2013, Sat, Jan 12

Is the Anthropocene… Legal?

Christina von Braun and Paulo Tavares

Dialogue between Christina von Braun (Institut für Kulturwissenschaft, Humboldt-Universität, Berlin) and Paulo Tavares (Department of Visual Cultures, Goldsmiths University, London). Introduction: Cecilia Watson (Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Berlin)

Undoubtedly political in its scope, the notion of the Anthropocene raises a number of practical concerns related to law, jurisprudence, “natural” bias, and the articulation of rights. Who will manage an Anthropocenic world, politicians or innovators? In terms of modern legal systems’ reliance on divisions between subjects and objects, it seems pressing to take into account the necessary jurisprudential transformations and alterations in conflicts between humans and non-humans. How will nature “make its case”?



Christina von Braun (Berlin) is an author and filmmaker, professor of cultural theory at Humboldt-Universität, Berlin and academic director of the Zentrum Jüdische Studien Berlin-Brandenburg. Her research focuses on gender, religion, and modernity, media, secularization and the history of anti-Semitism. She has published about fifty documentaries and television plays on cultural history and has written widely on the interrelationship between the history of mind and the history of the body. Her most recent book is "Der Preis des Geldes" (2012).


Paulo Tavares (Quito/London) is architect and urbanist, graduated in Brazil and teaches at Goldsmiths, where he is also completing a PhD. His work is chiefly concerned with spatial politics, ecology and media. Recent projects deal with the relations between environmental violence and law in the case of the internal armed conflict in Guatemala and the colonization of the Amazon during the military dictatorship in Brazil. He also teaches in the Facultad de Arquitectura, Diseño y Artes at Pontificia Universidad Católica de Ecuador.


An event within the framework of
null

Sa, 12. Januar 2013

Ist das Anthropozän… gerecht?

Christina von Braun und Paulo Tavares

Dialog mit Christina von Braun (Institut für Kulturwissenschaft, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin) und Paulo Tavares (Department of Visual Cultures, Goldsmiths, University of London). Einführung: Cecelia Watson (Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Berlin)

In seiner Trag- und Reichweite zweifellos politisch, bringt das Anthropozän eine Reihe von praktischen Belangen hervor, die mit Fragen des Rechts, der Rechtsprechung, „natürlicher“ Befangenheit und der Artikulation von Rechten zu tun haben. Wer wird eine anthropozäne Welt „managen“, Politiker oder Innovatoren? Und scheint es – wenn man bedenkt, dass sich moderne Rechtssysteme auf die Trennung von Subjekten und Objekten stützen –, nicht dringend geboten, über Korrekturen der Rechtsprechung bei Konflikten zwischen Menschen und Nicht-Menschen nachzudenken. Wie kann die Natur „ihre Argumente vorbringen“?



Christina von Braun (Berlin) ist Autorin und Filmemacherin, Professorin für Kulturtheorie an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und wissenschaftliche Direktorin des Zentrums Jüdische Studien Berlin- Brandenburg. Ihre wichtigsten Forschungsthemen sind Genderfragen, Religion und Moderne, Medien, Säkularisierung und die Geschichte des Antisemitismus. Sie hat ca. 50 Filmdokumentationen und Fernsehspiele zu kulturhistorischen Themenrealisiert und zahlreiche Publikationen über das Wechselverhältnis von Geistesgeschichte und Körpergeschichte veröffentlicht. Ihr jüngstes Buch ist "Der Preis des Geldes". (2012)


Paulo Tavares (London/Quito) ist Architekt und Stadtplaner, lehrt am Goldsmiths, University of London und derzeit auch an der Architecture School of the Catholic University of Ecuador. Seine Themengebiete sind die Politik des Raums, Ökologie und Medien. Seine jüngeren Arbeiten beschäftigen sich mit den Beziehungen zwischen Umweltgewalt und dem Gesetz anhand des bewaffneten Konflikts in Guatemala und der Kolonisierung des Amazonasgebiets während der Militärherrschaft in Brasilien.


Eine Veranstaltung im Rahmen von
null