 2013.Er arbeitet an zwei Büchern mit den Titeln "What is a Muslim?" (Princeton University Press) und "Gandhi, The Philosopher". Sein aktuelles Buchprojekt behandelt Praktische Vernunft und Politik.


Aldo Haesler (Caen) ist Professor für Soziologie und Sozialphilosophie an der Université de Caen in Frankreich. Seine Forschungsgebiete sind die Theorie der sozialen Veränderungen, philosophische Anthropologie und Sozialphilosophie. Er war Direktionspräsident des Instituts Montana (Schweiz) und ist zur Zeit Mitglied des philosophischen Forschungsprojekts "Identité et subjectivité". Sein jüngstes Buch lautet "Das letzte Tabu: Ruchlose Gedanken aus der Intimsphäre des Geldes" (2011).


Eine Veranstaltung im Rahmen von
null