2017, Sat, Sep 02

Cosmism and Social Progress

Presentations & Discussion with Keti Chukhrov, Alexei Penzin, Marina Simakova, moderated by Margarete Vöhringer

Keti Chukhrov:
Anagogy in Cosmism and Communism

It appears paradoxical that today’s emancipatory theories return to geophysics of one single planet, and thus also to the Ptolemaic conception of the world that emerged only a few centuries after the Copernican turn. The emancipation of humankind in the end demands its own fall, its complete self-annihilation. It seems as if Dante’s descent into hell was written on behalf of sinners, and not Dante himself. This obsession with the descent can certainly be defined as a syndrome of the capitalist condition. Meanwhile in Russian, cosmism was under way: the cosmological dimension of the universe only confirmed the human condition and its expanded social imaginaries. It urges us to compose a nuova, imperishable vita, and expand its consciousness. In almost in all texts that touch upon the issue of cosmology – from the 19th century to Ilyenkov’s A Cosmology of the Spirit in the 1950s – the conviction in the common good rests on the human capacity to incessant expediency and ascent. In her paper, Chukhrov will discuss why the communist condition would have been impossible without this anagogical orientation.

Keti Chukhrov is an associate professor in the Department of Cultural Theory at the Higher School of Economics, and head of the Theory department at the National Center for Contemporary Art in Moscow. Among her research interests are comparative epistemologies of socialism and capitalism, political theory, and post-human studies. She has published widely on art theory, cultural politics, and philosophy. Her book To Be – To Perform: “Theatre” in Philosophical Criticism of Art was published in 2011. She is currently completing a book on the interpretation of the notion of “the ideal” in the Soviet Marxist philosophy of the 1960s and 1970s.

Alexei Penzin:
Contingency and Necessity in Evald Ilyenkov’s Communist Cosmology

Evald Ilyenkov’s A Cosmology of the Spirit was written in the 1950s, but only published posthumously in the 1980s because it was too heretical to be published in the author’s lifetime. The text was heretical not because it criticized the Soviet Union, but because of its enormous speculative drive. Addressing the physicist idea of the “entropic death of the universe” and using a combination of Hegelian dialectics and Spinoza’s concept of attribute, Ilyenkov claimed that thought is a necessary attribute of matter. Not only it is able to prevent the terminal entropy of the universe, it can also re-launch its nuclear reactions in a final self-sacrificial explosion. For Ilyenkov, communism was the necessary political condition for the achievement of fully developed power of thought, embodied in science and technologies, and, consequently, for the re-launch of the universe and the prevention of its otherwise irreversible collapse. The presentation will further explore the contexts of A Cosmology of the Spirit and rethink it in view of today's debates. Penzin uses the ideas of Ilyenkov’s cosmology in order to critically address contemporary currents of “speculative” philosophy that are completely devoid of communist “drive.”

Alexei Penzin received his PhD from the Institute of Philosophy of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, where he remains as a Research Associate. He is currently teaching at the University of Wolverhampton, UK. Penzin is a member of the collective Chto Delat (What is to be done?). His research has been published in the journals Rethinking Marxism, Mediations, South Atlantic Quarterly, and Manifesta Journal among others. He co-edited the English translation of the book Art and Production (2017) by Boris Arvatov, one of the key theorists of the Soviet avant-garde. Currently, he is preparing his book Against the Continuum: Sleep and Subjectivity in Capitalist Modernity for Bloomsbury Academic.

Marina Simakova:
Russian Cosmism: A Foretaste of Revolution

On the threshold of an era of accelerated progress and war, the founding father of Russian Cosmism, Nikolai Fedorov, confronted the future with the idea of conquering death. Why did this idea become a major aspiration for him and how is it related to his social and ethical views? Drawing on key questions debated by radical theorists, it is today possible to revisit Fedorov’s philosophy and explore its critical potential. Bringing to light the subversive grounds of Fedorov’s philosophical heritage, Simakova elucidates the political significance of Cosmist ideas and observes intimations that have ultimately led to political upheaval.

Marina Simakova is a cultural critic based in Saint Petersburg. Her research interests include contemporary continental philosophy, cultural studies, Marxism, and early Soviet intellectual history. Her critical essays and translations have been published in various journals, such as e-flux, Colta.ru, New Literary Observer, and Translit. Currently she is a PhD candidate at the European University at Saint Petersburg in the Department of Political Science and Sociology.

Margarete Vöhringer is Professor of the "Materiality of Knowledge" program at Georg-August-University in Göttingen. She studied Cultural Studies and media theory, philosophy and aesthetics at the University of Design (HfG) in Karlsruhe. After completing her Phd at Humboldt-Universität in Berlin, she taught at the Berlin universities Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität and University of the Arts as well as in Weimar, Zurich, and Moscow. In her research, she focuses on modernist and contemporary art history, with an emphasis on visual culture. Her most recent publications include Wissenschaft im Museum – Ausstellung im Labor (with Anke Te Heesen), which was published in 2014, and Avantgarde und Psychotechnik. Wissenschaft, Kunst und Technik der Wahrnehmungsexperimente in der frühen Sowjetunion (2007).

Sa, 02. September 2017

Kosmismus und sozialer Fortschritt

Vorträge & Gespräch mit Keti Chukhrov, Alexei Penzin, Marina Simakova, moderiert von Margarete Vöhringer

Keti Chukhrov:
Die Anagogie im Kosmismus und Kommunismus

Paradoxerweise kehren heutige Emanzipationstheorien zur Geophysik des einen Planeten zurück und damit auch zum ptolemäischen Weltbild aus den Jahrhunderten vor der kopernikanischen Wende. Die Befreiung der Menschheit erfordert am Ende ihren eigenen Untergang, ihre restlose Selbstvernichtung. Man könnte meinen, Dante habe seinen Abstieg in die Unterwelt für die Sünder und nicht für sich selbst geschrieben. Diese obsessive Beschäftigung mit Abstieg und Niedergang lässt sich mit Sicherheit als Syndrom des Lebens im Kapitalismus bestimmen. Unterdessen nahm in Russland der Kosmismus seinen Lauf: Die kosmologische Dimension des Universums lief auf eine Bestätigung der conditio humana und ihrer erweiterten Gesellschaftskonzeption hinaus. Sie fordert nicht weniger als die Schaffung einer nuova, einer unvergänglichen vita mit einem erweiterten Bewusstsein. In fast allen Texten zur Kosmologie – vom 19. Jahrhundert bis hin zu Iljenkows Kosmologie des Geistes in den 1950er Jahren – beruhte der Glaube an das Gemeinwohl auf der Befähigung des Menschen zu zweckgerichtetem Handeln und zivilisatorischem Aufstieg. In ihrem Vortrag erörtert Chukhrov, warum der Kommunismus ohne diese anagogische Zielstrebigkeit undenkbar gewesen wäre.

Keti Chukhrov ist Privatdozentin im Fachbereich Kulturtheorie an der Moskauer Higher School of Economics und leitet die Theorieabteilung des Nationalen Zentrums für zeitgenössische Kunst in Moskau. Sie hat umfangreich zur Kunsttheorie, Kulturpolitik und Philosophie publiziert. Ihr Buch To Be – To Perform. ‘Theatre’ in Philosophical Criticism of Art erschien 2011. Zurzeit schließt sie die Arbeit an einem Band über das Verständnis des Begriffs „Ideal“ im sowjetischen marxistischen Denken der 1960er und 1970er Jahre ab.

Alexei Penzin:
Kontingenz und Notwendigkeit in Ewald Iljenkows kommunistischer Kosmologie

Ewald Iljenkow verfasste seine „Kosmologie des Geistes“ in den 1950er Jahren, veröffentlicht wurde sie jedoch erst in den 1980er Jahren. Zu Lebzeiten des Autors war dieser Text zu ketzerisch – nicht, weil er Kritik an der Sowjetunion geübt hätte, sondern aufgrund seiner enormen spekulativen Motivation. Iljenkow verband die Hegelsche Dialektik mit Spinozas Attributbegriff und diskutierte so die physikalische These einer „entropischen“ Vernichtung des Universums. Er kam zu dem Schluss, dass das Denken ein notwendiges Element alles Materiellen sei. Es könne nicht nur die finale Entropie des Universums verhindern, sondern auch dessen Kernreaktionen in einer letzten selbstopfernden Explosion zünden. Der Kommunismus war nach Ansicht Iljenkows die vollständig entfaltete Gedankenmacht eines Staates. So betrachtete er den Kommunismus auch als notwendige Voraussetzung für eine vollständig entwickelte Macht des Denkens, die er in Wissenschaft und Technologie verkörpert sah und die für ihn wiederum unerlässlich war, um das Universum wieder auf den richtigen Weg zu bringen und seinen anders unausweichlichen Zusammenbruch zu verhindern. Penzin erörtert in seinem Vortrag die Hintergründe von Ilyenkows Kosmologie des Geistes und setzt sie in Bezug zu heute geführten theoretischen Debatten. Er nutzt Iljenkows Konzeption für eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit zeitgenössischen Strömungen „spekulativer“ und doch jegliche kommunistische Motivation entbehrender Philosophie.

Alexei Penzin promovierte am Institut für Philosophie der Russischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Moskau, wo er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter tätig ist. Außerdem lehrt er an der University of Wolverhampton, Großbritannien. Penzin ist Teil des Kollektivs Chto Delat (What is to be done?). Seine Texte erscheinen in Zeitschriften wie Rethinking Marxism, Mediations, South Atlantic Quarterly und Manifesta. Er ist Mitherausgeber der 2017 erschienenen englischen Übersetzung des Buchs Kunst und Produktion von Boris Arvatov, einem der wichtigsten Theoretiker der sowjetischen Avantgarde. Zurzeit arbeitet er an dem Buch Against the Continuum: Sleep and Subjectivity in Capitalist Modernity, welches demnächst bei Bloomsbury Academic erscheint.

Marina Simakova:
Der russische Kosmismus als Vorgeschmack auf die Revolution

An der Schwelle zu einem Zeitalter des rasanten technischen Fortschritts und des Kriegs begegnete Nikolai Fjodorow, Gründervater des Kosmismus, der Zukunft mit dem Vorhaben, den Tod zu besiegen. Warum wurde diese Idee zu seiner großen Hoffnung, und wie verhielt sie sich zu seinen gesellschaftspolitischen und ethischen Anschauungen? Simakova erschließt in ihrem Vortrag Fjodorows Philosophie und ihr kritisches Potenzial ausgehend von Problemen, die heute von radikalen Theoretiker*innen diskutiert werden. Indem sie die subversiven Grundlagen von Fjodorows philosophischer Tradition sowie deren versteckte Zeichen und Andeutungen des kommenden politischen Umsturzes herausarbeitet, entsteht ein Eindruck von der damaligen politischen Brisanz des kosmistischen Denkens.

Marina Simakova lebt als Kulturkritikerin in St. Petersburg. Ihre Forschungsinteressen umfassen kontinentaleuropäische Philosophie, Kulturwissenschaften, Marxismus und die frühe sowjetische Geistesgeschichte. Ihre kritischen Aufsätze und Übersetzungen erscheinen in Zeitschriften wie e-flux, Colta.ru, New Literary Observer und Translit. Zurzeit ist sie Doktorandin am Institut für Politikwissenschaften und Soziologie der Europäischen Universität St. Petersburg.

Margarete Vöhringer ist Professorin für "Materialität des Wissens" an der Georg-August-Universität in Göttingen. Sie studierte Kunstwissenschaft und Medientheorie, Philosophie und Ästhetik sowie Medienkunst an der Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe. Nach der Promotion 2006 an der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin lehrte sie an den Universitäten Berlin (FU, HU, UdK), Weimar, Zürich und Moskau. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Kunstgeschichte der Moderne und Gegenwart und Kulturwissenschaft mit einem Schwerpunkt auf visueller Kultur. Zu ihren Publikationen gehören Wissenschaft im Museum – Ausstellung im Labor (hg. mit Anke Te Heesen) von 2014 und Avantgarde und Psychotechnik. Wissenschaft, Kunst und Technik der Wahrnehmungsexperimente in der frühen Sowjetunion (2007).