HKW will be closed from June 11 to 16. Tickets for Wassermusik are available online. More…

2018, Fri, Nov 02

Radiophonic Funkkolleg III: Politics of Hearing Space

With Lino Camprubí, Marko Peljhan, Sebastian Kunas, and Emeka Ogboh

In radio, two spaces fall into one: the space of recording and the space of reproduction. Thus, on the one hand, the radio is the a-local medium as its voices and noises are constant and ubiquitous. On the other hand, the radio is a medium of orientation: it conjures up the presence of the local with original sounds and serves as a technology for navigation and surveillance. The relationship of the recording space to the space of reproduction is a political one. Who hears what? Who is making something heard? Who or what remains silent? Who is capable of creating new radiophonic spaces?

Science historian Lino Camprubí presents hearing as a navigational technology. Artist Marko Peljhan experiments with the inexhaustible resources of the magnetic spectrum. Musician Sebastian Kunas investigates the virtual spaces created by the radiophonic apparatuses. In Emeka Ogboh’s work, the soundscapes of Berlin and Lagos overlap.

Lino Camprubí: Finding your Way in the Ocean’s Soundscape
Radiophonic space seems to share a certain set of attributes with the ocean. Both defy concepts of fixed spatial identity, visibility, and stability and thus seem to challenge western ontologies. Paradoxically, radiophonic technologies allow for the measuring of the ocean, navigating in it, and “seeing” into its depths. Yet, radiophonic and acoustic measurements go far beyond mere geography: How are borders drawn at sea? How do submarines orientate themselves in deep waters? How do navies find sunken migrant boats? Lino Camprubí explores sonic technologies and its political, technological, juridical, and economic implications with special regard to the Mediterranean Sea as a radiophonic space.

Marko Peljhan: Star Valley (Icarus)
The electromagnetic spectrum can be understood as a natural resource that can be modulated, monitored, and transformed. Although this resource is inexhaustible, the questions of “who” and “how” have far-reaching political implications. Marko Peljhan will present a manipulated spark-gap transmitter that occupies and overwhelms radio signals. The single spark-gap transmitter is one of the earliest apparatuses for radio transmission. The transmitter, which will be controlled by a computer running a neural network that has been trained on military codenames, describes units, orders of battle or military operations, and their descriptions in order to generate new names, theaters, and directives of “imaginary” operations.
Star Valley (Icarus) was conceived by Marko Peljhan and Matthew Biederman.

Sebastian Kunas: Politics of Hyperspace
Reverberation and echo convey spatial structures acoustically. Yet, since recording and playback techniques are around, reverberation and echo can be detached from their contexts and acoustic spatial structures can be reproduced independently of their material spatial conditions. The sound studio apparatuses, the reverberation and echo machines, the metal bodies, audiotapes, electrical circuits, and algorithms are all capable of producing acoustic spaces that no longer have an equivalent outside the radiophonic constellation. In his contribution, Sebastian Kunas examines these spaces and their protagonists. What narratives lay hidden in the walls of radiophonic hyperspace? What sonic life-forms does it produce?

Emeka Ogboh: I sneak into Lagos in a Yam Truck
How do place and sound relate to each other? What kind of place emerges once sound is isolated from its physical surroundings? Who are the people, and what are the desires that might inhabit such place? The title of Emeka Ogboh’s performance refers to a poem by Akkem Lassisi that addresses the illusions and disillusions that accompany any process of migration. Ogboh will transpose soundscape recordings from Lagos with the Berlin soundscape, thereby creating an acoustic space in which the two places seemingly fall into one.

Part of Der Ohrenmensch

Fr, 02. November 2018

Radiophones Funkkolleg III: Politiken des Raumhörens

Mit Lino Camprubí, Marko Peljhan, Sebastian Kunas und Emeka Ogboh

Im Radio fallen zwei Räume ineinander: der Raum der Aufnahme und der Raum der Wiedergabe. Dadurch ist das Radio einerseits ein Medium der Ortlosigkeit, schließlich sind seine Stimmen und Geräusche stetig und allgegenwärtig. Andererseits ist das Radio Medium der Orientierung, es beschwört mit O-Tönen die Gegenwart des Lokalen und dient als Technologie der Standortbestimmung und Vermessung. Das Verhältnis des Aufnahmeraums zum Wiedergaberaum ist immer auch ein politisches. Wer hört was? Wer bringt was zu Gehör? Wer oder was bleibt stumm? Wer vermag es, neue radiophone Räume zu erschaffen?

Der Wissenschaftshistoriker Lino Camprubí stellt das Hören als Orientierungs- und Vermessungstechnologie vor. Der Künstler Marko Peljhan experimentiert mit den unerschöpflichen Ressourcen des magnetischen Spektrums. Der Musiker Sebastian Kunas untersucht die virtuellen Räume, die von den radiophonen Apparaturen geschaffen werden. In der Arbeit von Emeka Ogboh überlagern sich die Soundscapes von Berlin und Lagos.

Lino Camprubí: Finding your Way in the Ocean’s Soundscape
Der radiophone Raum teilt eine Reihe von Eigenschaften mit dem Ozean. Der eine wie der andere entzieht sich Konzepten wie Territorialität, Sichtbarkeit und Stabilität und stellt damit westliche Ontologien in Frage. Paradoxerweise ermöglichen es aber radiophone Technologien, den Ozean zu vermessen, auf ihm zu navigieren und in seine Tiefen zu „sehen“. Diese Messungen gehen dabei weit über Verfahren der physischen Geografie hinaus: Wie werden auf See Grenzen gezogen? Wie orientieren sich U-Boote in tiefen Gewässern? Wie lassen sich in Seenot geratene Boote orten? Lino Camprubí untersucht in seinem Beitrag Schalltechnologien und ihre politischen, technologischen, rechtlichen und wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen unter besonderer Berücksichtigung des radiophonen Raums Mittelmeer.

Marko Peljhan: Star Valley (Icarus)
Das elektromagnetische Spektrum ist eine natürliche Ressource, die moduliert, überwacht und transformiert werden kann. Obwohl diese Ressource unerschöpflich ist, ist es von weitreichender politischer Bedeutung, wer sie wie nutzt. Marko Peljhan arbeitet in seinem Beitrag mit einem manipulierten Löschfunksender. Diesen Sender, einen der ersten Apparate zur Funkübertragung, lässt er von einem künstlichen neuronalen Netz steuern, dem militärische Codes beigebracht wurden. Aus einem Set von Militäreinheiten, -befehlen und -strategien generiert es selbstständig imaginäre Operationen im elektromagnetischen Feld.
Entwickelt wurde Star Valley (Icarus) gemeinsam von Marko Peljhan und Matthew Biederman.

Sebastian Kunas: Politics of Hyperspace
Hall und Echo vermitteln räumliche Strukturen akustisch. Seit es Aufnahme- und Wiedergabetechniken gibt, können Hall und Echo von ihren Kontexten gelöst und akustische Raumstrukturen unabhängig von ihren materiellen räumlichen Gegebenheiten reproduziert werden. Die Apparate der Tonstudios, die Hall- und Echomaschinen, die Metallkörper, Tonbänder, elektrischen Schaltungen und Algorithmen vermögen akustische Räume zu produzieren, die keine Entsprechung mehr außerhalb der radiophonen Konstellation haben. Sebastian Kunas untersucht in seinem Beitrag diese Räume und ihre Akteur*innen. Welche Erzählungen stecken in den Wänden des radiophonen Hyperraums? Welche sonischen Lebensformen bringt er hervor?

Emeka Ogboh: I sneak into Lagos in a Yam Truck
In welchem Verhältnis stehen Ort und Klang zueinander? Was für ein Raum entsteht, wenn Klang von seiner physischen Umgebung isoliert wird? Welche Menschen bewohnen diese Räume und was sind ihre Bedürfnisse? Der Titel von Emeka Ogbohs Performance bezieht sich auf ein Gedicht von Akeem Lasisi, das sich mit den Illusionen und Desillusionen von Migrationsprozessen beschäftigt. Emeka Ogbhoh überlagert Klanglandschaften aus Lagos und Berlin und schafft damit einen Raum, in dem die beiden Städte aufeinandertreffen.

Teil von Der Ohrenmensch