2017, Sat, Sep 02

Cosmism, Universalism, Contemporary Art

Presentations by Trevor Paglen and Arseny Zhilyaev, Discussion with Hito Steyerl and Anton Vidokle, moderated by Anselm Franke

Trevor Paglen:
Forget Fedorov

In his talk, Trevor Paglen will conduct a brief practical evaluation of the relationship between space, time, and epistemology in the philosophy of Nikolai Fedorov and the philosopher’s influence on some of his own work. Paglen’s aim is to illuminate the potential of Fedorov’s ideas for re-imagining political and epistemological frameworks, while nonetheless pointing out the difficulties and invalidities of Fedorov’s overall project.

Trevor Paglen is an award-winning artist whose work spans image-making, sculpture, investigative journalism, writing, and engineering. Among his chief concerns are learning how to see the current historical moment and developing the means to imagine alternative futures. Paglen has had solo shows at Vienna Secession, Van Abbemuseum Eindhoven, Frankfurter Kunstverein, and Protocinema Istanbul and has been part of group exhibitions at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, and at Tate Modern, London, among others. He is the author of books and articles on experimental geography, state secrecy, military symbology, photography, and visuality.

Arseny Zhilyaev:
Optimists of the Future Past Perfect

In his presentation, Areseny Zhilyaev uses Leo Trotsky's classification of the optimist in order to trace the appearance of infinity as one of capitalism's promises. On the one hand, potentially endless economic growth opened the vices of repeated circles of peasant's ordinary life. On the other, it became strictly optimized by the needs of the current time.. As a result Candide appeared to be an absolute optimist of the eternal present in the best of possible worlds. This is why only the Marxist plan, when supported by the revolutionary and the future optimist, can fulfill the initial capitalistic promise of infinity with help of a more rational optimization of production relations. Yet for Cosmist philosophers— who thought of the Bolshevik revolution as not revolutionary enough— this transformation did not get to the "subsoil of life". They argued that only a common conscious effort of mankind would conquer time by means of its scientific organisation and thus return all transfigured victims of the past. This event would complete the quest for infinity and explain the figure of the optimist as an optimist of a “future past perfect”.

Arseny Zhilyaev is an artist based in Moscow. In recent works he has examined the legacy of Soviet museology and the museum in Russian Cosmism. Among others, he has published articles in e-flux journal. Zhilyaev is editor of Avant-Garde Museology (2015). His works have been shown at the Gwangju Biennale, Liverpool Biennale, and at the Ljubljana Triennale as well as at exhibitions including at the Centre Pompidou and Palais de Tokyo, Paris; De Appel, Amsterdam; Kadist Art Foundation, Paris and San Francisco; and at the V-A-C Foundation in Moscow.

Anton Vidokle and Hito Steyerl:
Immortality for All!

Hito Steyerl and Anton Vidokle discuss the film trilogy Immortality for All!, in which artist Anton Vidokle probes Cosmism’s influence on the twentieth century and suggests its relevance to the present day. In Part One he returns to the foundations of Cosmist thought (This Is Cosmos, 2014). Part Two explores the links between cosmology and politics (The Communist Revolution Was Caused By The Sun, 2015) and Part Three restages the museum as a site of resurrection, a central Cosmist idea (Immortality and Resurrection for All!, 2017). Combining essay, documentary, and performance, Vidokle quotes from the writings of Cosmism’s founder Nikolai Fedorov and other philosophers and poets.

Hito Steyerl is an artist and filmmaker in the field of essayist documentary video. She is professor for Multimedia at University of the Arts, Berlin. Her work, which examines issues such as globalization, feminism, and postcolonial critique, takes the image, its production and circulation as a point of departure. Besides being a frequent lecturer, Steyerl has published influential writings, and participated in numerous exhibitions and biennials. Her works were exhibited i.a. at 32nd São Paulo Biennial (2016), 9th Berlin Biennale (2016), the German Pavilion at the 56th Venice Biennial (2015), and Documenta 12 (2007).

Anton Vidokle is an artist and editor of e-flux journal. He was born in Moscow and lives in New York and Berlin. Vidokle’s work has been exhibited internationally at Documenta 13 and at the 56th Venice Biennale. His films have been presented at Bergen Assembly; Shanghai Biennale; the 65th and 66th Berlinale International Film Festival Forum Expanded; Gwangju Biennale; the Centre Pompidou, Paris; Tate Modern, London; Garage Museum, Moscow; Istanbul Biennial, and others.

Anselm Franke is a curator and writer based in Berlin. He is Head of the Department of Visual Arts and Film at Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW), where he co-curated Nervous Systems (2016), Ape Culture (2015), Forensis (2014), The Anthropocene Project (2013–14) and the exhibitions The Whole Earth and After Year Zero (both 2013), among others. In 2012 he co-curated the Taipei Biennial. Franke’s exhibition project Animism has been presented in Antwerp, Bern, Vienna, Berlin, New York, Shenzhen, Seoul, and Beirut in various collaborations from 2010 to 2014. Previously, Franke was curator at the KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, and director of Extra City Kunsthal, Antwerp. He completed his PhD at Goldsmiths College, University of London.

So 27.5. Verkehrsbehinderungen rund um das HKW mehr

Sa, 02. September 2017

Kosmismus, Universalismus, zeitgenössische Kunst

Vorträge von Trevor Paglen und Arseny Zhilyaev, Gespräch mit Hito Steyerl und Anton Vidokle, moderiert von Anselm Franke

Trevor Paglen:
Vergiss Fjodorow!

In seinem Vortrag untersucht Paglen das Verhältnis von Raum, Zeit und Erkenntnistheorie in Nikolai Fjodorows Philosophie und reflektiert dabei, welchen Einfluss dessen Ideen auch auf seine eigenen Arbeiten haben. Paglens Ziel ist es, das Potential von Fjodorows Ideen für eine neue Vorstellung politischer und epistemologischer Systeme nutzbar zu machen. Gleichzeitig lässt er aber auch die Probleme und Hinfälligkeiten in Fjodorows gesamtphilosophischem Projekt nicht aus dem Blick.

Trevor Paglen ist ein vielfach ausgezeichneter Künstler, dessen Arbeit Malerei, Skulptur, investigativen Journalismus, Text und technische Konstruktion umfasst. Zu seinen Hauptanliegen gehört die Frage, wie sich der gegenwärtige historische Moment in den Blick nehmen und mit welchen Mitteln sich alternative Zukünfte imaginieren lassen. Paglens Arbeit wurde in Einzelausstellungen an der Wiener Secession, am Van Abbemuseum Eindhoven, im Frankfurter Kunstverein und bei Protocinema Istanbul und in Gruppenausstellungen u. a. am Metropolitan Museum of Art und an der Tate Modern gezeigt. Er ist Autor mehrerer Bücher über experimentelle Geografie, staatliche Geheimhaltung, militärische Symbolik, Fotografie und Sichtbarkeit.

Arseny Zhilyaev:
Der Optimist der vollendeten Vorvergangenheit

In seinem Vortrag macht sich Zhilyaev Leo Trotzkis Beschreibung des Optimisten zunutze, um der Idee des Ewigen nachzugehen und sie in Bezug zu den Versprechen des Kapitalismus zu setzen. Gut genährt vom Optimismus der gegenwärtigen Zeit lebt der Spießbürger in einer scheinbar idealen Welt. Einerseits begegnet ihm in seinem täglichen Leben potentiell endloses wirtschaftliches Wachstum. Andererseits wird sein Leben von den Forderungen des Leistungsfortschritts bestimmt. Es scheint also fast, als könne nur die von Marx entworfene Figur des zukünftigen Optimisten das ursprüngliche Versprechen des Kapitalismus mithilfe einer rationalisierten Optimierung der Produktionsbedingungen erfüllen. Für die Kosmisten, die die bolschewistische Revolution als nicht revolutionär erachteten, löste dieser Wandel jedoch nicht das Problem der Ewigkeit. Sie waren davon überzeugt, dass nur ein neues Bewusstsein, das mithilfe wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse Macht über die Zeit gewinnen würde, das Streben nach Ewigkeit erfüllen und die Figur des Optimisten als einen Optimisten der „vollendeten Vorvergangenheit“ etablieren könne.

Arseny Zhilyaev lebt und arbeitet als Künstler in Moskau. In neueren Arbeiten untersucht er das Erbe der sowjetischen Museologie und das Museum im Russischen Kosmismus. Er veröffentlicht Beiträge u. a. im e-flux journal. Seine Arbeiten wurden u. a. bei der Liverpool Biennale und der Triennale Ljubljana gezeigt sowie bei Ausstellungen im Centre Pompidou und im Palais de Tokyo, Paris, bei De Appel, Amsterdam; Kadist Art Foundation, Paris und San Francisco sowie in der V-A-C Foundation, Moskau.

Anton Vidokle und Hito Steyerl:
Immortality for All!

In ihrem Gespräch diskutieren Hito Steyerl und Anton Vidokle die Filmtrilogie Immortality for All!, in der Vidokle dem Einfluss des Kosmismus auf das zwanzigste Jahrhundert nachgeht und seine Relevanz auch für die Gegenwart verdeutlicht. In Teil 1 spürt er den Ursprüngen des kosmistischen Denkens nach (This Is Cosmos, 2014), Teil 2 untersucht die Querverbindungen zwischen Kosmologie und Politik (The Communist Revolution Was Caused By The Sun, 2015) und in Teil 3 re-inszeniert er das Museum als einen Ort der Wiederauferstehung – eine zentrale kosmistische Idee (Immortality and Resurrection for All!, 2017). In seiner Überblendung von Essay, Dokumentation und Performance zitiert Vidokle die Schriften von Nikolai Fjodorow, einem Mitbegründer des Kosmismus, sowie anderer Philosophen und Dichtern.

Hito Steyerl arbeitet als Künstlerin und Filmemacherin mit Mitteln des essayistischen Dokumentarfilms. Sie ist Professorin im Bereich Multimedia an der Universität der Künste, Berlin. Ausgehend von der Produktion und Zirkulation von Bildern widmet sich ihre Arbeit Fragen der Globalisierung, Feminismus und postkolonialer Kritik. Neben ihrer regelmäßigen Vortragstätigkeit hat sie einflussreiche Texte publiziert und war auf zahlreichen Ausstellungen und Biennalen vertreten. Ihre Arbeiten wurden u. a. auf der 32. São Paulo Biennale (2016), der 9. Berlin Biennale (2016), im Deutschen Pavillon der 56. Biennale von Venedig (2015) und auf der documenta 12 (2007) gezeigt.

Anton Vidokle ist Künstler und Herausgeber des Online-Journals e-flux. In Moskau geboren, lebt er mittlerweile in New York und Berlin. Vidokles Arbeiten wurden in vielen Ländern ausgestellt, unter anderem auf der documenta 13 und der 56. Kunstbiennale von Venedig. Seine Filme waren unter anderem beim Bergen Assembly, auf der Shanghai Biennale, im Forum Expanded der 65. und 66. Berlinale, auf der Gwangju Biennale, am Centre Pompidou, in der Tate Modern, am Moskauer Garage Museum, auf der Istanbul Biennale zu sehen.

Anselm Franke lebt als Kurator und Autor in Berlin. Er ist Leiter des Bereichs Bildende Kunst und Film am Haus der Kulturen der Welt. Als Co-Kurator verwirklichte er dort Projekte wie Nervöse Systeme (2016), Ape Culture (2015), Forensis (2014), Das Anthropozän-Projekt (2013-2014), The Whole Earth und After Year Zero (beide 2013). 2012 ko-kuratierte er die Taipei Bienniale. Frankes Ausstellungsprojekt Animismus wurde zwischen 2010 und 2014 in zahlreichen Kollaborationen in Antwerpen, Bern, Wien, Berlin, New York, Shenzhen, Seoul und Beirut präsentiert. Vor seiner Tätigkeit im HKW wirkte Anselm Franke als Kurator in den KW Berlin und als Direktor der Extra City Kunsthal, Antwerpen. Seinen Doktor schloss er am Goldsmiths College, University of London ab.