2021, Sun, Aug 15

Last Chance to Misbehave

Hugo Fernandez New Grounds Quartet, Teresa Bergman

Last Chance to Misbehave | © Simona Turk

Last Chance to Misbehave | © Simona Turk

5.30pm Doors open
6pm Hugo Fernandez New Grounds Quartet
7pm Teresa Bergman
8pm Last Chance to Misbehave

Last Chance to Misbehave

Experimental music meets folky jazz and pop, but also classical swing: Last Chance to Misbehave is the name of the joint project of pianist Julia Hülsmann and the two fundamentally different singers Cansu Tanrıkulu and Mia Knop Jacobsen. The three of them meet at Hülsmann’s piano to meld poetry and sound language, to break up musical structures and to think them in new ways. Their sound is a melodious dialogue of differences, far more than the sum of its parts.

Teresa Bergman | © Paul Green

Teresa Bergman | © Paul Green

Teresa Bergman

“If you wanna tell me that you love me, boy / Best do it down on your knees,” Teresa Bergman demands on the title track of her 2019 album Apart. As the title suggests, this is a breakup album, and although it sounds melodramatic, the guitarist poignantly stages the emotional chaos. Elements of pop and soul, jazz and folk set the stage for a vocal performance whose emotional range extends from fragile ballads to disco-funk moments and blues-rock anthems. You’ll indeed want to kneel!

Hugo Fernandez New Grounds Quartet | © Igor Andruch

Hugo Fernandez New Grounds Quartet | © Igor Andruch

Hugo Fernández New Grounds Quartet

Together with trumpeter Christoph Titz, electric bassist Martin Lillich and drummer Philip Bernhardt, guitarist Hugo Fernández wants nothing less than to explore the untapped possibilities of jazz. This is anything but a megalomaniacal undertaking. The New Grounds Quartet brings together folkloric forms, elements of Western classical music and pop, placing reinterpretations of classics alongside their own compositions. The result is a forward-looking vision of jazz.

So, 15. August 2021

Last Chance to Misbehave

Teresa Bergman, Hugo Fernandez New Grounds Quartet

Last Chance to Misbehave | © Simona Turk

Last Chance to Misbehave | © Simona Turk

17.30h Einlass
18h Hugo Fernandez New Grounds Quartet
19h Teresa Bergman
20h Last Chance to Misbehave

Last Chance to Misbehave

Experimentelle Musik trifft auf folky angehauchten Jazz und Pop, aber auch klassischen Swing: Last Chance to Misbehave heißt das gemeinsame Projekt der Pianistin Julia Hülsmann mit den beiden grundunterschiedlichen Sängerinnen Cansu Tanrıkulu und Mia Knop Jacobsen. Die drei treffen sich an Hülsmanns Klavier, um Poesie und Klangsprache zu verschmelzen, musikalische Strukturen aufzubrechen und neu zu denken. Ihr Sound ist ein wohlklingender Dialog der Differenzen, weit mehr als die Summe seiner Einzelteile.

Teresa Bergman | © Paul Green

Teresa Bergman | © Paul Green

Teresa Bergman

„If you wanna tell me that you love me, boy / Best do it down on your knees“, fordert Teresa Bergman auf dem Titelstück ihres Albums Apart von 2019. Wie der Titel bereits angedeutet, handelt es sich dabei um ein Trennungsalbum und so dramatisch das klingt, so ergreifend inszeniert die Gitarristin darauf das Gefühlschaos. Elemente aus Pop und Soul, Jazz und Folk stellen die Bühne für eine Vokal-Performance, deren emotionale Bandbreite von fragilen Balladen hin zu Disco-Funk-Momenten und Blues-Rock-Hymnen reichte. Tatsächlich: zum Niederknien!

Hugo Fernandez New Grounds Quartet | © Igor Andruch

Hugo Fernandez New Grounds Quartet | © Igor Andruch

Hugo Fernández New Grounds Quartet

Gemeinsam mit Trompeter Christoph Titz, E-Bassist Martin Lillich und Drummer Philip Bernhardt will Gitarrist Hugo Fernández nichts weniger als die ungenutzten Möglichkeiten des Jazz erkunden. Das ist alles andere als ein größenwahnsinniges Unterfangen. Das New Grounds Quartet bringt folkloristische Formen, Elemente der klassischen westlichen Musik und Pop zusammen und stellt Neuinterpretationen von Klassikern neben eigene Kompositionen. Das Ergebnis ist eine zukunftsweisende Vision von Jazz.