Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2017, Sat, Sep 16

Between the Lines

With Fehras Publishing Practices, Hamid Ismailov and Morad Montazami

The movement and circulation of ideas, artworks, and books along the Ottoman Railway Network have constituted paradigm shifts in the literary imagination and shaped artistic practices over the past century. Railway stations, fragments of artistic experience, and human encounters, from Damascus, Baghdad, Berlin, Gilas, Mecca, Moscow, Paris, all point to the ensuing shifts as such, as an effect of interconnectedness and aesthetic ecosystems.


Fehras Publishing Practices
Waiting Trajectory
lecture performance

The movement and circulation of publications along parts of the Hijaz Railway can still be perceived from the train station in Damascus, which was built in 1907. Even after construction of the railway stopped following the First World War, the station was still operating, until it was transformed into a library and book museum in recent years. The act of transformation and shift of meaning turned the station into a mobile space for knowledge. This transformation also encompasses the station’s surroundings, where streets of book- and paper traders, publishers, and printers are intersecting. Today the area reflects the history of modern publishing in the region, and the mechanisms of the circulation, appearances, and disappearances of books.


Morad Montazami
Railway Stories of the Betrayed Avant-Garde
lecture

How can the Berlin–Baghdad and Hijaz railways be elucidated as a labyrinth of subjectivities which draw from photography, literature, and painting, based on experiences and encounters, happening between Baghdad, Berlin, Damascus, Paris, Mecca, beyond the objective territory or the existing railway? The railway leaves space for inquiry into the physical traces left by Iraqi photographers, like Latif Al Ani, as well as artists and architects, such as Mohammed Makiya and Jewad Selim, who met German and American architects Walter Gropius and Frank Lloyd Wright. Photography and architecture, as a way of recapturing the railway’s fictional spaces, is addressed here as a key paradigm for artistic travelogues, cultural transfers, and urban dreams.


Hamid Ismailov
From the Railway to the www.
lecture

Literature has endured paradigm shifts that run parallel to the shifts in actual and virtual networks. The age of iron and engine is changing to an age of software and gadgets, and literary structures reflect that tectonic shift in human history. Linear thinking is being replaced by a matrix. These networks can coincide, for instance, when people seeking asylum use the Balkan route to reach Western Europe, walking along the railway tracks, following mapping services on their mobile phones. The same seems to be happening with people crossing from Central Asian countries to Russia. Literary examples from regions that were under the rule of Russia as well as the Ottoman Empire demonstrate these shifts in networks.

Part of After the Wildly Improbable, curated by Adania Shibli

Sa 20.10.: Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr…

Sa, 16. September 2017

Zwischen den Zeilen

Mit Fehras Publishing Practices, Hamid Ismailov und Morad Montazami

Die Zirkulation von Ideen, Kunstwerken und Büchern im Schienennetz der Osmanischen Eisenbahn inspirierte im Verlauf des vergangenen Jahrhunderts Paradigmenwechsel in literarischen Vorstellungswelten und künstlerischer Praxis. Die Bahnhöfe selbst, aber auch Fragmente künstlerischer Erfahrungen und zwischenmenschliche Begegnungen – in Damaskus, Bagdad, Berlin, Gilas, Mekka, Moskau und Paris – verweisen auf die Folgen dieser Transformationen, entstanden aus der Vernetzung und aus gemeinsamen ästhetischen Ökosystemen.


Fehras Publishing Practices
Waiting Trajectory
Lecture Performance

Der Vertrieb und die Zirkulation von Publikationen entlang der Route der Hedjaz-Bahn lässt sich im 1907 erbauten Bahnhof von Damaskus heute noch nachverfolgen. Der Bahnhof blieb auch nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg in Betrieb, als der Ausbau der Strecke eingestellt wurde, bis er in den letzten Jahren zu einer Bibliothek und einem Museum für Bücher umfunktioniert wurde. Durch diese Veränderungen und Bedeutungsverschiebung entstand ein mobiler Wissensraum. Die Umgestaltung des Bahnhofs wirkte sich auch auf die unmittelbare Umgebung aus: Buch- und Papiergeschäfte, Verlage und Druckereien ließen sich in den Seitenstraßen nieder. Heute erzählt die Gegend die Geschichte des modernen Publizierens in der Region und der Mechanismen der Verbreitung von Büchern: wie sie auftauchen und wieder verschwinden.


Morad Montazami
Railway Stories of the Betrayed Avant-Garde
Vortrag

Wie können wir über das objektive Terrain der Berlin-Bagdad- und Hedjaz-Bahn hinausschauen, um sie als Labyrinth subjektiver Perspektiven zu sehen? Ein Labyrinth, das sich von Fotografie, Literatur und Malerei inspirieren lässt, das in Erfahrungen und Begegnungen gründet, die Bagdad, Berlin, Damaskus, Paris und Mekka miteinander verbinden. Die Bahn lässt Raum für die Frage nach den physischen Spuren, die irakische Fotograf*innen wie Latif Al Ani ebenso hinterließen wie die Künstler und Architekten Mohammed Makiya und Jewad Selim, Zeitgenossen und persönliche Bekannte der Architekten Walter Gropius und Frank Lloyd Wright. Fotografie und Architektur als Strategien zur Rückeroberung der fiktionalen Räume der Eisenbahn bilden hier ein zentrales Paradigma für Reiseberichte von Künstler*innen, für Kulturtransfer und urbane Träume.


Hamid Ismailov
From the Railway to the www.
Vortrag

Die Paradigmenwechsel in der Literatur verlaufen parallel zum Wandel realer und virtueller Netzwerke. Das Maschinenzeitalter – die Eisenzeit – wird von der Ära der Software und Gadgets abgelöst. Literarische Strukturen spiegeln diese tektonische Verschiebung in der Geschichte der Menschheit. Die Matrix verdrängt das lineare Denken: Netze überlagern sich, wenn Geflüchtete, geleitet von den Kartendiensten ihrer Smartphones, unterwegs auf der Balkanroute nach Westeuropa den Bahngleisen folgen. Nicht anders scheint es zu sein bei jenen, die aus den zentralasiatischen Republiken den Weg nach Russland suchen. Literarische Beispiele aus Regionen, die sowohl Teil des Osmanischen Reiches waren als auch unter russischer Herrschaft standen, demonstrieren diesen Wandel der Netze.

Teil von After the Wildly Improbable kuratiert von Adania Shibli