Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2017, Sat, Sep 16

Animate Tracks

With Adel Abidin, Gülnur Ekşi, Violet Grigoryan, Musa paradisiaca and Muhannad Shono

The railway now speaks from its own perspective—divulging secrets from below and above the ground along its tracks. Prevalent plant species have long forever disappeared from the immediate environment; sacks of gold coins had been hidden beneath the tracks, while faith continues to spring from the planned final destination that the railway never managed to reach. At times, the silhouettes of women are seen at one of its platforms, while men turned into machines.


Adel Abidin
Parallel Reality
lecture performance

Many Jordanians believe in the legend that Ottoman soldiers, fleeing the aftermath of the Arab Revolt in 1916, hid gold coins along the tracks of the Hijaz Railway. Supposedly they marked their hiding spots in order to collect the gold upon their return. This legend and the hopes that are associated with finding the gold, was passed on from generation to generation. Searching for the gold has swept across Jordan with great intensity over the last few decades. In some parts this has even resulted in the destruction of archeological relics by treasure hunters. Parallel Reality discusses the myth and unveils what is under the many layers of this legend accumulated over the years.


Gülnur Ekşi
The Effects of the Berlin-Baghdad Railway on the Vegetation in Anatolia
lecture and presentation

The Berlin–Baghdad Railway left significant economic, social, cultural, political, and environmental traces in the regions it was meant to pass through. The railway construction, however, also caused the disappearance of prevalent plant species and turned them into cross-breeds in these areas. Some determinants for the change in the vegetation are the herbicides used during construction of the railway, mining and tree cutting, and plant seeds that got scattered along the route. The traces are made visible in detailed botanic observations of a five-kilometer segment of the Berlin–Baghdad Railway, running between Istanbul and Ankara.


Muhannad Shono
Zomë Zomë
animated film, 20 min, 2017

An animated film that revisits the point from which a religious faith sprung, the Zamzam spring in Hijaz, using modern myths and new motifs, and the issue of modernity—namely the encounter of the human and the machine. It looks at the widespread belief that water is a symbol of spirituality, and its metamorphosis from liquid to solid, transforming from the intangible to the material, and from the hidden to the exposed. The name of the well comes from the phrase Zomë Zomë, meaning “stop flowing,” a command repeated by Hagar, second wife to Abraham, during her attempt to contain the spring waters of Zamzam: that which once flowed from a spring and could not be contained, becomes a precious focal point for millions. It attracts rituals and slates, human movement, pilgrimage, the rise of systems, as well as the flow of beliefs. Now it is a hole pulling us back in.


Violet Grigoryan
Two Women
literary reading, Armenian & English

How can art speak about catastrophes, and what would it sound like through a woman’s voice? Armenian writers, survivors of the genocide or descendants of those who survived, faced a similar impasse: While some of them made attempts to depict the horrifying picture of violence, others remained silent. The silent ones belong to the first generation of the genocide survivors. They wanted to forget everything, even by denying their identity and adapting their names. Those who talked would invoke the demons of memory.
A haunting image thus unfolds: two women standing at the banks of the rivers Lethe and Mnemosyne: one starts floating in the river of oblivion towards the point of no return, the other continuously reincarnating. Two women at the railway station: one escaping herself by train, the other waiting at the platform eternally. For both, the train is a time machine running toward the future or toward the past.


Musa paradisiaca
The Intimate Knowledge of Things
films and lecture

A line-up of audiovisual works devoted to velocity, transmutation, and man–machine technology. The works are gathered in a joint venture based on peculiar views on the impersonality of thought: Ecstasy and Eden is a filmic analogy in which the ecstasy of a mechanic body drifts into a dreamy state, where plants turn into machines. Between beauty and genitalia, one is brought back to reality, to the flow of steam, traction, and motion, gradually slowing down. Francisco and Farcot is a multimedia session evolving from a monologue by a steam machine operator and his love for inanimate beings. Masters of Velocity looks into the relationship between object and environment, the notion of fluid bodies and the technology of transformation and velocity. Inside a pilot’s head one wonders about how different things desire each other mutually: “The pilot wishes to become plane, the plane wishes to become ground…”.

Part of After the Wildly Improbable, curated by Adania Shibli

Sa, 16. September 2017

Lebendige Spuren

Mit Adel Abidin, Gülnur Ekşi, Violet Grigoryan, Musa paradisiaca und Muhannad Shono

Jetzt spricht die Bahn selbst aus ihrem Blickwinkel: Sie gibt Geheimnisse preis, die sich über und unter ihren Gleisen auftun. Pflanzen, die einst dort wuchsen, sind verschwunden oder existieren nur noch fern ihrer ursprünglichen Heimat. Goldsäcke wurden unter den Schienen vergraben. Noch lebt die Hoffnung am nie erreichten Ziel der Reise. Manchmal erscheinen die Umrisse von Frauen auf den Bahnsteigen – während die Männer zu Maschinen wurden.


Adel Abidin
Parallel Reality
Lecture Performance

Viele Jordanier*innen halten an der Legende fest, dass osmanische Soldaten auf der Flucht vor den Wirren der Arabischen Revolte von 1916 Goldmünzen entlang der Hedjaz-Bahn vergruben. Und angeblich markierten sie die Verstecke, um die Münzen später leichter wiederzufinden. Diese Geschichte– und die damit verbundene Hoffnung, Goldmünzen zu entdecken – wurde von Generation zu Generation weitergegeben. Und so machten sich in den letzten Jahrzehnten viele auf, um das Gold zu bergen. In einigen Fällen hat die Schatzsuche sogar zur Zerstörung archäologischer Relikte geführt. Parallel Reality thematisiert den Mythos des Goldes entlang der Schienen und bringt all das zum Vorschein, was sich unterhalb der vielen Schichten der Legende über die Jahre angesammelt hat.


Gülnur Ekşi
The Effects of the Berlin-Baghdad Railway on the Vegetation in Anatolia
Vortrag und Präsentation

Die Berlin-Bagdad-Bahn hinterließ deutliche ökonomische, soziale, kulturelle, politische und ökologische Spuren in den Gegenden, durch die sie verlaufen sollte. Der Bau der Eisenbahn führte zum Verschwinden typischer Pflanzenarten einerseits, zur Entstehung von Hybriden durch genetische Kreuzung andererseits. Einen entscheidenden Einfluss auf die Veränderung der Vegetation verursachten die Herbizide, die während der Bauarbeiten zum Einsatz kamen, der Bergbau, das Abholzen von Bäumen sowie Pflanzensaat, die unterwegs verloren ging. Die Spuren der Berlin-Bagdad-Bahn offenbaren sich in der botanischen Betrachtung eines fünf Kilometer langen Teilstücks der Strecke zwischen Istanbul und Ankara.


Muhannad Shono
Zomë Zomë
Animationsfilm, 20 Min., 2017

Mit modernen Mythen und neuen Motiven kehrt der Animationsfilm Zomë Zomë zurück an die Zamzam-Quelle in Hedjaz: den Ort, an dem ein religiöser Glaube entstand und die Moderne in der Begegnung von Mensch und Maschine ihren Anfang nahm. Sein Sujet ist das Wasser, das von vielen als Symbol der Spiritualität gesehen wird, und die Metamorphose vom flüssigen zum festen Zustand, der Wandel vom Nichtgreifbaren zum Materiellen, vom Versteckten zum Exponierten. Der Name der Quelle geht zurück auf die Aufforderung Zomë Zomë, was so viel heißt wie „Hör auf zu fließen“. Hagar, Abrahams zweite Frau, sprach diesen Befehl mehrfach aus im Versuch, die Wasser der Zamzan-Quelle zu bändigen. Was einst aus der Quelle floss und nicht eingedämmt werden konnte, zieht heute die Aufmerksamkeit von Millionen auf sich: Rituale und Pilgerströme, neue Systeme und Glaubensströme tun sich auf. Heute ist es ein Loch, dessen Sog man sich nicht entziehen kann.


Violet Grigoryan
Two Women
Lesung, Armenisch & Englisch

Wie kann Kunst über Katastrophen sprechen? Und wie würde es sich mit den Worten und in der Stimme einer Frau anhören? Wie stellen sich armenische Autor*innen – Überlebende des Genozids oder Nachkommen der Opfer – dem Dilemma? Manche versuchen, das entsetzliche Bild der Gewalt zu zeichnen. Andere – die Angehörigen der ersten Generation Überlebender – schweigen. Sie wollen vergessen, leugnen ihre Identität, passen ihre Namen an. Diejenigen, die sprechen, beschwören dagegen die Dämonen der Erinnerung herauf.
So entsteht ein verstörendes Bild: Zwei Frauen stehen am Ufer der Flüsse Lethe und Mnemosyne. Die eine lässt sich im Fluss des Vergessens treiben, bis sie den Punkt erreicht, an dem es keine Rückkehr mehr gibt. Die andere erfindet sich immer wieder neu. Zwei Frauen am Bahnhof: Die eine flieht vor sich selbst. Sie nimmt den Zug. Die andere wartet auf dem Bahnsteig. In alle Ewigkeit. Beiden ist der Zug eine Zeitmaschine, die auf die Zukunft oder die Vergangenheit zurast.


Musa paradisiaca
The Intimate Knowledge of Things
Filme und Vortrag

Eine Serie audiovisueller Arbeiten zu den Themen Geschwindigkeit, Transmutation und Mensch-Maschinen-Technologie – zusammengeführt in einem Gemeinschaftsprojekt, das die Unpersönlichkeit des Denkens in unterschiedlicher Perspektive nachzeichnet: Ecstasy and Eden ist eine filmische Analogie, in der die Ekstase eines mechanischen Körpers in einen Traumzustand driftet, in dem Pflanzen zu Maschinen werden. Zwischen Schönheit und „Genitalien“ werden die Betrachter*innen zurückgeführt in die Realität, in eine Welt des Dampfes, der Traktion und der sich verlangsamenden Bewegung. Francisco and Farcot entsteht als Multimedia-Session aus einem Monolog eines Dampfmaschinenführers und seiner Liebe zu unbelebten Wesen. Masters of Velocity erkundet die Beziehung zwischen Objekt und Umwelt, die Idee der fließenden Körper der Verfahrenstechnik, der Geschwindigkeit. Wir versetzen uns in den Kopf des Piloten und reflektieren die Gegenseitigkeit des Begehrens: „Der Pilot möchte ein Flugzeug sein, das Flugzeug sehnt sich nach dem Tausch mit der Erde...“.

Teil von After the Wildly Improbable kuratiert von Adania Shibli