2013, Sat, Jan 12

Is the Anthropocene… Original?

John Law and Daniel Rosenberg

Dialogue between John Law (Department of Sociology, Open University, Milton Keynes) und Daniel Rosenberg (Department of History, University of Oregon, Eugene). Introduction: Cecelia Watson (Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Berlin)


Simultaneously appearing as very old and very new, the Anthropocene seems to consolidate many ideas from different times and places. Echoes of both Enlightenment and Romantic philosophy can be heard in its precepts, especially in its consideration of mankind’s ability to act within the world. Scientists have acknowledged that the notion of the Anthropocene has clear historical precedents in 19th century geology. Nevertheless, conferences and discussions addressing the Anthropocene abound, leading to the sense that a theory has become trendy or en vogue. For both the humanities as well as the sciences, how are these intellectual coincidences with previous philosophical movements to be taken into account?



John Law (Milton Keynes) is a professor for sociology and the co-director of the Centre for Research on Socio-Cultural Change (CRESC), and director of the Social life of Method Theme within CRESC that is jointly based at the Open University and Manchester University. His research approach is interdisciplinary, materially and discursively heterogeneous; it is concerned with the performativity of method.


Daniel Rosenberg (Eugene, OR)is professor of history at the Robert D. Clark Honors College, University of Oregon. He specializes in questions of historical representation.With Anthony Grafton, he is author of"Cartographies of Time: A History of the Timeline" (2010) and with Susan Hardin, "Histories of the Future" (2005). He is editor-at-large of Cabinet: A Quarterly of Art and Culture. His current work concerns the history of data.


An event within the framework of
null

Sa, 12. Januar 2013

Ist das Anthropozän… neu?

John Law und Daniel Rosenberg

Dialog mit John Law (Department of Sociology, Open University, Milton Keynes) und Daniel Rosenberg (Department of History, University of Oregon, Eugene). Einführung: Cecelia Watson (Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Berlin)

Das Anthropozän, gleichzeitig sehr alt und sehr neu beziehungsweise aktuell, vereint Ideen aus unterschiedlichen Zeiten und Orten. In seinen Grundannahmen klingen Echos sowohl der Aufklärung als auch der Romantischen Philosophie nach, insbesondere mit Blick auf die Fähigkeit des Menschen, in der Welt zu handeln. Auch für den Begriff des Anthropozäns selbst gibt es historische Vorläufer, beispielsweise in der Geologie des 19. Jahrhunderts. Während die zahlreichen Konferenzen und Diskussionen, die sich derzeit dem Anthropozän widmen, den Eindruck eines genuin neuen Diskurs-Trends nahelegen, stellt sich für die Geistes- als auch die Naturwissenschaften die Frage: Inwieweit können und sollten Überschneidungen mit früheren philosophischen Bewegungen und Ideen mitbedacht werden?



John Law (Milton Keynes) ist Professor für Soziologie und Co-Chair des Centre for Research on Socio-Cultural Change (CRESC), sowie Leiter des Social Life of Method Theme am CRESC, das von der Open University und der Manchester University getragen wird. Sein Forschungsansatz ist interdisziplinär und sowohl in materieller als auch diskursiver Hinsicht heterogen; sein Forschungsgebiet ist die Performativität der Methode.


Daniel Rosenberg (Eugene) ist Professor für Geschichte am Robert D. Clark Honors College, University of Oregon. Er ist auf Fragen der historischen Repräsentation spezialisiert. Mit Anthony Grafton ist er Ko-Autor von "Cartographies of Time: A History of the Timeline" (2010), mit Susan Hardin veröffentlichte er"Histories of the Future" (2005). Er ist freier Redakteur von Cabinet: A Quarterly of Art and Culture. Seine aktuelle Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit der Geschichte von Daten.


Eine Veranstaltung im Rahmen von
null