2018, Sat, Dec 01

Interview & artist-guided tour: Jacqueline de Jong, Axel Heil

Jacqueline de Jong, Paris 1965 | © unknown

Jacqueline de Jong, Paris 1965 | © unknown

As a member of its Central Committee and editor of the Situationist Times, Jacqueline de Jong played a major role in the Situationist International. On the one hand, she was one of the few women to give voice to the network of only about 70 members. On the other hand, the Situationist International was shaped by the conflicting views and interests of the individual groups that formed the network. Throughout the time of her membership, Jacqueline de Jong resisted being co-opted by any of these factions. In 1968 she marched with Parisian students, printing posters in support of the movement at her studio in the 11th arrondissement. Fifty years after the student unrest, in which the Situationist International was substantially involved, de Jong, together with Axel Heil, critically looks back both at that time and at today’s attempts at its canonization.

Jacqueline de Jong joined the Situationist International in 1960. She was the editor of the Situationist Times magazine, the group’s primary medium of communication, and focused on painting. Following her work in the context of the Situationist International, de Jong engaged in various areas of the arts, such as exhibitions and art fairs as well as the issue of copyrights. The Weyland de Jong Foundation, founded in 2009 together with her husband, supports avant-garde artists aged 50 and over in their work. Jacqueline de Jong’s artistic works have been shown in numerous solo and group exhibitions, most recently in 2018 at the Frans Hals Museum, Haarlem, and at Les Abbatoirs, Toulouse. In 2019, the Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, dedicates her a solo exhibition.

Axel Heil is an artist, curator, author and producer. Since the 1990s, he has been publishing observations that are used in exhibitions or publications via the fluid platform. He co-curated exhibitions on Paul Thek and William S. Burroughs at the ZKM in Karlsruhe and in the Falckenberg Collection, Hamburg. Heil is a co-initiator of the research group MNEMOSYNE in Hamburg and, since 2001, has been professor for experimental transfer methods at the State Academy of Fine Arts in Karlsruhe. He published an interview with Jacqueline de Jong in IN GIRUM IMUS …– Die Situationistische Internationale (JRP/Ringier, Zürich, 2006) as well as an essay in Asger Jorn & Jacqueline de Jong. The Case of the Ascetic Satyr, (JDJ/DAP, New York, 2015).

Sa, 01. Dezember 2018

Interview & Künstlerinnenführung: Jacqueline de Jong, Axel Heil

Jacqueline de Jong, Paris 1965 | © unbekannt

Jacqueline de Jong, Paris 1965 | © unbekannt

Jacqueline de Jong kam als Mitglied des Zentralkommitees der Situationistischen Internationale und Herausgeberin der Situationist Times eine tragende Rolle zu: Auf der einen Seite war sie eine der wenigen Frauen, die dem nur ca. 70 Mitglieder zählenden Netzwerk eine Stimme verliehen. Andererseits war die Situationistische Internationale geprägt von den widerstreitenden Ansichten und Interessen der einzelnen Gruppen, aus denen das Netzwerk sich zusammengeschlossen hatte. Jacqueline de Jong wehrte sich Zeit ihrer Mitgliedschaft gegen die Vereinnahmung durch eine dieser Fraktionen. 1968 protestierte sie mit Pariser Studierenden und druckte in ihrem Studio im 11. Pariser Arrondissement Plakate zur Unterstützung der Bewegung, 50 Jahre nach den Studentenunruhen, an der die Situationistische Internationale wesentlich beteiligt war, blickt de Jong gemeinsam mit Axel Heil kritisch sowohl auf die damalige Zeit als auch auf heutige Versuche ihrer Kanonisierung.

Jacqueline de Jong schloss sich 1960 der Situationistischen Internationale an. Sie gab von 1962-68 mit dem Magazin Situationist Times das Haupt-Kommunikationsmedium der Gruppe heraus und widmete sich der Malerei. Im Anschluss an ihre Arbeit im Kontext der Situationistischen Internationale engagierte sich de Jong in diversen Bereichen des Kunstschaffens, unter anderem in der Ausstellungs- und Messeorganisation sowie zum Thema Urheberrecht. Die 2009 gemeinsam mit ihrem Ehemann gegründete Weyland de Jong Stiftung unterstützt avantgardistische Künstler*innen im Alter von mindestens 50 Jahren in ihrem Schaffen. Jacqueline de Jongs künstlerisches Werk wurde in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen gezeigt, zuletzt 2018 im Frans Hals Museum, Haarlem, und les Abbatoirs, Toulouse. Das Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, widmet ihr 2019 eine Einzelausstellung.

Axel Heil ist Künstler, Kurator, Autor und Produzent. Seit den 1990er Jahren veröffentlicht er über die Plattform fluid Beobachtungen, die in Ausstellungen oder Publikationen einfließen. Er co-kuratierte Ausstellungen zu Paul Thek und William S. Burroughs am ZKM in Karlsruhe und in der Sammlung Falckenberg, Hamburg. Heil ist Mitinitiator der Forschungsgruppe MNEMOSYNE in Hamburg und lehrt seit 2001 als Professor für Experimentelle Transferverfahren an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Karlsruhe. Ein Interview von ihm mit Jacqueline de Jong erschien in IN GIRUM IMUS …– Die Situationistische Internationale (JRP/Ringier, Zürich 2006) sowie ein Essay in Asger Jorn & Jacqueline de Jong. The Case of the Ascetic Satyr (JDJ/DAP, New York 2015).